Camera for sunrise video

Jonny Snap

Jul 14, 2019
Hello!

Beginner here and I'm looking to purchase my first camera for both video & photo documenting. One of the upcoming film scenes I really want to capture is a sunrise on Mount Batur, and of course there are moving subjects that I'd like to also focus on.

My current findings led me to hover between Sony a6400 and Cannon M50 for their fast auto focus and face tracking.

Some questions for the experts are:
  1. I'm leaning more towards Sony a6400, what do you think? Or would you recommend another brand/model that I've not mentioned

2. I'm really lost the the lenses. I'm thinking of a wide angle lens and a general purpose lens since most of the shots & videos would a landscape scenes and general portraits. What kind of lens would I need?

3. I'm still not really sure what speed boosters are yet, but would I need one?
I'm still finding my directions so please pardon my newb questions, many thanks in advance :)

1. I don't do much video, but have read that most cameras do video quite well nowadays. Generally both Sony and Canon have more video centric features, however other brands are also fast catching up. If you have specific requirements, do share so that video pros here can better direct you.

2. Lenses wise, both Sony and Canon have their kit lenses which are satisfactory. Both also have their ultra-wide angle covered with Sony 10-18mm and Canon 11-22mm lenses. Can use the kit lenses for portraits as a start, or get a budget roughly 50mm prime lens for that, Sony has their 50mm f1.8, while Canon don't have a native mount one, can get an adapter and consider the EF 50mm f1.8 STM