Canon Malaysia reduced its RRP, prices for lens & bodies are dirt cheap now in MY!

I see I see. Thanks for explaining :)

Btw, is there any website i can check the age or the location of the lens manufacturing country from using the serial number of the lens?

The country of manufacture would be printed on the lens itself.

The serial number does not show any info about the lens.

Only Canon L lens have a lens code which show the factory and date of manufacture.

Read more on the lens code on L lenses at http://www.the-digital-picture.com/canon-lenses/canon-lens-aging.aspx

just got a quote from the link Ts provided on his first post. they are getting real close to HK price already.

rm4280 for 35mm1.4
rm6800 for 5Dmark II

If 35mm1.4 is at that price. It seems like a great buy. My friend called Mee Too today. He was quoted around 4480. Now even HKG price seems to be going up starting wef April.

Malaysia seems like a better buy. May I know where can i get the 35mm1.4 at 4280? I don't think i saw it on the website. Care to direct me there, like which shop?

If 35mm1.4 is at that price. It seems like a great buy. My friend called Mee Too today. He was quoted around 4480. Now even HKG price seems to be going up starting wef April.

Malaysia seems like a better buy. May I know where can i get the 35mm1.4 at 4280? I don't think i saw it on the website. Care to direct me there, like which shop?

If you read again, I think he did mention that it's in the link in the first post.

Mates, quick question? definitely when you buy the lenses there, warranty will be under Canon Malaysia... just in case there will be issues, is there a CSC in JB?

Bro you should just look through the thread again.

It has already been mentioned twice in the thread. go to the previous page and you will see the address in JB :)

is it worth it to go for 600D kit I in Malaysia?

My personal rule of thumb, if savings not substantial, then buy locally will be better.

Unless you want to add a couple of lenses, then maybe can consider. Just the 600D kit 1 then don't bother lah....

yes deathegg got it. :) follow the TS first post :) but the shop is further up north in KL if i rmbr correctly

thank you.
If you read again, I think he did mention that it's in the link in the first post.

so many changes in the past few days for me .. i have decided to move away from DSLR for now.. going to try out something else.. sorry to those guys that i said i would be meeting up tgt to get the lenses in mysia. i got to pass the great chance. hope u guys get good quotes for ur lenses in mysia :)

It's going to be reading a whole long list of msg board on those links. So for now, i think HKG prices rise due to speculation stock is low, MY seems like a better bet to get our gears if CSC pricing remains the same.

Only Canon L lens have a lens code which show the factory and date of manufacture.

There are some non-L lenses with lens code too.

Hmmm, I'm headed up to Penang in June. Interesting. Maybe I should go look and see if there are any nice bargains to be had :D

Do up a "to buy list" and get everything there. Don't miss the chance.

If I am not wrong, Penang should have the lowest price for Canon gears in the WORLD as of today. Check through all other websites that sell Canon gear and you will notice it. Save up more $$.....you can even change your whole system there :bsmilie:

Got 5Dm2 quoted by Johan Photo at 7100MYR, not so big difference compared with local set.

Not all is cheap...

Got quote for 24-70 f/2.8L USM for 4800RM which isnt that cheap..

I understand the 15-85 there is cheaper by roughly $300SGD..

Not all is cheap...

Got quote for 24-70 f/2.8L USM for 4800RM which isnt that cheap..

I understand the 15-85 there is cheaper by roughly $300SGD..

Do you know the cost of the 24-70 L in local shops? Even at RM$4800, it is already close to $200 cheaper with 2 years Canon warranty........not grey set. Then what will be considered cheap?? :dunno:

FYI, when you go down personally still can bargain a bit, so it should be less than that.

Do you know the cost of the 24-70 L in local shops? Even at RM$4800, it is already close to $200 cheaper with 2 years Canon warranty........not grey set. Then what will be considered cheap?? :dunno:

FYI, when you go down personally still can bargain a bit, so it should be less than that.

On Amazon, this lens goes for $1399usd (which is quite exp already since sometimes i see it goes for $12xx). After adding shipping and GST, it works out to be SGD$19xx. A little cheaper than the RM4800, but with no local warranty which I think is "OK".
All the transaction can be done with a few clicks online, don't need to drive all the way down to Malaysia (a big plus, imo). :)

On Amazon, this lens goes for $1399usd (which is quite exp already since sometimes i see it goes for $12xx). After adding shipping and GST, it works out to be SGD$19xx. A little cheaper than the RM4800, but with no local warranty which I think is "OK".
All the transaction can be done with a few clicks online, don't need to drive all the way down to Malaysia (a big plus, imo). :)

I think the person who mentioned that "it's not cheap" won't settle for this deal at all...becos no warranty.......so not worth it mah...........:bsmilie:

Not really..Just got quote for same lens local set for $2150..

RM$4800 works out to $2004 going by Mustafa current exchange rate.

i think CIMB credit card users can get pretty good rebates for purchases from m'sia. worth checking out :)

Not really..Just got quote for same lens local set for $2150..

RM$4800 works out to $2004 going by Mustafa current exchange rate.

Nego skill plays a part in final price..........;p

Not forgetting an additional 9 months of warranty. So it is close to $200 savings, like I mention. Just to check, what will be considered a cheap price? :think:

Anyway, I think different people different circumstance lah, for me, going in to JB is so convenient because I normally drive in during non peak hours on weekdays. So for me, it is a no brainer to get what I need there. For many here, it may not be so convenient....if that's the case, then just buy here in Singapore lor, then dun need to calculate this calculate that liao. :)