camera shops u will or will not go

Hi five, will never go there too. The guy smoke his cigerette fumes into my face when i was talking to him regarding tripods. Its like you owe them something, with their lousy attitude.

GMAN

this is really too much.......

there is a salesman there which i personally dont feel like talking to him at all. i not sure if we are talking about the same guy but i think is the younger chap. the way he handling on end user sales machiam he is the customer like tat. so when ever he is there i will turn to the older person for help.

I go MS Color, but I deal with Florence only.

Yes, the rest of the staff are okay, but got one fella a bit of attitude. They've cheesed me off once or twice in the past, but that was when I wasn't dealing with Florence. Other than that, my experience there has been good and I will continue to go there go get my gear.

John 3:16? Yes, they are very friendly, but they don't seem to care much for Sony Alpha (or anything else other than Nikon?). And also due to other personal reasons, lah.

I won't step into Alan Photo, but there are some of my friends who insist they're a great shop to go to.

I've also heard good things about PariSilk, TK Photo, Lord's, but I don't have any experience with them personally. Basically, if one bothers to do a bit of homework, they'd discover that these are about the only good shops that exist in S'pore. Maybe can include Harvey Norman or Courts when they are having promo. CS has been around for years, and in the internet age, there is simply no reason why, especially a local, should get conned in S'pore. If you buy from a shop in Lucky Plaza, found out that you got conned, then come to CS and complain, then I say that you really had it coming.

Will go: AP Funan, OP

Will not go: J3:16, CP

AP coz normally they are the cheapest around, OP coz they are friendly and knowledgable and stock up on a lot of stuff you can't find else where.

CP has the most stuck up sales ppl I've met in any shop. Marina and Peninsula branch are equally bad.

J3:16 are just overly friendly, I don't like the way they let any tom dick and harry play with their lenses eventhough they have no intention to buy either. I can imagine why every student loves the shop. They go in, try out 10 different lenses and finally buy a 50mm f1.8. Not only that, if you are not satisfied just come back within a week and they'll let you exchange your lens for something else. What happens to the returned lens? They'll sell it to someone else.

In that case, you missed out on one of the good value for money shop in North.

../azul123
Maybe next time when you receive such service, you will feel how i felt. I don't need to save a few dollars for lousy service that ruins my day. I'm not somekind of El Cheapo.

GMAN

Will go: AP Funan, OP

Will not go: J3:16, CP

AP coz normally they are the cheapest around, OP coz they are friendly and knowledgable and stock up on a lot of stuff you can't find else where.

CP has the most stuck up sales ppl I've met in any shop. Marina and Peninsula branch are equally bad.

J3:16 are just overly friendly, I don't like the way they let any tom dick and harry play with their lenses eventhough they have no intention to buy either. I can imagine why every student loves the shop. They go in, try out 10 different lenses and finally buy a 50mm f1.8. Not only that, if you are not satisfied just come back within a week and they'll let you exchange your lens for something else. What happens to the returned lens? They'll sell it to someone else.
Well, if you know them personally, you don't have to buy the display sets from them.

GMAN

this is really too much.......

there is a salesman there which i personally dont feel like talking to him at all. i not sure if we are talking about the same guy but i think is the younger chap. the way he handling on end user sales machiam he is the customer like tat. so when ever he is there i will turn to the older person for help.
I guess it was another guy. A little big sized? Anyway, i told the Boss of about the issue. He apologized, and i've never went back there.

GMAN

I bought my stuff from CP (Peninsula), MS Colour..
Will not go AP, I rather pay a little bit more for service...

But recently, my friend bought her first DSLR from CP (Marina)... the uncle there tried to convince her to buy Sensor cleaning kit :angry:

I bought my stuff from CP (Peninsula), MS Colour..
Will not go AP, I rather pay a little bit more for service...

But recently, my friend bought her first DSLR from CP (Marina)... the uncle there tried to convince her to buy Sensor cleaning kit :angry:
Marina, people a little crazy type. You got to know what you want. Otherwise you'll lose.

GMAN

did you talk to Florence regarding the issue? i am sure she will give you the freebies once a tele quote was disclose to the customer. From a company which is highly reputable i am sure that small cost for the extra freebies is absorable.

I also have very bad exp from the shop too. I call up once to them to ask for the nikon f1.4g price when it was out. Then told me the price over the phone and I went down straight. Later at the shop they said they quoted me without gst. How can a shop quote a customer without gst? This is ridiculous will not wanna get from them again. Cheated my time to travel there.

Maybe next time when you receive such service, you will feel how i felt. I don't need to save a few dollars for lousy service that ruins my day. I'm not somekind of El Cheapo.

GMAN
It is your choice, sometimes it is not about price alone... what happens if you really want to get something and only MS has it? nothing to do with being cheap for this case..

Never say never... that is my attitude. But that is your choice.

../azul123

Will not go to Parisilk - almost conned once.

Will not go to AP (Funan) - kena conned once.

Almost all shops in Sim Lim and Lucky Plaza (except for OP in Sim Lim)

John 316: too crowded and chaotic. 2 Bad service experience from them

Like going to CP (PP) - the sales people more professional and explain well on the products.
Like MS color (not the AMK hub one...but blk 711??) Lady Boss is nice.
Like TK Foto - good patient service.

Will go: CP, MS, Ruby, John 3:16.
Will not go: The rest.

Since all the shops have been said i will now comment on Harvey Norman!

Will go: Harvey Norman Funan. Friendly and patient staff and will give lots of freebies. Also know their stuff and will recommend to you better deals or gadgets to suit your needs

Will not go!: Harvey Norman Jurong Point. Staff all bo chap, don't seem to know anything, always give attitude and even quote items higher!! I asked about filters and they showed me some unknown brand and quoted me $50+ then i went downstairs to challenger and found the same filter at only 30 bucks!

In that case, you missed out on a good shop on ground floor, LORDS.

../azul123

Ok Lords seems like a decent shop as well, will look out for it next time, thanks

Will go: CP @ Peninsula
Will never go: Any Alan Photo

pls dont comment on others comments. going to the shop on different time as well as served by different sales peroson, or just so happen today this guys service is good, the next day is bad.

ur experience can be the opposite of what another person had. ur expectation is very different from another person.

just put down what u think can liao, dont have to force your thought down others throt.

Except for my camera, I got all my stuff from Mass Order and B&S. Of cos must do intensive research and price comparisons first before placing orders. No need to talk so much, no need to endure attitude salesman, just test, pay and bye bye. So far everything bery good. Sorry OT a bit :sweat:

I WILL NEVER NEVER GO TO BALLY PHOTO.

went in to buy a canon 50mm f1.8 lens for $126 and was conned into buying a Vitacon 52mm UV filter for $30!!! I think a new one costs only $10-$15???

The old uncle will show you the price of a HOYA filter ($69.50) and say can sell you one for $35.90 and then drop to $30. I knew something was wrong (and I'm stupid) but he will pressure you. Then he tried to sell me a wide adapter at $180 but by then I knew I was conned and didn't buy anything more.

Anyhow the story is buy what you need. Don't let them sell you anything else then you intended to buy. Sic place.:angry::angry::angry::angry:

Since all the shops have been said i will now comment on Harvey Norman!

Will go: Harvey Norman Funan. Friendly and patient staff and will give lots of freebies. Also know their stuff and will recommend to you better deals or gadgets to suit your needs

Will not go!: Harvey Norman Jurong Point. Staff all bo chap, don't seem to know anything, always give attitude and even quote items higher!! I asked about filters and they showed me some unknown brand and quoted me $50+ then i went downstairs to challenger and found the same filter at only 30 bucks!

Ya ya ya...once I was keen on the D90 and asked to take a look. The salesperson behind the counter replied "Sorry, no more display set, we have only one and cannot test one". Then he stare at me blankly... "fantastic" sales technique...

Maybe I considering D300 too leh? Their passiveness must have cost them alot.

care to share your preferences or experiences with us about the camera shops you have went to?

WILL GO :thumbsup:
John 3:16 at Funan
the service is good, the staff are knowledgeable to answer my enquiries and recommend me good equipments and accessories to suit my needs.
the price are pretty good too. :D

WILL NOT GO :thumbsd:
Bally Photo at Funan
it's my personal experience, i think they are kinda rude.
they will anyhow recommend things which you don't know how to use and psyco you to buy it and the price are usually MUCH MORE HIGHER than other shops. :angry:

for newbies, do more research and survey before buying or you might regret.

Yup Bally takes the cake. I know they are one of the shops that sell these gimmicky wide-angle-cum macro converters... exorbitantly... ranging from $500 to $2000. madness.