could it be CCD problem?

this is the reply i received..

and also local service manager ask me to bring back my cam with my job order again for check...now am not sure whether to send in or not ...WTH.

Dear Mr. XXX,

Thank you for your further explanation on the conditions of your E500.

On considering your information on the CCD, our specialist indicates as follows.

The Noise Reduction is designed to work from 4 seconds.
This seems to be the reason that you found many noise (hot pixels) at 1.6 to 3.2 sec. where the NR does not function.

The problem of your CCD may not be solved even if your camera CCD is replaced.

For your information, Olympus Hong Kong and China has jurisdiction over sales and after-sale services in Asia including Singapore.

Nah... don't bother. They'll keep it for awhile to do a token check and tell you nothing's wrong. But this time they're right: nothing's wrong...

haha, so when i want to take nitescape, make sure set higher f# with exposures > than 4s..

this is the reply i received..

and also local service manager ask me to bring back my cam with my job order again for check...now am not sure whether to send in or not ...WTH.

Dear Mr. XXX,

Thank you for your further explanation on the conditions of your E500.

On considering your information on the CCD, our specialist indicates as follows.

This seems to be the reason that you found many noise (hot pixels) at 1.6 to 3.2 sec. where the NR does not function.

The problem of your CCD may not be solved even if your camera CCD is replaced.

For your information, Olympus Hong Kong and China has jurisdiction over sales and after-sale services in Asia including Singapore.

Bring it back and get them to fix it until they fix it. There is no reason for you to accept a camera that is not performing. You paid for the camera you know?

Also, what was the story behind that last sentence in their email? You bought your camera in Hong Kong/China?

Bring it back and get them to fix it until they fix it. There is no reason for you to accept a camera that is not performing. You paid for the camera you know?

Also, what was the story behind that last sentence in their email? You bought your camera in Hong Kong/China?

the last sentence was meant to reply me when i ask why would they send my feedback for this issue to HK service ctr instead of Singapore where i stay when they email inform me that will refer my issue to HK for investigate.

actuali my feeling of this issue is how can they tell me has limitation for feature that design in..and only kick in after certain timing? are we talking turbo charged car that need to reach xxxx rpm to activate the turbine?

the last sentence was meant to reply me when i ask why would they send my feedback for this issue to HK service ctr instead of Singapore where i stay when they email inform me that will refer my issue to HK for investigate.

actuali my feeling of this issue is how can they tell me has limitation for feature that design in..and only kick in after certain timing? are we talking turbo charged car that need to reach xxxx rpm to activate the turbine?

I do not have a E-330 at the moment to try this out, but are there those who can really verify this? I think if the guys at Olympus gives you a BS answer to your email, it only means you can take it to a higher level and demand for a new camera as yours is a lemon that cannot be fixed. Problems might not be isolated to only the CCD and even the processing engine. It can be anything until someone who has component level troubleshooting skills can verify.

Thanks drakon09. That was what I was trying to say. out of context but that is also taking exposure above the 1 sec but below 4..so NR won't work. Won't that have the same effect then taking night shots?? I saw that on my Day time IR shots.

Back to the tropic, is the pixel mapping not suppose to remove/ disable those dead or hot pixels?

I do not have a E-330 at the moment to try this out, but are there those who can really verify this? I think if the guys at Olympus gives you a BS answer to your email, it only means you can take it to a higher level and demand for a new camera as yours is a lemon that cannot be fixed. Problems might not be isolated to only the CCD and even the processing engine. It can be anything until someone who has component level troubleshooting skills can verify.

oh..am using E500. to me is something that is not very right too that NR work only after >4s according to their specialist?

Precisely why I think it is utter, convenient BS that they are saying this. But that said, let's investigate this.

I've just tried some long exposures with my E-330 and it does seem that NR only kicks-in for exposures longer than 4 sec. If below 4 sec (I tried a 3.2sec shot), I can see the image review on the LCD almost immediately after the shot concludes. If above 4 sec, the image review doesn't appear until another approximately 2xT (where T is shutter speed) sec, indicating that some internal processing is going on.

However, I have doubts as to how much NR can help.
Below are shots taken with the lens cap on and the viewfinder shutter closed, and converted to colour-negative images. Their brightness histograms were subsequently 'stretched' by truncating the darkest 0.01% of the pixels, and the brightest 0.01% of the pixels. The idea is to bring the non-black pixels out to be more noticeable. Notice the characteristic banded noise of the NMOS sensor/circuitry.

At ISO100, 2 sec exposure:
PB192970_smaller_negative_ISO100_2s.jpg

At ISO400, 2 sec exposure:
PB192972_smaller_negative_ISO400_2s.jpg

At ISO1600, 2 sec exposure:
PB192968_smaller_negative_ISO1600_2.jpg

Continued from previous message, because I'm not allowed to link more than 5 images in one message:

At ISO100, 6 sec exposure:
PB192971_smaller_negative_ISO100_6s.jpg

At ISO400, 6 sec exposure:
PB192973_smaller_negative_ISO400_6s.jpg

At ISO1600, 6 sec exposure:
PB192969_smaller_negative_ISO1600_6.jpg

Original SHQ JPEGs are here (17MB zipped file):
http://www.filesend.net/download.php?f=3940334a4a89ea1fe1982f1bd9368b2f

As you can see, the ISO100 shot is now very very clean, devoid of the obvious hot pixels in the 2sec exposure shot. But not the other two.
But maybe it's just because my E-330 is a lemon. If/When I rightfully get a non-lemon E-330 later from Olympus Support, perhaps these results might be less terrifying than what they are now.
Do pay a visit my banded noise problem thread at:
http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=224562

Hmmm, AFAIK the E-300 and E-1 don't exhibit these problems..

But I'll go do a test later tonight.

If the E-300 is all clear, then the E-500 would demand a firmware update. (Same sensor isn't it? Someone correct/confirm this.)

Stay tuned. :devil:

haha drewdam, saw your thread in dpreview.
may be going to London next month, will bring my E-500 there to test out the "cold weather hypothesis".

haha drewdam, saw your thread in dpreview.
may be going to London next month, will bring my E-500 there to test out the "cold weather hypothesis".

well if this is the software issue, then where's the firmware? older model kick in at 1s exposures...anyway u go there n test ..mayb E500 prefer the cooler weather..:)

and Jp oly has not reply my firmware question..think mayb i asking too many question for a lowly E500..:(

They cannot ignore this lowly E-500 as this is one of the only 2 dSLR left in their camp. The E-400 do not count as it's for a limited marker. If both of the E-330 and E-500 are having problems, then Olympus is in hot soup big time!!! :o

Let's hope that the PMA next year will see some happening new products come out. But honestly, the problems discussed in here are being magnified. I have no problems so far with the cameras because you don't shoot at such high ISO all the time. So chill, everyone.

Very true microcosm. As Oly M'sia mentioned, I was the only one complaining and Oly S'pore also said the same to Olyflyer. Drewdam was also given the same answer. It's only a handful of lemons around.

It is not lemons lah. I think you guys are confused about the issue.

Pixel mapping are not meant for hot pixels as 99% of the time, those pixels are working fine so manufacturer usually don't remove those pixels.

What you guys are seeing is hot pixels and usually the NR they do is dark frame subtraction. Basically they take ANOTHER shot with the shutter closed with the same exposure time and map out the respective hot pixels. Different cameras has different standards as to when to apply this technique. I remember the KM7D I had applied this for exposire longer than 1 sec. Olympus probably apply for exposure longer than 4 seconds.

Seriously ALL CCDs have HOT PIXELS all over when you shoot at 3 secs. The problem is NOT with the CCD but rather WHY olympus choose to apply dark frame subtraction only for exposure longer than 4 seconds, while other companies usually do it for >1sec.

So the technician is right in saying there is NO POINT in changing your CCD.

It is not lemons lah. I think you guys are confused about the issue.

So the technician is right in saying there is NO POINT in changing your CCD.

the technican that say this is thru email that i sent to jp oly ctr but our local ctr's technician suggest i pay $288 to change the CCD... n also job order stated that she perform the pixel mapping n tested ..ok before return to me...:(

anyway i dun have much confident about the local ctr.

the technican that say this is thru email that i sent to jp oly ctr but our local ctr's technician suggest i pay $288 to change the CCD... n also job order stated that she perform the pixel mapping n tested ..ok before return to me...:(

anyway i dun have much confident about the local ctr.

since they set the NR to > 4 seconds, the local tech probably tested it with exposure > 4 secs... standard operating procedure. They will not scan through all the exposures I think.

Local center all like that one. For fujifilm, the last time I checked they don't even have pixel mapping facility in Singapore... duh....

since they set the NR to > 4 seconds, the local tech probably tested it with exposure > 4 secs... standard operating procedure. They will not scan through all the exposures I think.

Local center all like that one. For fujifilm, the last time I checked they don't even have pixel mapping facility in Singapore... duh....

wind30...frankly, i bet the tech dont even know about the NR work from 4s onward...anyway i will go and ask to test another e500 n see how the result show..chances i have no case for this since jp oly offically email said that NR work only >4s..well what to do...LL but will try to work around it n enjoy the tool that i have lor...:)

there're more things in life that need attention.

cheer!!