Consolidated NKF Thread

After reading this, will you still donate to NKF?

Donno whether is there a counter lawsuit from those who are sued .......

Wow... seems like there won't be any apology. Seems like by stepping down he becomes a hero. Channel 5 is now making it sounds like the NKF is a victim and the public have been the bad guys. =(

dawgbyte77 said:
Wow... seems like there won't be any apology. Seems like by stepping down he becomes a hero. Channel 5 is now making it sounds like the NKF is a victim and the public have been the bad guys. =(

the power of MEDIA...

anyway.. so is it possible to get back the donations from the previous weeks?
my parents asking me to do it.. dunno how sia.. :sweat:

~Arcanic~ said:
the power of MEDIA...

NKF said if members of the public want a refund for the donations made at the NKF Cancer Show, they can write in with their telephone bill and NKF will consider refunds on a case-by-case basis.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/157937/1/.html

a patron with a charitable body is usually not involved in the day-to-day or policy matters of the body. they merely lent their name. for nkf, being the wife of the then PM does raise the status of nkf but i do not think she is involved in the policy or decision making of nkf.

her only comment in this episode is about 'peanuts'. i could see that it was a off-the cuff comment given at the spur of the moment when pestered by journalists. she must have regretted her comments. being a lawyer herself, she should have been more careful.

no need to be so harsh leh.

nova_nebula said:
Yes, I can drink to that! Mr Khaw is definitely more trustworthy than TTD and BoD of Peanuts. BTW, Mrs.Peanuts should go wash her mouth and brain with Clorox. She's a disgrace to SM.

~Arcanic~ said:
the power of MEDIA...

Saw in the interview that refunds will be reviewed on a "case to case" basis. Hmm.... so much for transparency.

NKF sitll pay peanut to the new CEO... :dunno:

Garion said:
Google search for NKF peanuts

OMG... This NKF and peanut incident is now world news thanks to the Financial Times ! Wonder if the FT and its reporter would be sued for casting aspirations on Singapore's 'elites' in this way ? :dunno:

Now, for other news, the petrol station in Toa Payoh is giving a 25% discount! The queue stretched all the way from ... ... ...

Been to their building before... its literally walking into a hotel then a charity organistion. There are speakers everywhere at the cafe etc etc..

anyway, i dun donate anymore. you never know where your money goes into...

AReality said:
Now, for other news, the petrol station in Toa Payoh is giving a 25% discount! The queue stretched all the way from .

:bsmilie:..... that's a good one:thumbsup:

reachme2003 said:
Her only comment in this episode is about 'peanuts'. i could see that it was a off-the cuff comment given at the spur of the moment when pestered by journalists. she must have regretted her comments. being a lawyer herself, she should have been more careful.

She wasn't sorry at all, nor regretful. She said after the press release regarding the NKF resignations that she was disappointed by the results.

Nevertheless, ST has done well in reporting this to the public - only $6800 was raised during tonight's show.

But please don't forget that the dialysis patients still need help. Please donate to the selfless workers at KDF.

reachme2003 said:
a patron with a charitable body is usually not involved in the day-to-day or policy matters of the body. they merely lent their name. for nkf, being the wife of the then PM does raise the status of nkf but i do not think she is involved in the policy or decision making of nkf.

her only comment in this episode is about 'peanuts'. i could see that it was a off-the cuff comment given at the spur of the moment when pestered by journalists. she must have regretted her comments. being a lawyer herself, she should have been more careful.

It may have been a stray comment, but I would be a fool to let it pass like that, because it betrays a deeper problem, that the divide between the elites and the common man has grown so wide we no longer even agree on the same realities.

Congratualations Mrs Goh, you just insulted the great majority of your husband's power base, absolutely brilliant move.

xray said:
She wasn't sorry at all, nor regretful. She said after the press release regarding the NKF resignations that she was disappointed by the results.

Nevertheless, ST has done well in reporting this to the public - only $6800 was raised during tonight's show.

But please don't forget that the dialysis patients still need help. Please donate to the selfless workers at KDF.

weren't all fundraising activities supposed to be suspended?

so now TTD and the BOD quit......then? story end?...just like that? they just walk off happily after taking our $$$??? :dunno: :dunno: :dunno:

AReality said:
Now, for other news, the petrol station in Toa Payoh is giving a 25% discount! The queue stretched all the way from ... ... ....

they want to donate that 25% to NKF :bsmilie:

nova_nebula said:
Yes, I can drink to that! Mr Khaw is definitely more trustworthy than TTD and BoD of Peanuts. BTW, Mrs.Peanuts should go wash her mouth and brain with Clorox. She's a disgrace to SM.

yes, i fully agree the part about she being a dsigrace to SM.

if $600, 000 is peanut to her, wonder what amount will satisfy her. thank god she is not the ceo of nkf.

DeusExMachina said:
It may have been a stray comment, but I would be a fool to let it pass like that, because it betrays a deeper problem, that the divide between the elites and the common man has grown so wide we no longer even agree on the same realities.

Congratualations Mrs Goh, you just insulted the great majority of your husband's power base, absolutely brilliant move.

bingo!