Canon Photo Marathon 2008 Review

o soothing services for those who have bruised egos from critiques and competitions. :devil:

Got offer package rates for folks in P&P as well or not? :bsmilie:

Also mus offer SERIAL diskoun! :devil:

Why foreigns can join.... don't they have it in their country already? PR can join? When it was a local competition years ago. Fine.
Now that is stretch to some asian countries....

I saw some Top Guns from National Geographic, Newsweek, Time and CNN flying in from New York to Singapore to shoot our Canon Photo Marathon.

This is very unfair to the newbies with P&S like us.

This is the competition for the heartlanders, true believers and Singapore tax payers mah.

:bsmilie: :bsmilie:

I complain my brain did not work hard enough to come up with good pictures to win, posed or non...:angry:

Oh I forgot...it's damaged oredy.:what:

Seriously, competition is good, by all means.:thumbsup:
The judging is so...up to the judge with all his might.:thumbsup:

i find the post above yours all the way up a few totally irrelevant already...

i guess some people shouldn't ever go join any competition cos they can't take failure... and they only love to hear nice things...

i think i should start a company to provide ego soothing services for those who have bruised egos from critiques and competitions. :devil:

When people complain, you assume everybody cannot take failure, love to hear nice things, ego bruised. That's not the case. Is this how a moderator (or maybe you are one of the judges, since you defend the marathon so eagerly here?) should deal with things? Do you try to understand the root of the problem? The topic is a good thing to bring up. People make noise for a variety of purposes. It is a fact that there is a problem here. When people bring this up, you shut people down with your three assumptions - is that how a veteran CSer should behave? If next time you become a director of your company and some employees complain, you say the same thing lor, go ahead and tell them "you cannot take pressure, you are whining, etc." and see how lor. If one day you go to an MP to complain things and he/she replies using your three assumptions without wanting to look into the matter, how would you feel?

Anyway, the TS is not even aiming at you. You say these 风凉话 for what? He is only bringing up what he buay song about the competition, not even pointing at you or the winners! I don't know why you react so violently (unless you are one of the organizers or judges). OK, I'll stop here. I don't even want to argue with you. Like you said, we have the rights to post, you have the authority to close. 老百姓跟官斗包输的。

When people complain, you assume everybody cannot take failure, love to hear nice things, ego bruised. That's not the case. Is this how a moderator (or maybe you are one of the judges, since you defend the marathon so eagerly here?) should deal with things? Do you try to understand the root of the problem? The topic is a good thing to bring up. People make noise for a variety of purposes. It is a fact that there is a problem here. When people bring this up, you shut people down with your three assumptions - is that how a veteran CSer should behave? If next time you become a director of your company and some employees complain, you say the same thing lor, go ahead and tell them "you cannot take pressure, you are whining, etc." and see how lor. If one day you go to an MP to complain things and he/she replies using your three assumptions without wanting to look into the matter, how would you feel?

Anyway, the TS is not even aiming at you. You say these 风凉话 for what? He is only bringing up what he buay song about the competition, not even pointing at you or the winners! I don't know why you react so violently (unless you are one of the organizers or judges). OK, I'll stop here. I don't even want to argue with you. Like you said, we have the rights to post, you have the authority to close. 老百姓跟官斗包输的。

I was about to say the same thing, but my "England" is not as "powerderful" as yours.

I add one more point : by saying "i find the post above yours all the way up a few totally irrelevant already..." is already an irrelevant statement to this thread already.

so whats the problem with mod again?

u seem to like to invoke people into mod bash, thanks again, if you can't read objectively, then what i write will not be objective to you since you keep thinking whatever i write is putting them down... i've written my point, but if you choose to read otherwise so be it.

my later statements is direct relations to the banal talk that seems like most of you are in fact ego bruised for not able to win anything... the suggestions you guys give, seriously... go read it yourselves again...

so a mod cannot give his 2 cents, so a mod should do what? be your puppet? you have got the rights to speak up, i think i do have equal rights to speak too...

dun keep reinforcing to everyone to go against the mods, this is my last warning to you.

I add one more point : by saying "i find the post above yours all the way up a few totally irrelevant already..." is already an irrelevant statement to this thread already.

It is not irrelevant to relevantly point out when you question the relevancy of a relevant person saying the posts are totally irrelevant, partially irrelevant or superficially irrelevant as it all depends on the relevancy of the day and irrelevancy of the posts.

I hope I make myself relevantly clear. :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

It is not irrelevant to relevantly point out when you question the relevancy of a relevant person saying the posts are totally irrelevant, partially irrelevant or superficially irrelevant as it all depends on the relevancy of the day and irrelevancy of the posts.

I hope I make myself relevantly clear. :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

Very chim:kok:

U echoed my feeling but hey guys, dun need to go into a bashing session. But really, if there are so many arguments in one competition, there could be some truth. But let's put it this way, it was not targetted at anyone but the way competition was judged. Too much subjectivity. Usually if u go to a competition sometimes, u can tell who's the winner but really the winning pictures in this comp are ......overly subjective. It is not a matter of jealousy or what. An acid test would be to put up in a forum and put the theme title. From the response, u can tell a lot of stories.

yes, i am the luckier one who shot those who so call the Aunty. And i believe that the judges chosen mine over one of your group, there must be some reasons be it their personal preference or others etc....if u want to know, maybe u can try to contact them to ease your curiosity. I will respect the judges' decision even if my shot was not selected.

I thought that is your mum? I respect judges decision too.

Oh, so you have "insider"? Why morale drop? Cos you find that you lesser chance to be a winner? That why some said it all about mindset when u out to shoot for this kind of event? Just to WIN or really go to have FUN? Or learn from others? TO know more same fanatics??? Ask yourself.

No, I feel waste of time to stay all the way as no other photos to view and I will not have the chance to see the best of all...(street photography) thru top 40 selected...heard that no photo being shown on the wall for the top 40 selected on 2nd & 3rd theme right?

To me, whenever i am not comfortable with any photography contest then I WUN JOIN.

I join for fun/gathering as well as the cheap and nice t-shirt.

And for this contest, there are not specific of ways of shooting style. It just up to individual to interpret it after getting the "theme" and the rest will depend on the judges liao.

I do agree on that.

I think that the Prawn one is kind of interesting with his idea. That why he is the winner be it was a studio shot or not. Even given some have that idea, can they execute the same results?

If every contestant have a decent studio, why not?

I believe there are many also go around and look for the "best" shots of their too. And asking too, that's the reason why all of us were so tired that day.

Not Sour Grape!

Just to voice the displeasure on the way this competition was runned.

I really don't understand why it can't be improve.

It has to be more TRANSPARENT.

IT HAS TO BE IMPROVE before next year's competition.

Their rules are Rubber.... First, they reopen the registration on the spot.
Second, they extend all the submission time.
Third, they allow contestant posing as subject for the photograph.
Fourth, Staging a scene and taking the shot is definetly kelong. "Fixed" photo

Not Sour Grape!

Just to voice the displeasure on the way this competition was runned.

I really don't understand why it can't be improve.

It has to be more TRANSPARENT.

IT HAS TO BE IMPROVE before next year's competition.

I agree, lots of areas to improve on. Maybe we can focus on that instead of bashing each other's heads.

Their rules are Rubber.... First, they reopen the registration on the spot.
Second, they extend all the submission time.
Third, they allow contestant posing as subject for the photograph.
Fourth, Staging a scene and taking the shot is definetly kelong. "Fixed" photo

The extensions were really annoying.

Also, please don't put a DJ speaking Chinese all though out as not everybody understands Chinese. I just went to sleep that time.

I don't mind staging a scene.. but at least, do it properly as not to look too "staged". :)

Oh my.

He's furious.

Anyway, Thank God I switch to NIKON system.

I am calm and steady. I even left before the results were announced.

Anyway, Good Luck to the contestants of Next Year Canon PhotoMARAGONE.

Mister...
since you already change to Nikon,
how about you give the competition idea to Nikon,
so they can organize one as well...
then it will be good...

2 competition every year...
canon photo marathon and nikon photo 100m dash!
2 nice t-shirt for 10 dolleh every year!
i'll promise i'll join both :) :) :)

I'm glad i'm not the only one who feels this way ;(

Some of the 'winning' photos of the student catergory, with all honesty, sucked imho
I fell that these were hundreds of 'better' photographs that deserved to win over those selected ones! :dunno: Doesn't really inspire me to join next year...

P.S- Before someone accuses me of having a 'bruised ego', i joined the competition without the intention of winning :sweatsm:.

i gotta agree.. the constant time extensions were damn irritating.. i was so fed up, i left after submitting the 2nd theme, didn't want to end up staying until late in the evening, way past the expected 6pm cut off time.. i feel they should have just continued with the 2nd theme and whoever came back late just have less time for the next theme.. if not extend extend, then the pple who make it a point to come back in time are punished by those who were late.. i;m sure they can think of a mechanism to ensure pple submit 1 theme before going for the next.. rather than make 1100 pple wait, for 100 pple who were late..

Mister...
since you already change to Nikon,
how about you give the competition idea to Nikon,
so they can organize one as well...
then it will be good...

2 competition every year...
canon photo marathon and nikon photo 100m dash!
2 nice t-shirt for 10 dolleh every year!
i'll promise i'll join both :) :) :)

Best is having Canon Photo Marathon and Nikon Photo Marathon in the same day so that we can kill two birds with one stone. :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

i gotta agree.. the constant time extensions were damn irritating.. i was so fed up, i left after submitting the 2nd theme, didn't want to end up staying until late in the evening, way past the expected 6pm cut off time.. i feel they should have just continued with the 2nd theme and whoever came back late just have less time for the next theme.. if not extend extend, then the pple who make it a point to come back in time are punished by those who were late.. i;m sure they can think of a mechanism to ensure pple submit 1 theme before going for the next.. rather than make 1100 pple wait, for 100 pple who were late..

hmm..yea agreed on dat :think:
At least you were wise enough to leave after the 2nd theme! :thumbsup: