Is this a good deal for 860IS?

$549
sd4GB
SD8GB
SD card reader
digital kit bag
Case
$30 taka voucher

That's pretty standard price but not so sure about the freebies. But if you can make do without the freebies, think online over at BHphoto is cheaper. Excluding shipping its less than $400!

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/518212-REG/Canon_2340B001_PowerShot_SD870_IS_Digital.html

But if you want to buy local, freebies included, think BargainCity is better than the above:
http://www.bargaincity.com.sg/digit...Canon+IXUS+860+IS&filter_id=6&sort=2a

I'm wondering will they throw in more freebies on the last day... 3 days of hesitation... Anyone getting the camera on the last day?

oh got free filter n screen protector also ah? like tat mai tu liao.. can get at COMEX liao... see wat i can get today.. hehe... btw, wat filter is it? just no brand UV filter? any diff compared with those HOYA ones? sorry i'm really new to DSLR.. alot of funny Qs.. :embrass:

its Sunblitz UV filter. dunno sunblitz is good or not, I also new to dslr. Yeah maybe today you can try bargain more or ask for more freebies.

That's pretty standard price but not so sure about the freebies. But if you can make do without the freebies, think online over at BHphoto is cheaper. Excluding shipping its less than $400!

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/518212-REG/Canon_2340B001_PowerShot_SD870_IS_Digital.html

But if you want to buy local, freebies included, think BargainCity is better than the above:
http://www.bargaincity.com.sg/digit...Canon+IXUS+860+IS&filter_id=6&sort=2a

Thanks bro. For the BH one, it's international warranty is it? That means SG also covered?

Not that i know of but was pointed to that by another friend in the US when he was asking me about camera prices here compared to over there.

But as for normal Canon policy, camera warranties are only country specific. :dunno:

Bros, I just got back from Comex. I went there at about 12pm and this is my deal on the 450D.

450D Body Only x 1
8GB Kingston SD Card x 1 (I bargained with the sales person)
4GB Toshiba SD Card x 1
Canon Camera Bag x 1
Canon Tripod x 1
LCD Screen Protector x 1
Sunblitz 58mm UV Filter x 1
EF Lens Book x 1

All the above for S$1,029/-. I said I didn't need the 160GB external harddisk and he took S$70/- off the price! (Original price was S$1,099/-)

Then I bought the S$150/- extended warranty with the free EF 50mm f/1.8 II lens.

Quick!!! Rush down and buy what you want now!!! When I left at about 1pm the crowds were crazy already. You must prepare yourself to be squashed like sardines!!! :o

just an input.

don't be enticed by the freebies unless you need it.
for example camera bag & tripod. You will need lowepro bag at least and a more stable tripod (i can't imagine putting expensive lense in a not-properly-cushioned bag). Last time when I bought mine, after few times of use, the plastic mount of the tripod broken.

Yes, you will need a dry cabinet as Singapore humidity is very high.
Compare first, if you buy on your own in camera shops or in Carrefour (ard $110 for 30L DigiCAbi, with 5% rebate for POSB everyday card holder).

as for memory card, i believe they are very cheap nowadays.
I bought 8GB Kingston SDHC Ultra at ard $69.90 in SimLim 1-2 months ago, so there shd be better deal at Comex for memory card.

Happy shopping :D

Cheers.

May i ask if it is worth to purchase the EOS 450D from the Comex Fare?
I am new to DSLR and will be getting my first DSLR.

I'm thinking of getting the extended warranty too.
May i ask if the lens that there are giving worth it?

Thanks for the reply in advance. :D

I just purchase mine at Comex today around 1:30 pm.
I have exchanged the 2*4GB SD to 1 pc of Kingston (Class 6) 8 GB card
The sales also gave me one more 4GB toshiba Class 2 SD card.
The rest of the free gifts are the same as advertised.
I have gotten the free lens with extended warranty also.
So totally, it costs about S1449 for my purchase today.

Has anyone faced problem with registering warranty online?
I heard from the guy there that we need to register online for the first 1 and half year warranty.
Have anyone been told that also?
My IE cannot open the webpage properly when I enter the url as shown on the card.
Please advise me!
Thanks.

I got my first DSLR Canon EOS 450D at Comex, same free gifts as per advertised + 1X UV filter & 1XScreen protector...Price: S$1280. They run out of EF book & 160GB HDD, gotta go down to Vivo to redeem :(...the SD cards are "Lexar" brand one ....:(

just bought my 450D today from comex..
$1229 exclude external harddisk
+ 150 for external warranty and lens.. but lens and lens book out of stock :(

Bros, I just got back from Comex. I went there at about 12pm and this is my deal on the 450D.

450D Body Only x 1
8GB Kingston SD Card x 1 (I bargained with the sales person)
4GB Toshiba SD Card x 1
Canon Camera Bag x 1
Canon Tripod x 1
LCD Screen Protector x 1
Sunblitz 58mm UV Filter x 1
EF Lens Book x 1

All the above for S$1,029/-. I said I didn't need the 160GB external harddisk and he took S$70/- off the price! (Original price was S$1,099/-)

Then I bought the S$150/- extended warranty with the free EF 50mm f/1.8 II lens.

Quick!!! Rush down and buy what you want now!!! When I left at about 1pm the crowds were crazy already. You must prepare yourself to be squashed like sardines!!! :o

You must be kidding lahh.... Shall be 1299 isnt it.... not 1099

I just purchase mine at Comex today around 1:30 pm.
I have exchanged the 2*4GB SD to 1 pc of Kingston (Class 6) 8 GB card
The sales also gave me one more 4GB toshiba Class 2 SD card.
The rest of the free gifts are the same as advertised.
I have gotten the free lens with extended warranty also.
So totally, it costs about S1449 for my purchase today.

Has anyone faced problem with registering warranty online?
I heard from the guy there that we need to register online for the first 1 and half year warranty.
Have anyone been told that also?
My IE cannot open the webpage properly when I enter the url as shown on the card.
Please advise me!
Thanks.

Try using Firefox ;)

I think his one is the body only price....
So his price is reasonable....

went down to COMEX to get my 450D around 7pm. the salesperson said no more stocks! :o
so went for dinner... then keep thinking of the extend warranty promotion abit :bheart: to miss leh... decided to pop by CP at marina sq.

was quoted $1140 for 450D kit with 4GB card and lens book.. feel its quite a gd deal. so continue browse for bag loh.. end up with a Lowepro Rezo 160 which i think is sufficient for me now.. doesnt look too bulky and loud also.

after tat went to suntec to take bus home. decided to try my luck see can extend warranty there. ;p managed to do it and will be waiting for 50mm F1.8 lens! yeah!

total damage:
450D Kit : $1140
Lowepro bag: $50 (not sure if its a fair price but I figured I need a bag so grab it)
Extend warranty : $150
= $1340
quite satisfied though I still might need a filter and maybe extra battery... excited to shoot more n learn more.. =)

If you did read my post I did mention that I bought the 450D BODY only. :)

Wow... I can't believe they ran out of 450D stock today. Thank goodness I went down early.

If you did read my post I did mention that I bought the 450D BODY only. :)

Wow... I can't believe they ran out of 450D stock today. Thank goodness I went down early.

The sales person said that ALL 2k stock of 450D was sold out in the afternoon.

Was considering to get EOS 450D or 1000D.

However, I finally settled for EOS 1000D, thinking that as an amateur, i'll should just start out with some cheaper and something basic.

Got loads of freebies, 2 4GB SDHC, 1 Camera Bag, 1 workbook, 1 160GB Ext Harddrive, 1 Sunblitz filter and a tripod.

The sales person said that ALL 2k stock of 450D was sold out in the afternoon.

Was considering to get EOS 450D or 1000D.

However, I finally settled for EOS 1000D, thinking that as an amateur, i'll should just start out with some cheaper and something basic.

Got loads of freebies, 2 4GB SDHC, 1 Camera Bag, 1 workbook, 1 160GB Ext Harddrive, 1 Sunblitz filter and a tripod.

Really surprised to know that 450D was sold out for COMEX.
Interesting ya, maybe it is really a successful sales for that model bah.
Luckily, I went there by 1:30pm so all the free gifts and camera still had stock that time.
Really like that camera, the high ISO performance is really surprising...
Going to explore more functions tmr!:)