Charlotte

You have some good ideas and planning there and I can see what you are trying to achieve, though the execution is not really there yet. Meaning you need to continue practicing and picking up more knowledge on the technical aspect. Lighting control, posing, attention to details and processing.

If you improved on those areas, I believe that the results will be impressive. Don't be discouraged by some of the comments above as I think that you have good potential, keep shooting, shooting and improving and I think you can be better than those guys one day. :)

bro,

thanks for the time and effort. errr.... this is the original photo with no PP, only resize.......

i double check my original size photo, sharp leh....... sorry, i am not doubting ur eye sight but trying to find out why nia....

but i dun think it matter any more.

thanks anyway.

jay the killer

There is no point argueing, your shots ARE NOT SHARP, keep telling yourself they are and you will not improve. You are doubting my eye sight by telling me im wrong. If ud like to send me the original file, i ll happily look at it just incase its the internet file. Pm me for an email address!

Resizes should be sharper than the original anyway, unless you saved as a lower quality.

Jay, a lot of what you said made sense - EQ wise.

I have no vested interest in Portraits and Poses because I OD-ed on it ages ago shooting 'chio ang mor' models' even before such models were widely available here.

What that 'one particular person', Deadpoet, since you could not bring yourself to say his name, can do for you is take you from step minus one to 8 faster than you could ever imagine, simply because he knows his stuff, and probably more than anything else, he's not afraid to be brutally honest.

If I had someone like him as my mentor when I first was a 'virgin', and if I had the balls to stick trough the pain of learning (have you heard the term 'through the fire'? or the biblical verse which talks about the fire of truth seperating gold from impurities? Research 'smelting'), I probably would have made a lot of money from photography.

It takes a big man to admit mistakes, and it takes an even bigger man to swallow his pride in order to learn, but it takes someone truly exceptional to be able to rise up above himself.

bro,

thank you so much for ur time and effort for the nice talks. :thumbsup:

he is good and do it for a living doesnt give him the right to tell ppl off like tat......

its not only me, some of my friends also ask me, "who is this guy? he got something against u ah?". this mean tat i am not the 1 being emotional here, my friends felt it too.

i really do apreciate senior members giving their opinion and comments on the photos. but as a newbie, i think wat we want most is HOW not to repeat the same mistake again. its not only how the photos look..... i dun think tat is too much to ask for.....

it is like a newbie in car (sorry, i can only use car as an example cos tat is my industry) drving a sedan to a race track and clocked 4.5 mins (avg timing is 2.5 to 3 mins for performance cars, 4.5 mins for seden is consider slightly above avg among sedan cars liao) and his was so happy about it and ask me for opinion on his driving skill and technique.

then i just shot him down like "you are slow mean you are slow, watever technique is irrelevant, there is no misconception". how do u think he will feel?

personally, i felt tat if i am not ready to share with him how he fare against other sedan cars and/or how to improve the timing. i will try not to give any comments, and worst still a single line negative comments.

he may be singapore 1st Alanso and this "u r slow" comment may just kill off his desire to be in the singapore car racing industry which is just picking up......

before anyone start shooting again, i am not saying i will be the next whoever-whoever. it is just an example.

well, anyway, thank you everyone (including dp) for all the time and effort again. and if noone object, can i ask the mod to close this thread?

jay the tired

bro,

thank you so much for ur time and effort for the nice talks. :thumbsup:

he is good and do it for a living doesnt give him the right to tell ppl off like tat......

its not only me, some of my friends also ask me, "who is this guy? he got something against u ah?". this mean tat i am not the 1 being emotional here, my friends felt it too.

i really do apreciate senior members giving their opinion and comments on the photos. but as a newbie, i think wat we want most is HOW not to repeat the same mistake again. its not only how the photos look..... i dun think tat is too much to ask for.....

it is like a newbie in car (sorry, i can only use car as an example cos tat is my industry) drving a sedan to a race track and clocked 4.5 mins (avg timing is 2.5 to 3 mins for performance cars, 4.5 mins for seden is consider slightly above avg among sedan cars liao) and his was so happy about it and ask me for opinion on his driving skill and technique.

then i just shot him down like "you are slow mean you are slow, watever technique is irrelevant, there is no misconception". how do u think he will feel?

personally, i felt tat if i am not ready to share with him how he fare against other sedan cars and/or how to improve the timing. i will try not to give any comments, and worst still a single line negative comments.

he may be singapore 1st Alanso and this "u r slow" comment may just kill off his desire to be in the singapore car racing industry which is just picking up......

before anyone start shooting again, i am not saying i will be the next whoever-whoever. it is just an example.

well, anyway, thank you everyone (including dp) for all the time and effort again. and if noone object, can i ask the mod to close this thread?

jay the tired

you and your friends need to grow the hell up. Kenna brutually honest comment only feel like giving up. What happens if you got worst? Such as insulting put downs? He's already been very tame (tame by his standards btw) with you and you still kpkb?! Seems like you're more interested in personal validation and gratification from your friends then to have an opportunity to grow as person and as a craftsman. :thumbsd: Let me ask you something: during your NS when you kenna possibly worse put downs how did you react? Go one corner and cry and bitch or suck it up and learn to grow? The world doesn't owe you anything so dun expect everyone to be your yesman. I can honestly say the shots while the intention is there, the execution is what kills it. Regardless of whether you had her to yourself with a full support crew it seems like you dun even have a firm grip on the basics or even think of your shots in advance. Its very obvious from your pics that what you did was just point your cam, shoot and hope that you can ps any flaws.

Jay, a lot of what you said made sense - EQ wise.

I have no vested interest in Portraits and Poses because I OD-ed on it ages ago shooting 'chio ang mor' models' even before such models were widely available here. OT seems like the market's saturated but the rates the girls command sure as hell aren't competitive rates compared to the rest of the world :sweat:

What that 'one particular person', Deadpoet, since you could not bring yourself to say his name, can do for you is take you from step minus one to 8 faster than you could ever imagine, simply because he knows his stuff, and probably more than anything else, he's not afraid to be brutally honest.

If I had someone like him as my mentor when I first was a 'virgin', and if I had the balls to stick trough the pain of learning (have you heard the term 'through the fire'? or the biblical verse which talks about the fire of truth seperating gold from impurities? Research 'smelting'), I probably would have made a lot of money from photography.

It takes a big man to admit mistakes, and it takes an even bigger man to swallow his pride in order to learn, but it takes someone truly exceptional to be able to rise up above himself.

He makes a very good point here which you seem to be ignoring. :nono:

There is no point argueing, your shots ARE NOT SHARP, keep telling yourself they are and you will not improve. You are doubting my eye sight by telling me im wrong. If ud like to send me the original file, i ll happily look at it just incase its the internet file. Pm me for an email address!

Resizes should be sharper than the original anyway, unless you saved as a lower quality.

bro,

i am seriously not doubting ur eye sight. please accept my sincere apology if it give u tat feeling. i am really want to find out why and not to make the same mistake again. sent u a PM liao.

btw, here is the link to 100% crop of her face. http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2267/2127473523_0298735d44_o.jpg

thanks.

jay

bro,

thank you for your time to go through the post.

I can honestly say the shots while the intention is there, the execution is what kills it.

sorry, this 1 i dun really understand. errr.... care to engilighten me if u dun mind?

He makes a very good point here which you seem to be ignoring. :nono:

sorry if i give everyone this idea tat i am not accepting my mistakes. i acknowledged my mistake that the PP on the 1st and the last photos are too much.

jay

Wow...what an active thread !!!
I will not make any comments on the pictures, I think that is enough.
Photoshop only when there's a need, and when it will make your photo looks better.
Leave the original photo alone as much as possible.
Don't forget we are photographers not graphic artist.
We paint pictures with our camera and light, not the mouse and Photoshop :)

Photography is about the photographer. Not the subjects. Not the equipment. Ansel Adams didn't even have Photoshop! The photographer is an artist. His eye for the subject, creativity & skills make the image and not his arsenal of gear and post processing skills. You capture it good. You have a good picture. You can DI it to make it better. You capture it wrong. You had a bad picture. No matter how much you DI you still can't recover it. One thing seriously lacking here is brutal and truthful comments. Everyone wants to see sugar coated sweet comments. The TS thread is a good example of the "buddy buddy syndrome" nobody dares to point out major flaws. How is one going to improve if his/her flaws in techniques/skills are not pointed out.

Take a break from the screen and come back later to read what deadpoet has commented. While it may be brutal to you, understand it and hopefully you will know where you have missed out. Read between the lines and your HOW? question is answered. Being able to be humbled by critique is the first step in photography. If you fail at that, how to improve?

bro,

i am seriously not doubting ur eye sight. please accept my sincere apology if it give u tat feeling. i am really want to find out why and not to make the same mistake again. sent u a PM liao.

btw, here is the link to 100% crop of her face. http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2267/2127473523_0298735d44_o.jpg

thanks.

jay

Yes Jay, that is not sharp!

Please review your understanding of the term sharp.

Ansel Adams didn't even have Photoshop! The photographer is an artist. You capture it wrong. You had a bad picture.

Ansel Adams also said that there are no bad pictures... wrong person to quote to try to prove your point bro.

Photoshop only when there's a need, and when it will make your photo looks better.
Leave the original photo alone as much as possible.
Don't forget we are photographers not graphic artist.
We paint pictures with our camera and light, not the mouse and Photoshop :)

I personally second this opinion :)

Take a break from the screen and come back later to read what deadpoet has commented. While it may be brutal to you, understand it and hopefully you will know where you have missed out. Read between the lines and your HOW? question is answered. Being able to be humbled by critique is the first step in photography. If you fail at that, how to improve?

bro,

yes. i acknowledge tat dp took time and effort to comment the photos individually. but tat came only on his 3rd post.......

i am not after sugar coated comments. i am old enuff to know this world. i am always asking for most sincere comment and HOW to improve. not just "ur photos sux" and then MIA........

i dun really like PP also (read here on a lengthy discuss on this), but some say must PP. so which school should i follow?

jay

Yes Jay, that is not sharp!

Please review your understanding of the term sharp.

bro,

no doubt we discussed this in PM but can we mentioned it here for the benefit of other newbies who may be still scratching their head wat is sharp?

to me, i tot its sharp cos i can see the eyelash and the strain of stray hair and some impurities on the face clearly......

jay

bro,

no doubt we discussed this in PM but can we mentioned it here for the benefit of other newbies who may be still scratching their head wat is sharp?

to me, i tot its sharp cos i can see the eyelash and the strain of stray hair and some imperities on the face clearly......

jay

I ll upload a sharp 100% crop now.

Here is an unsharpened and unedited 100% crop.

This is my understanding of sharp.

2128624630_5dac238ed4.jpg

Here is yours

2127473523_0298735d44_o.jpg

Notice the difference?

bro,

but some say must PP. so which school should i follow?

jay
This may sound lame, but......follow your heart.
Focus on enjoying the shot, you can PP later. :)
Why bog yourself down with PP when you can spend your efford and
time on more enjoyable activities like the photography itself?

bro,

to me, i tot its sharp cos i can see the eyelash and the strain of stray hair and some impurities on the face clearly......

jay

you can see the strain of hair, and other stuff, but none of them are detailed. as for the face, you can only see blotches here and there, nothing detailed.

i would say your image is blur/OOF too.