Club1000D - TCSS Part 2

no one answer me ley. so sadd.

Yo bros....thought of buying nissin once too but somehow ended up with sunpak. I did some googling on it last time and this maker is sort of a OEM maker for another famous jap brand..so should be reliable...after sales service i dunno. What i know is i think it can be used as slave for 580 oso...must check lah...but you and just2 can buy i622 and i466 so that can use as master and slave mah...hahaha

Always BBB...never end.....hahaha

anyway guys.....wat u tink of 1Ds mark II ...good or not..??

:o this thread turning into BBB thread also...

no one answer me ley. so sadd.

For a 3rd party, Nissin seems good based on its specs.
Like what Lucas mentioned, it can compete with the 430EXII based on specs alone.
And since it has master/slave feature, seems to me to be a value-for-money buy.
I'm not sure how well the ETTL works though. Have to buy to know. Or can try before you buy.
Because some 3rd party flashes don't seem to be 100% ETTL-compatible, thus you lose out FEC and stuff like that.

I've been using a 3rd party for some time, Sunpak PZ42x.
It lacks the master/slave feature but it has served me well on the occasions that I use it.
And I've never/seldom used full power. The most I go to is 1/2 power. Faster recharge times.

Yo bros....thought of buying nissin once too but somehow ended up with sunpak. I did some googling on it last time and this maker is sort of a OEM maker for another famous jap brand..so should be reliable...after sales service i dunno. What i know is i think it can be used as slave for 580 oso...must check lah...but you and just2 can buy i622 and i466 so that can use as master and slave mah...hahaha

Yeah! Both buy the 622 also can. It can be master/slave.

Outing for sunset and strobing:

Place: Marina Barrage
When: This Sunday, 26th April 2009
Time and place to meet: 5pm at Marina Bay MRT
What to bring: Things for sunset and strobing (Flash photography), so bring the necessary.

Namelist (please choose either or for the shoot):
1) Fedodedo
2) Emotic
3) Fatah
4) Haslan

anyone else wanna join?? of course, we can plan for another outing after this outing.

update again

Place: In front of Esplanade/Marina Barrage
Time and place to meet: 5pm at City Hall MRT/Marina Bay MRT
What to bring: Things for sunset and strobing (Flash photography), so bring the necessary.

Namelist (please choose either or for the shoot):
1) Fedodedo
2) Emotic
3) Fatah
4) Haslan

anyone else wanna join?? Or do you guys have a better suggestion on the place?
and of course, we can plan for another outing after this outing.

Wa liao a... I 1 2 join 2 but 2 bad will only b back 2 Singapore on Monday nite. Can plan another flash shoot??? :cry:

There's no 1Ds MK II.

There's only 1Ds MK III which cost $12k just for the body itself. Enjoy. ;)

and haslan..i sugget u raynox..cheap and good..hahahaha

macro lenses: EF-S 60mm, Tamron 90mm, EF 100mm, Sigma 105mm. Pick your poison.

Or try the Raynox adaptors

i heard its 80mm... or something like that la

90mm is best for insects.. cause u need to be quite far from the subject ;)

surfed few thread in CS about which lens is good for food photography. Some says macro lens is good and some says 60mm. Anyone can suggest? Please do not suggest L lens lah...

For those of you looking to use the raynox as an alternative macro lens .. just bare one thing in mind. the raynox dcr-250,dcr-150 are technically close-up filters. in other words .. you can get the same effect if you put a magnifying glass in front of your lens BUT the raynox is very high optical quality. You loose focus at infinity when you put a close-up diopter (or an extension tube or reverse macro). This means you can focus up close but not objects at a distance anymore. the raynox is not a replacement for a dedicated macro lens really. i occasionally use the tamron 90mm macro f/2.8 for 'potraits' and candids when i am outdoors or have enough distance and it works well. raynox is a good choice if you dun actually wanna get another lens but want to take the occasional macro. it is a good choice if you wanna get into macro but dun wanna dump a lot of money on a dedicated lens and risk selling it at a loss if you dont get into it.

havig said that .. if you check the macro thread on clubsnap, you can find some really good macro photographers using a 50mm with a raynox almost exclusively.

Haslan: not sure if you need a macro lens for food leh .. for food shots normally you set the shot up so you can control the distance lighting etc. I would go for the sharpest and most vibrant lens that is in your arsenal and set up the shot as you see fit. Using a raynox for food photography will limit your shots to just the fishball in a bowl of fishball noodles for example since you might not be able to focus if you try to pull out of the shot to get the whole bowl in frame.

dunno .. my 2 cents ..

for macro you can also use the reversed lens technique

or get the tamron 90mm

warrgghhhhhh...

when i ask abt 1ds mk II...u all tink i want to buy ah..hehehe..i testing only..i cannot afford la..just daydreaming only..

ryanG..have la. Even at singapore i saw 1 at display at peninsula plaza. very big la the camera..like flea was saying " do u need it?" - hahaha..GILA la me if i buy that one..that money i can use to top up for my wedding..hahahaha.

My motto is..."who says a cheap DSLR can't take a good photo" heheheh,,,so dont BBB..

tamron 90mm macro...like gd ah??? hmm../heheh k stop

gd morning everyone!!!

for macro you can also use the reversed lens technique

or get the tamron 90mm

I think the kit lens makes for a very nice lens to do the reversed lens technique .. especially when you go to 18mm!!! :D

P.S. remember in reversed lens .. you get MORE magnification at LOWER focal length.

I think the kit lens makes for a very nice lens to do the reversed lens technique .. especially when you go to 18mm!!! :D

P.S. remember in reversed lens .. you get MORE magnification at LOWER focal length.

this is soo true. i tot its tcss when u put 50mm in reverse. but i saw pictures taken with reverse 50mm and wow, i didnt believe it. so what happen when you dont believe it? TRY IT ON YOUR OWN. i bought the adapter and gosh, its been stunning la! but its a pain in the ass lah coz need to focus manually but moving back and forth. hahaa.

get the tammy 90mm. i heard good reviews about it. and anyway NO ONE ELSE GOING FOR THE OUTING TO MARINA BARRAGE??

Place: Marina Barrage
Time and place to meet: 5pm at Marina Bay MRT

Namelist:
1) Fedodedo
2) Emotic
3) Fatah
4) Haslan
5) Ardaan (Most likely)
6) Chooi Mei (TBC)

anyone else wanna join?? of course, we can plan for another outing after this outing.

update again

For those of you looking to use the raynox as an alternative macro lens .. just bare one thing in mind. the raynox dcr-250,dcr-150 are technically close-up filters. in other words .. you can get the same effect if you put a magnifying glass in front of your lens BUT the raynox is very high optical quality. You loose focus at infinity when you put a close-up diopter (or an extension tube or reverse macro). This means you can focus up close but not objects at a distance anymore. the raynox is not a replacement for a dedicated macro lens really. i occasionally use the tamron 90mm macro f/2.8 for 'potraits' and candids when i am outdoors or have enough distance and it works well. raynox is a good choice if you dun actually wanna get another lens but want to take the occasional macro. it is a good choice if you wanna get into macro but dun wanna dump a lot of money on a dedicated lens and risk selling it at a loss if you dont get into it.

havig said that .. if you check the macro thread on clubsnap, you can find some really good macro photographers using a 50mm with a raynox almost exclusively.

Haslan: not sure if you need a macro lens for food leh .. for food shots normally you set the shot up so you can control the distance lighting etc. I would go for the sharpest and most vibrant lens that is in your arsenal and set up the shot as you see fit. Using a raynox for food photography will limit your shots to just the fishball in a bowl of fishball noodles for example since you might not be able to focus if you try to pull out of the shot to get the whole bowl in frame.

dunno .. my 2 cents ..

thanks bro... question answered!