CS bicycles and cyclist thread

Yes ,most likely. Trek 4300. I hope they offer at least Trek 4500. But you can always bring your own bike. I won't be bringing mine as it's hard to find anyone acapble of servicing Cannondale. MTB is a must ! Did you tour Myanmar before ? Starting my training soon.:bsmilie:

I would love to join but i think i will not have the visa from my wife to go travelling end this yr leh zzzz... I got no bike for that kind of terrain, probably will not want to bring own bike even if i got leh.

Is this myanmar touring already firmed up or u are in the midst of planning ?

Ryan

I would love to join but i think i will not have the visa from my wife to go travelling end this yr leh zzzz... I got no bike for that kind of terrain, probably will not want to bring own bike even if i got leh.

Is this myanmar touring already firmed up or u are in the midst of planning ?

Ryan

Already fully paid for the tour and bike rental. No back out ! Suppose to go in mid May but shift it to end of year as May can be incredibly hot. Desaru trip already can't tahan the heat. I also don't want to bring my own bike, leave room for camera. But may bring my own saddle and rear rack for sure. I also try to get cycling friends to join, but they felt it's abit expensive...U$2150 ( include bike rental, BLD, internal flight, vehicle support and accomodation ). Some friends planning for Laos trip, they say $300 for the whole month, including meals and lodging. Though I know the expenses may be low, kind of hard to believe.:think:

Hi all, also just stumbled onto this group and glad for it. Combining two of my hobbies ie photography n cycling - excellent! I'm in Pasir Ris and its quite a bike friendly area. I ride mostly at a leisurely speed along the park connectors till Fort Road. Just getting back into cycling after knee operation so no more Bt Timah, Chestnut Trail or T15 for me! Do PM me if u need a kaki if cycling n photographing in the east area. I work shift so not always free on the weekends though! Cheers.

DSC_0193.jpg

Bike lanes in Massachusetts, USA...

I got one at around S$150 for the bike, add on the accessories (V stand, front and rear basket plus the rear stand to hold the rear basket) for less than $250.
I used this bike to carry all the photographic stuff and the tripod. :)

Cyclists always lose their bikes because of carelessness and not willing to put extra
efforts in securing their precious bikes. They use the locks that the bike thieves are
happy to work on and allowing them to take your bike away easily.

If you own an expensive and valuable bike, try not to be away from your bike for
too long. Bike thieves just rode your bike away. If you are going away for sometime
and have no choice of using it again only after a couple of hours then you have to use
at least four locks to secure it.

1) Lock your saddle to the seat post.
2) Lock your crank
3) Lock your rims and your tires
4) Lock the body of the bike to a secure post.

And if you can cover the bike with a plastic sheet, do so. (Cars are doing it also)
Thieves are afraid to try to leave up the plastic sheet when people are walking
around. If they are professionals, they have effective large size cutters to do
the job in less than ten minutes and take your bike away. Thieves seldom work
alone, they often work in pairs or threesome. Those working alone are younger
in age and go around in HDB flats looking for unsecured bikes.

The picture below just show one way of securing the crank. Use the same type of lock
to secure the saddle to the seat post. Use stronger chains for the rest. I'm sure the
community of cyclists here can share their experiences in securing our bikes. The next
step is for the authority to educate the riders & the public on the crime of stealing bicycles.
:);)

CrankLock.jpg

Here is an example of locking the seat post:

Lockforseatpostring.jpg

thanks to forward for sharing the tips.
it's really useful.

You are welcome catchlight, the cycling community will be growing
as the government is doing its parts in promoting a healthy lifestyle
for all ages.

More and more cyclists will have their bikes stolen due to ignorance.
Myself being a victim, I am now reflecting on my past experiences.
Two of my bikes are stolen before I learned my lesson.

Using Shackle lock is one way to prevent easy theft. I use "Montery"
available easily in the valued price stores along Bugis OG area and
other parts of the island. Below picture shows the shackle lock that
I used for the crank.

MonterySecurityLock.jpg

Now take a look at the Shackle Bikes Locks

http://www.cyclestore.co.uk/productDetails.asp?productID=19902&categoryID=112

If you know the reason why you want to cycle, the more you want to
know why you need to know more about safety and security.
It's about Bicycle Locks.

Bicycle security locks essentially take on three forms:
Cable, Chain & Armoured Locks
Shackle Locks
Loop Locks (Immobilisers)

For more details the link is below:
http://www.whycycle.co.uk/safety_and_security/bicycle_locks/

Cheering the cycling community on to more safety cycling with security.

;):)

forward.

If you don't want it to get stolen (or don't want too much heartpain) just get an aleoca bike from NTUC or Carrefour.

Any kind of bike that you are riding can be stolen, whether Aleoca or Urata. For the least heart pain, get a less than fifty dollars
used bike at the Jalan Besar area. Yet many of the foreign workers using them also got their bikes stolen. If the thief is an end
user, he will paint the whole bike in a different colour (orange, white, black etc) and then he rides the bike. So remember, don't
think then by having a cheaper bike it will not be stolen.

thank you, any specific part of Jalan Besar area? I know where to find hardware stores there but can't recall any bicycle shops around that areas. :)

I remember when i lost my 2 bicycle 2 yrs ago.

-The first one happen at outram mrt where my park there overnight, then following day lost. My ignorance, I used 1 padlock only.
-Then 2nd one lost below my HDB flats(Overnight also, the following morning lost my bike). I put 2 locks on it. But still lost it. Dunno how they do it.

From now on, i never buy bikes.

To TS, you can try used bicycle below link.
http://www.togoparts.com/marketplace/list_ads.php?cid=1&country=Singapore

thank you, any specific part of Jalan Besar area? I know where to find hardware stores there but can't recall any bicycle shops around that areas. :)

I do not want to pinpoint the exact location. The area is well known to locals as the "thieves market".
Then there are bike shops that cater to used bikes. One such shop is located at Syed Alwi Road.

I remember when i lost my 2 bicycle 2 yrs ago.

-The first one happen at outram mrt where my park there overnight, then following day lost. My ignorance, I used 1 padlock only.
-Then 2nd one lost below my HDB flats(Overnight also, the following morning lost my bike). I put 2 locks on it. But still lost it. Dunno how they do it.

From now on, i never buy bikes.

To TS, you can try used bicycle below link.
http://www.togoparts.com/marketplace/list_ads.php?cid=1&country=Singapore

It is a sad decision to cut off your desire to purchase another bike because of past experiences.
Everyday is a new day for learning. Everyday is a journey towards success, and in this instance it's
your journey to success in maintaining your bike and keeping it secure. Learn from others and do
research on how to go about it. Giving up and surrender yourself to failure is a very hard consideration
about your goals and your views in life.

One very simple way to secure your bike (even the cheapo ones) is to:

1. Used two 4ft chains (about $5-$6/-) each and wrapped it round the tires and secured it with a shackle lock.
2. The other one use it to secure to a post (lamp post, etc). The frame of the bike must be as close to the
post as possible so that you can wrap the chain round it. Then secure it with another shackle lock.

Experienced thieves won't want to spent so much time trying to cut the chain. In fact there is no way they
can used a cutter when the chain is wrapped round the tires or the frame. They can only used either an electric
saw, a manual saw or other devices to do the cutter. But since you have two chain locks, it takes more than
ten minutes to complete cutting the locks.

Experienced thieves will walk away when they see bikes secured in this method with shackle locks.
They are looking for jobs that can be completed in less than ten minutes. So don't be afraid to learn new
things everything. If you don't buy bikes, you still can ride one, just borrow or steal. Ha, ha, ha. :)

This is what I mean by carelessness. Leaving the bike overnight, the thief took the
saddle away. You noticed the owner chained his bike close to the lamp post allow
no way for them to apply the cutter to cut the chain. The thief was frustrated and
took the saddle away. This is just a normal market bike parked in the heartland.
We call this bike vandalism, a common thing happening for many many years in
Singapore. Could this unwelcome act be stopped once and for all?

Bikevandalism1.jpg

oh, i see...
I just want to ride on normal road, and off road (not extreme)...
Want the bike to be light and strong...
so Commuting is good enough?

Bikes are built for different purposes. Since you want to ride on normal
road and sometimes off road, then a hard-tail MTB will fit your bill.
But if you want to have a light and strong bike below 11kg, I am
afraid you have to go for a hybrid bike (one with thin wheels and light
weight) Hybrid is not suitable for off road.

I have been riding for sometime regularly to work daily and use a
hard tail mountain bike fixed it with mudguards, change to a broader
saddle, get an additional V-stand, rear stand, front and rear basket
all for around S$300. I rode this Urata bike for more than two years
before it was stolen right in front of my door step outside my flat.
At that time, I have no experience of how to secure my bike and to use
the proper shackle lock and the chain method.

I knew how my bike was stolen. A man will scout all the floors of HDB
flats for bikes. Using his mobile phone he will connect with the cutter.
Once the job was done, the cutter pushed or rode the bike to a near
by van.

The van would drove away once the van was full of stolen bikes.
I knew this because I saw the man with the mobile phone standing
suspiciously near the lift area and talking on his mobile on the day
my bike was stolen
I went down to do my errands, after two hours when I came back,
the bike which I parked outside my flat was gone. The lock was cut
broken and thrown on the floor.

This is the picture of my stolen bike.

Mybike.jpg

I do not want to pinpoint the exact location. The area is well known to locals as the "thieves market".
Then there are bike shops that cater to used bikes. One such shop is located at Syed Alwi Road.

I Bought my first bike at this area. If im not wrong its Pitt Street. Bought it there on the street (not sure if those bikes were stolen)
But my 2nd bike was bought at togoparts and the price a not that cheap.. but then its a lesson for me so from now on i hate to buy bicycle.

It would be wonderful if the planners can look into the need of having
sufficient bicycle parking racks at all the shopping malls beside having
them only at MRT stations and schools.

The picture shows clearly the urgent need for such facilities in view of
the increase in people commuting using their bicycles to go shopping
or to the work place.

We have been having this ugly sight for decades and nothing has been
done to remedy the problem.

Bikefriendly1.jpg