Buy and Sell forum: is it allowed for ppl to pull a fast one?

TsQ

I been monitoring the BNS forum (canon one in particular) and I suspect some ppl are doing this: (example)

1) buy a DLSR kit say for $800 (quietly)
2) few days later continuously post a few for sale for $880 and then replied SOLD

(this will drive up the mkt price as buyers will hv impression that mkt trded price now is ard $850-880)

3) then this person who bot the came for $800 starts to advertise $880 and try to profit a $80

call and have a chat with the seller..or during meet up ask the SOP questions and look thru the paperwork if any.

u will know if he/she is genuine or not.

If not comfortable with price and condition of item, just say "no" nicely n walk away..

no one is forcing u to buy.

looking at the Brand new price and make adjustment based on age and condition is better gauge than purely looking at the post, which u might be insinuating tat the resale prices are being cornered to lure the unknowing.

caveat emptor of cos. :D

well.. actually all the SOP question and paper work also cannot tell if he/she is reselling it for a quick buck.. actually, its not even illegal or anything wrong by them doing so.. but just wondering if we can see such ppl, shld the forum mods take action?

just that i got a shock last time that a lens i bot was registered to a person NOT belonging to the person I bought it from (whom claim he was 1st owner and warranty not registered) .. then later i did a search on his in this forum and found he buy and sell A LOT of stuff here (probably in other forums as well)

Here's what we have in place that provides some basic protection to CS members:

1. If the seller is doing the things you described under a single nick, you can spot that by using the search function to search for the nick in the B&S forums to spot such suspicious behaviour.

2. If the seller is doing this more effectively using different nicks, then that is a direct violation of our policy against members holding more than one account on CS. If you suspect that someone is doing this, please do report the post or PM one of the mods and we will investigate.

Having said that, I want to remind everyone about our "buyers beware" policy. Every member who decides to deal on CS marketplace takes full responsibility for what they buy and sell. Nothing replaces doing your homework.

caveat emptor..

with the rapid changes in price, its not uncommon to see asking prices of used items more than brand new (provided you know where to get the best buy).

2 examples:

1. CF cards, seems people are trying to sell their used 8gb elite pros for $45 when a brand new 16GB is now $52.

2. canon 50f1.8... brand new 110-120, people are selling used out of warr sets for 100 to 110.. :)

caveat emptor..

with the rapid changes in price, its not uncommon to see asking prices of used items more than brand new (provided you know where to get the best buy).

2 examples:

1. CF cards, seems people are trying to sell their used 8gb elite pros for $45 when a brand new 16GB is now $52.

2. canon 50f1.8... brand new 110-120, people are selling used out of warr sets for 100 to 110.. :)

not only dat, items more than 2yrs also "mint"
no warranty , pass a year also rated as "10" :confused:

cheers

caveat emptor..

2 examples:

yes... point 2 exactly.. as i was looking for one, and i found the same.

as for DLSR kit set also , i see many such post in terms of their pricing.

and best thing is.. a few hrs later a reply of "WOW SOLD.. That's fast.."

the thing is, if anyone wanna pull a fast one to earn say 5% or 10% of the products, its fairly easy... but how to spot these ppl with multiple nicks?

can clubsnap monitor the IP of ppl logged in and see if such pattern comes ard in the BNS section?

watch out for ppl with low no of post.
then check if all their post is purely from b&s.

i already spoted one, they might be more... which is why i posted this matter here..

can we actually hv a trade reputation counter? ie like those in ebay..

Though I'm a bit skeptical about those posts, I really had a deal closed in the middle of the night within 30 mins of posting for a need of Battery Grip. There are genuine cases guys..BTW, I'm a silent watcher and seldom post..

i already spoted one, they might be more... which is why i posted this matter here..

no point have trade counter if not it will become messy like vr-zone system and the moderators have to step in to clear up the mess...

yes... point 2 exactly.. as i was looking for one, and i found the same.

as for DLSR kit set also , i see many such post in terms of their pricing.

and best thing is.. a few hrs later a reply of "WOW SOLD.. That's fast.."

the thing is, if anyone wanna pull a fast one to earn say 5% or 10% of the products, its fairly easy... but how to spot these ppl with multiple nicks?

can clubsnap monitor the IP of ppl logged in and see if such pattern comes ard in the BNS section?

I think moitoring IP is not the way. It does not solve the problem. Think of ppl using a public computers to access CS.

Simon_84's suggestion below makes more sense. Generally, we should all beware of those in BnS with 0 post.

The anonymity nature of the internet makes it hard to identify users with multiple account.
And if we want to track unique users then we will be facing pirvacy issues. It will be endless.

caveat emptor..

2 examples:

I think for the 50mm, it's more like supply n demand case. If everyone thinks that 2nd hand lenses are cheap without checking the SRP outside then the demand for 2nd hand lenses would hence increase, driving sellers to up their prices. If no one wants to buy the 50mm @ $100, eventually the price will lower.
There might also b ppl who need to buy a lens urgently n dont mind the high price, so let them b.
My obersavtion is that, most ppl think that BnS should b cheaper so they just stick around.

The admin here can only intervene so far, banning new users from BnS also does not solve the thing. In fact, it would prevent ppl from selling. Less ppl sell means higher price, basic of economics.

We should educate our users to use the Price List to compare and make judgement for themselves.

It would be a good idea if the admin here could do up a rating system though, but i doubt it would be of any use. The price list in the sticky is good enough for ppl to agar agar the price liao. It's more of the older lens n dslr that are harder for ppl to give a value.

So lets just let the nature of market force do its job.

Personally, I've learnt a lot from buying and selling through BnS, made some mistakes here and there.
I've even made a friend from buying n selling.
So now, I'm more wary.

P.S. Lets not forget that you might be in the seller's shoe one day!

existed long ago. but the effectiveness is :bsmilie:

since u registered long ago u should know right?

not only dat, items more than 2yrs also "mint"
no warranty , pass a year also rated as "10" :confused:

cheers
if item has been kept in dry box for one year without use, even if there's no warranty, i believe it can be listed as "mint"

Ultimately for BUYERS - if you think the price is too high, the dun bother buying. Everyone can set a price they want, can sell or not is another problem. The items belong to the seller, what price he/she set is really up to them

What i am always more cautious of if low post count, come in straight wana sell one. May not be a fair statement to those who just watches the forum. But i did have recently an experience with someone like this. Although he did not manage to sell me or do anything to me, the method was way too dodgy. He was insisting on meeting me even before i told him i want the item. Then when i asked for his receipt for BRAND NEW item that was purchased A FEW DAYS AGO, he said no receipt? after searching his threads, i realised he has 4-5 post, all selling only and ALL BRAND NEW BOUGHT A FEW DAYS AGO.

Just have to do some research on product and sellers.

Some observations as well from me.

I have seen some sellers posting reasons for selling as:

1) Selling his DSLR (few days/weeks old) becos he Got another DSLR as gift from wife/gf
He must have been staying in a cave or not speaking to his wife/gf for few days/weeks in order for his wife/gf not aware of him already having a DSLR, and trust me, women SELDOM buy gadgets as gift for men....cos they themselves are not familar....they rather bring you there to buy together...:nono:

2) Selling his DSLR on behalf of someone
Either his friend is a INTERNET IDIOT or from outerspace that he finds it troublesome to post it himself and rely on his friend to answer to all the queries and decide the price for him somemore...:think:

3) Selling and Buying the same model DSLR on the SAME DAY!!!
Seen someone posting WTB and WTS a 350D for the same day, I am not sure what is he up to...:dunno:

Some observations as well from me.

I have seen some sellers posting reasons for selling as:

1) Selling his DSLR (few days/weeks old) becos he Got another DSLR as gift from wife/gf
He must have been staying in a cave or not speaking to his wife/gf for few days/weeks in order for his wife/gf not aware of him already having a DSLR, and trust me, women SELDOM buy gadgets as gift for men....cos they themselves are not familar....they rather bring you there to buy together...:nono:

Either his friend is a INTERNET IDIOT or from outerspace that he finds it troublesome to post it himself and rely on his friend to answer to all the queries and decide the price for him somemore...:think:

3) Selling and Buying the same model DSLR on the SAME DAY!!!
Seen someone posting WTB and WTS a 350D for the same day, I am not sure what is he up to...:dunno:

LOL
#3 is funny...

we can have 100 kinds of system to deter bad sellers but they will find the 101th way to get around them.

for eg we can have the rep system, but these sellers will register a few accounts and give himself good rep or pose as a satisfied buyer.

the seller can also spend effort to post many many time to up his post counts before starting to trade in the B/S forum

so it all boils down to the buyer's own effort to check all facts and do own research before commiting.

we cannot let a few bad eggs spoil the BnS forum. I personally have had a good experience buying from this forum. bought a Nikon D1 from this forum many many years back...back when the D1 cost $9k brand new and the used set cost me $4k. it was a good buy

I browse clubsnap daily and harldy post,however having a low post count doesn't mean that people should feel unsafe about buying from me if i do intend to sell there.

Of course there are people who CAN earn through BUY and SELL. It's really up to YOU yourself to monitor and if you feel that the TS of the specific B/S thread is reliable, then get it. If not why not wait awhile more and get something that you feel safe and satisfied with.

I've been selling some stuffs one behalf of friends. Why? Not because they are internet idiots or has no computers ... it's because they kena from some crappy buyers here and are too pissed to bother try selling the stuff themselves. Usually I'll help them post the item for sale and contact the buyers. Then they deal and I don't earn a cent. Hehe.

There are crappy sellers and trust me ... there are hell many more crappy buyers.