Charlotte

It is very hard to learn and improve in a mass shoot. Do arrange for a private shoot with just one other person who is experience, that way you learn much more. For me I tend to avoid shoot with more then 3 photographers to one model. And if there are no one more experienced then me there, I will also not go. I have joined some "mass" shoot, and some of the shoot....I formated the CF card before I reach home.

For the start what Aperture did you shoot your model at? I have talk to some who insist that F2.8 is the way to go....cos they have a F2.8 lens... for some F1.2 is the only way to shoot a model (Cos they just got a 85 F1.2L).

When we shoot a model, the eyes is important. It makes the model looks dead or alive. Where is the live in your photos? There are no "catchlight" in any of the shots.

bro,

thanks for the comments.

below is another shot with only PP for some impurities on the face (as a form of respect to the model) and nothing else, not even level or contrast or curve. this will see the "catchlight" but i dun really like this is b'cos the its very clear that the rose is artificial and if u look closely, the model is wearing contact.....

2121167887_0bf001786e_o.jpg

below is actualy the actual size photo of the 1st photo. reason why i crop it 100% was becos i really like her smile in this photo. and also i noticed this full size photo are quite blown on a few areas.

2114901519_05c9c645bc_o.jpg

as for the aperture used, i think i leave it there cos someone experienced share with us which aperture to use. i am not gonna start a war on f1.4 is better than f8.....

jay the newbie

i'm one of the mod inside. :)

like the example u quoted, there are also ppl who just tell u straight your vtec needs jun cams if not don't bother. then i guess u have to review what did he meant by that. dig further and go into the deeper meaning. u will learn more.

bro,

hmmm..... 1 of the mod? i know vtecian dun play camera. so is chase. tat means u r either funksobro or honda_primo. tio bor? cos i think only these few still mod there, the rest gone liao.

yah, i get wat u mean. for us, of cos we know the different between a jun cam and hondata cam.

but if there is a new chap who just own a 1.8 civic as his 1st car and when he ask can he throw in a jun cam in his engine and he kana mock at, how do u think he will feel? do u think he has the ability to access why cannot when this is his 1st car?

i mean we been through that, we need experts to tell us tat there is no jun cam for 1-leg engine etc. thats how we learn. not just tell him off dun waste $$$ on his car.

anyway, i get ur point and think we should keep the car stuffs to be discuss in SHC. ;p

jay the killer

vtecian got dslr lor. u nvr see him shoot before only. the mods are still around. we just undercover.

anyway, shoot more! cheer up. u can join me for outdoor shoots if u want.

bro,

hmmm..... 1 of the mod? i know vtecian dun play camera. so is chase. tat means u r either funksobro or honda_primo. tio bor? cos i think only these few still mod there, the rest gone liao.

yah, i get wat u mean. for us, of cos we know the different between a jun cam and hondata cam.

but if there is a new chap who just own a 1.8 civic as his 1st car and when he ask can he throw in a jun cam in his engine and he kana mock at, how do u think he will feel? do u think he has the ability to access why cannot when this is his 1st car?

i mean we been through that, we need experts to tell us tat there is no jun cam for 1-leg engine etc. thats how we learn. not just tell him off dun waste $$$ on his car.

anyway, i get ur point and think we should keep the car stuffs to be discuss in SHC. ;p

jay the killer

vtecian got dslr lor. u nvr see him shoot before only. the mods are still around. we just undercover.

anyway, shoot more! cheer up. u can join me for outdoor shoots if u want.

he got time to shoot meh? he dun even have time to have dinner. hahahahhaah

ok, u should have my number, gimme a call if u have outdoor shoots. :) u have tell me who r u leh....

The proud Mexican girl....

2115681628_95acaa48af_o.jpg

And lastly, the angelic Mexican girl..... using same difused glow technique as the 1st pic, the over exposed is on purposed

This one has got a nice edgy feel to it. Do you have something where she is looking straight instead?

Personally i feel that the lighting for this shot is a tad overpowered too. And with alittle more headroom it'd be wonderful

I like ur works dude. It is common to get slammed if u r new. Kind of depressing but you will get used to it. Than from there learn and become better... must be positive ,ok?

bro,

thanks for the encouragment, sorry i overlook ur posting until now.

jay the newbie

This one has got a nice edgy feel to it. Do you have something where she is looking straight instead?

Personally i feel that the lighting for this shot is a tad overpowered too. And with alittle more headroom it'd be wonderful

bro,

thanks.

yes, i do have 1 that she looking straight, but its quite badly composed. so din put it up also. then the rest are actually symetrical....

jay the newbie

Looked like an desperate attempt to save a badly exposed picture. Well, why really does nto matter. However, the shadow on the cheek looks really weird, the colors are all off, looks like the result of some serious adjustment of levels/curves.

What is that patch right in front of her ear? Appears to be a botched DI job, a failed attempt to DI out hair?

The DI on the face is way over done. Defuse glow, inversed defused glow, or whatever, it does not matter. The end result is not pleasing.

The eyes lack life. The eyes are the window to the soul. They give life to the image. They are dead in this image.

Did you try to shave her eyebrow in photoshop?

Necklace is distracting. The lack of detail in the hair is distracting. The thumb poking her eye is distracting, and added unnecessary shadow to her eye.

This is a total mess. The hair styling, the necklace, a total mess on her back. The eye shadow is way too heavy handed. The lighting on her head, all over the map, just another mess.

Nothing really wrong with this picture, it is just unflattering to the model. Her face looks long as a horse, her arm looks chubby, her eyes lack life, and you amputated her hands!

The pose is very unflattering. Her legs look like a tree trunk. Not fat, not big, just lack grace.

The lighting is flat and uneven.

Do you want shadow or not? Make up your mind. Right now, there is a faint shadow, and that cries "carelessness".

Again, learn what not to do in DI. The DI is way over the board. Do less, master simple techniques, learn the basic. Do those well before you start clicking randomly to see if you got somthing presentable.

Look at magazines, look at other photographers' work, shoot more, when there is an one liner comment, it generally means your picture CMI.

Hmm.. nice pictures there.

I like the styling and the feel of the pictures are pretty good.:)

Dont feel bad about the negative comments, we are all here to learn. Although I think that some senior member here uses some very different yardstick and adopt very different attitude which varies from person to person. I feel that new posters seem to receive less friendly treatment in general when posting pictures..

Look at magazines, look at other photographers' work, shoot more, when there is an one liner comment, it generally means your picture CMI.

ok. thanks for ur comment, at least there are some constructive comments. all these photos only did level, crop and clone stamp (on the complexion). only the 2 are with extra glow effect. beside that ABSOLUTELY nothing else.

i will take note of all ur comments in future if I have a model, a MUA and a studio entirely to myself which i can control everything.

btw, i tot in ur 1st posting, u mentioned my photos are OOF and blur? i dun see those comments in this post?

below is quoted from http://forums.clubsnap.org/showpost.php?p=3635001&postcount=13

yes, its my 1st studio portrait. in fact, its also my 1st actual portrait (except those tat i took for my friends and family with the V-sign).

below is quoted from http://forums.clubsnap.org/showpost.php?p=3634984&postcount=10

unfortunately, there are about 8 photographers in the studio and i do not have the luxury of having the model to myself and telling the model wat to do, so i have to make do with wat i am given....

also look at this post that i mentioned the close-up is actually a 100% crop of a bigger pic for the 1st pic. http://forums.clubsnap.org/showpost.php?p=3635675&postcount=21

and YES, the bigger picture is worst cos of all the "hot areas". so i crop it b'cos i like the smile. and u know wat will happened if u crop 100% of a picture. and please take a look at the exif, wat lens i am using? with those gear and with a 100% crop, yes it will be suicidal. so i added effect to it.

to you, i may be defending myself or finding excuse for myself. but i was just wondering ppl with ur calibre and experiences can have such sarcastic remarks for someone on his virgin studio portraits without finding out more just say so much about ur personality & character.......

i may have failed entirely on my photos and PP, but i think i can hold my head up high cos i have NEVER done anythings u are doing in another few forums which lots of ppl know me......

with that, period.

Hmm.. nice pictures there.

I like the styling and the feel of the pictures are pretty good.:)

Dont feel bad about the negative comments, we are all here to learn. Although I think that some senior member here uses some very different yardstick and adopt very different attitude which varies from person to person. I feel that new posters seem to receive less friendly treatment in general when posting pictures..

bro,

glad tat u like them and thanks for the encouragement.

jay the newbie

My very personal opinion... Not against either the model nor yourself a a photographer... since we all started learning from somewhere...

I must agree with Deadpoet, that the images are "out-of-focus" however i have my own comments on this...

If you're an experienced DI artist and you know what i'm refering to.. i'd consider you duplicate a secondary layer and apply your "duffuseglow" and or any other blurs ( smart, grs etc ) and then work backwards on what you want to erase to bring back some detail.. especially into the eyes since that's normally where i start in all my portrait works.

Eyes dont have to be "SHARP" but at least let it be a focus point.. there's a difference between sharpness and focus...

Again, nothing personal.. it's just the way i retouch my portraits.... also... if you can take (and absorb) critical comments from the very many good portraitists here... i'd say that already deserves some credit...

Rgds, Ejun:thumbsup:

are u telling me ALL my photos are OOF and blur? if yes, then either i should throw my camera or my pc....

anyway, here is the original photos with NO PP except resizing. does it still look OOF or blur?

sorry to say this but u may have near to 3k of posting doesn't mean u r right or does it give u the authority to tell people off like that. and how sure are u when u made tat sentence that "watever technique is irrevant"? issit really watever technique is really irrelavant?

btw, do u know wat is diffused glow and invert diffused glow?

IMG_3080a1.jpg

yes, i did ask for C&C to improve but are u giving constructive C&C? u just shoot for the sake of shooting. it is as good as telling someone "your photos sucks" and then period.

Still looks blur, listen to DP, hes good with these sorts of things.

The pics are bad, and yeah, giving me a headache too, sorry dude, maybe listen to what the other have said and try again.

If its some PP glow, then get rid of it, cos it looks awful.

Dont throw away your camera or computer, just learn how to use them properly.

ok. thanks for ur comment, at least there are some constructive comments. all these photos only did level, crop and clone stamp (on the complexion). only the 2 are with extra glow effect. beside that ABSOLUTELY nothing else.

to you, i may be defending myself or finding excuse for myself. but i was just wondering ppl with ur calibre and experiences can have such sarcastic remarks for someone on his virgin studio portraits without finding out more just say so much about ur personality & character.......

i may have failed entirely on my photos and PP, but i think i can hold my head up high cos i have NEVER done anythings u are doing in another few forums which lots of ppl know me......

with that, period.

I am not sarcastic. I am just being very honest with my comments. If they suck, I say so, I do not sugar coat my comments.

Really, I don't care if the pictures are from your first or 100 shoots. If they are bad, what else should I and could I say?

Beside, my personality really does not matter here. Even if my personality sucks, that does not make the pictures in question any better, and even if I sugar coated my comments, the picture quality remains the same.

What you do in other forums are equally irreverent. You seemed to like to hide behind irreverent arguments and facts.

At the end of the day, it's your choice. Shoot a lot, pay attention to comments, learn and try to improve. But I have a feeling you will only want positive or sugar coated comments, live in a politically correct word, basking in your own self deluded glory, and be happy. That sounds good, if that makes you happy. But that usually means picture will suck.

If you were looking for the words - NICE PICS. Dream on. Everyone has their personal opinion. Everyone has spent time to critique your images but you chose to see it as them shooting you down.

Personally, I feel the images suck. No amount of DI will make it better.

well...
since the photos are put up for people to comments, when people are expressing their views..
just have to accept it....

My very personal opinion... Not against either the model nor yourself a a photographer... since we all started learning from somewhere...

I must agree with Deadpoet, that the images are "out-of-focus" however i have my own comments on this...

If you're an experienced DI artist and you know what i'm refering to.. i'd consider you duplicate a secondary layer and apply your "duffuseglow" and or any other blurs ( smart, grs etc ) and then work backwards on what you want to erase to bring back some detail.. especially into the eyes since that's normally where i start in all my portrait works.

Eyes dont have to be "SHARP" but at least let it be a focus point.. there's a difference between sharpness and focus...

Again, nothing personal.. it's just the way i retouch my portraits.... also... if you can take (and absorb) critical comments from the very many good portraitists here... i'd say that already deserves some credit...

Rgds, Ejun:thumbsup:

bro,

thanks for sharing. i will take ur method as reference next time.

dun worry, i can accept u style of comments cos u not only give comments, u sharing how u would do it ur way.

jay the killer

Still looks blur, listen to DP, hes good with these sorts of things.

The pics are bad, and yeah, giving me a headache too, sorry dude, maybe listen to what the other have said and try again.

If its some PP glow, then get rid of it, cos it looks awful.

Dont throw away your camera or computer, just learn how to use them properly.

bro,

thanks for the time and effort. errr.... this is the original photo with no PP, only resize.......

i double check my original size photo, sharp leh....... sorry, i am not doubting ur eye sight but trying to find out why nia....

but i dun think it matter any more.

thanks anyway.

jay the killer

If you were looking for the words - NICE PICS. Dream on. Everyone has their personal opinion. Everyone has spent time to critique your images but you chose to see it as them shooting you down.

Personally, I feel the images suck. No amount of DI will make it better.

bro klose,

i've seen ur comments on others and i can accept ur stye of comments.

i am not looke for the words "nice shots", if i want those, i just need to show to any non photography-hobbist (or professional) or ah gong & ah ma and those words will come out.

i really appreciate the constructive comments and time. and i am not against everyone and see them as shooting me down. i am just not happy with 1 particular person with his style of comments.

jay the killer

bro klose,

i've seen ur comments on others and i can accept ur stye of comments.

i am not looke for the words "nice shots", if i want those, i just need to show to any non photography-hobbist (or professional) or ah gong & ah ma and those words will come out.

i really appreciate the constructive comments and time. and i am not against everyone and see them as shooting me down. i am just not happy with 1 particular person with his style of comments.
jay the killer

Jay, a lot of what you said made sense - EQ wise.

I have no vested interest in Portraits and Poses because I OD-ed on it ages ago shooting 'chio ang mor' models' even before such models were widely available here.

What that 'one particular person', Deadpoet, since you could not bring yourself to say his name, can do for you is take you from step minus one to 8 faster than you could ever imagine, simply because he knows his stuff, and probably more than anything else, he's not afraid to be brutally honest.

If I had someone like him as my mentor when I first was a 'virgin', and if I had the balls to stick trough the pain of learning (have you heard the term 'through the fire'? or the biblical verse which talks about the fire of truth seperating gold from impurities? Research 'smelting'), I probably would have made a lot of money from photography.

It takes a big man to admit mistakes, and it takes an even bigger man to swallow his pride in order to learn, but it takes someone truly exceptional to be able to rise up above himself.