Comex 2006 Macro shooting.

I believe the spider also want to take some nice picture if not it will not be so obedient.:bsmilie:

Good. only shows what kind of nature lovers we have in this forum. I am certainly going to do something about moving subjects out of their natural habitat and moving them. The spider might just be dying. In any case, there is a legislation against such actions.

I am not being mean here. After all, we don't get hurt at all. In fact, we stand only to gain from these animals we capture and photograph right? good for you.

Make sure you dun get caught after I alert National parks.

"Take nothing but photographs, leave nothing but footprints."

This is a universal message in all nature reserves all over the world, "Take nothing but photographs...". In the same spirit, leave the creatures in their natural habitats whether you found them in nature reserves or even just your neighbourhood park.

Mendis said:
Personally, none of these pictures shows the capability of each camera. Unless, it can be ascertained that all shots were taken under controlled situations. Some missed focus, some lighting conditions were not the same. So? how to know..

Fun series though. Certainly, I hope no one else captured a rather special species of spider to the comex! No offense Steve but, that Malayan Phaeacius would be horrified. There aren't many of these spiders in abundance as much as scientist would love to have..

Hi Mendis
Not comparing which brands of camera are good, it’s me that’s not good behind certain cameras, as the saying goes “a bad carpenter blames his tools”

I’m doing this for the love of taking macro, secondly I’m sad as I found quite a number of macro shooters keep saying CMI, after they spend so much money on their equipments. Now I know that most of the cameras can perform, with the right combination of lens and filters after trying out myself…instead of listening to saleman’s talk. I’ve been one of their victims for a very long time, time to wakeup now.

The rest of the all your off track will respond to you below.

Mendis said:
not this species. It cannot be found, i believe, anywhere. Only in nature reserves.

Don’t assume and believe if you are not sure, please back up this statement of your’s “not this species. It cannot be found, i believe, anywhere. Only in nature reserves”

Please read this extract taken from this link

A Guide to Common Singapore Spiders.
By Joseph K H Koh.

http://habitatnews.nus.edu.sg/guidebooks/spiders/text/Phaeacius_malayensis.htm

These unusual Jumping Spiders of the sub-family Spartaeinae have a different eye arrangement compared to other Jumping Spiders.
Whereas the posterior median eyes (i.e., the eyes in the second row) of most Jumping Spiders are tiny, there is a category of Jumping Spiders whose posterior median eyes are fairly big. These include spiders in the genera Cocalus, Phaeacius, Portia and Spartaeus.

Classification: Family Salticidae, Jumping Spiders
Habitat: Tree trunks in gardens, secondary forests and mangrove swamps.
Female: 9 mm.
Male: 8-9.5 mm.
Distribution: Singapore, Indonesia.

Mendis said:
Actually, its no laughing matter. I strongly disagree with capturing and moving animals from our nature reserves.

Mendis said:
I can't believe no one here is concerned about the small spider. Good. I will take my next course of action.

Mendis said:
I am concerned about the spider captured out of its natural habitat. Its not your everyday jumping spider found in your house or garden. It can only be found in our forests. On trees. So, whether you like it or not, I feel I, as someone who loves nature, will keep emphasizing the importance of keeping these animals where we found them.

Mendis said:
Good. only shows what kind of nature lovers we have in this forum. I am certainly going to do something about moving subjects out of their natural habitat and moving them. The spider might just be dying. In any case, there is a legislation against such actions.

I am not being mean here. After all, we don't get hurt at all. In fact, we stand only to gain from these animals we capture and photograph right? good for you.

Make sure you dun get caught after I alert National parks.

Hi Mendis,

Sorry I don’t know if there is any law in Singapore that protects spider species, please let me know or provide any links, very much appreciated. Please excuse my ignorance.

In my house and on my plants alone I have many species of spiders, praying mantis, leaf or stick insects and quite a lots of other bugs & insects around, maybe more than 20 species I found so far. I’m staying up on the 14th storey and am still wondering why they are up so high, if I’m not wrong many households won’t hesistate to use SHIELDTOX, BAYGONE or roll up NEWSPAPERS to do the inevitable.

Firstly, PLEASE don’t assume that this spider was taken from the Nature Reserves, wonder why we don’t cross paths at Lower Pierce any more? ;)

Secondly, FYI I DO RETURN THE SPIDERS TO THEIR ORIGINAL PLACES, so please don’t over react and make a mountain out of a mole hill when you don’t even know or have the courtesy to ask me before you responded, by doing so starting something unpleasant and distasteful here.

Now I tell you where I got this spider, it is located on a tree in a housing estate with 6 different resident spiders living in harmony (see attached pictures). Furthermore there’s alot of JS crawling about on the 100m railing nearby, will be most happy to show you.
Now I know there are lots of spiders in and around our town or estate parks.

Question to you now are you accusing me of doing something very wrong ?

230616961_2923880368_o.jpg

230616960_4b6b2913a2_o.jpg

230723417_d14218159c_o.jpg

230733689_67a8d0210a_o.jpg

Peng62 said:
"Take nothing but photographs, leave nothing but footprints."

This is a universal message in all nature reserves all over the world, "Take nothing but photographs...". In the same spirit, leave the creatures in their natural habitats whether you found them in nature reserves or even just your neighbourhood park.

Wow!! kana Lecture :bigeyes:

ERM...frm comex camera testing bcum nature lecturing.

Not to go onto that track, i like e saturation from Canon. Pentax k100d shots looks good(dun c price cheap cheap, can still b gd wor).
D80... can't believe it cant do what i expected leh... :(

Good job for doing the testing! Cant wait to squeeze in during e weekend.

PS: Did anyone bcum spider man/woman/boy/girl? :bsmilie:

Stevewhy said:
I’m doing this for the love of taking macro, secondly I’m sad as I found quite a number of macro shooters keep saying CMI, after they spend so much money on their equipments. Now I know that most of the cameras can perform, with the right combination of lens and filters after trying out myself…instead of listening to saleman’s talk. I’ve been one of their victims for a very long time, time to wakeup now.
In my opinion, in order to test the capability of a camera or lenses whether it is macro or some even tested on models during the show, I don't think you should limit yourself to shoot only insects.

Please bear in mind that macro or close-up in photography term IS NOT equal to INSECTS (perhaps it is the term for CS) like butterflies, hoppers, or spiders. I believe you can shoot a button, a pin, or even a coin to test out the camera or the lens(es)?

Anyway, yes it is illegal to take anything out of a nature reserve. Read the word "RESERVE".

I am just sharing my opinion and I am not blaming anyone here. :)

aaron80 said:
I agreed. The photos taken by the Oly 330, Canon 400D and Pentax K100D looks the best.. The D80 one dun seems too great..

Hi AARON80,
I also agree but..
If u use CBL Lens, u can get much better final image.
Pls try to refer www.cbllens.com
By the way, I stay in Woodlands also.
If u want to test CBL Lens, u can do Free Trial.
Thks.

mmk said:
In my opinion, in order to test the capability of a camera or lenses whether it is macro or some even tested on models during the show, I don't think you should limit yourself to shoot only insects.

Please bear in mind that macro or close-up in photography term IS NOT equal to INSECTS (perhaps it is the term for CS) like butterflies, hoppers, or spiders. I believe you can shoot a button, a pin, or even a coin to test out the camera or the lens(es)?

Anyway, yes it is illegal to take anything out of a nature reserve. Read the word "RESERVE".

I am just sharing my opinion and I am not blaming anyone here. :)

FYI this spider was not taken out from any NATURE RESERVE, please read my answer to the question above. Yes! I fully understand the word RESERVE :)

mmk said:
;p I didnt mean for the spider that you brought to COMEX but just a general understanding.

Anyway, I do understand that in Singapore, even you pluck a leaf of the road side plant and if you were caught, you are entitle for a day jail or so? This is basically because those life out there are not belong to you but NParks and if you bring them home without a valid permit, it is illegal? :think: Please correct me if I am wrong.

Also, there are people keep on telling me that in Singapore, nothing is illegal unless you get caught LAR. :bsmilie:

Thanks etegration., kelccm, Siriuslim, Ortega, Caicaizi, Jmba, Tuagu, Gcspyder, Hashbrown kopitiam and Bleam for the kind words. Cheers!!!

di0nysus said:
great stuff..what lens/macro filters etc did u use??

Thanks dionysus, your answer can be found on top of this page ;)

GENO said:
i pity the spider..haha

The spider is Honour to be immortalized in many computer screens for many years to come ;)

staad3 said:
That's a good idea to bring something small and shoot, though not necessary has to be spider...later anyhow crawl around ah.

But seriously, personally i like the photos taken by olympus, canon and pentax. nice and sharp.

Thks for showing us.:)

Thanks staad3
This one very tame hardly move more than 2 inches ;)

whacker said:
Love the shoots taken with the DSLRs. I assume all the shots were taken with Auto WB?

Thanks wacker.
Yes with Auto WB, no time to try everything, not even the full range f-stop and speed.

whacker said:
I think most likely the spider is now in a state of concussion after being blinded by the flash so many times

Don’t worry she got 8 eyes, so many spare. TC ;)

zaxh81 said:
Nice idea,maybe can organise a macro outing,everyone bring different insects.
The olympus is very sharp.:thumbsup:

Organize one before, next one coming on the 9 Sept ;)