Bossmen Dry Cabinets

fWord

My Dad and I have been hunting around for a dry cabinet lately. Plenty of shops sell the Digi-cabi, but I recently came to know of a brand called 'Bossmen' and some anecdotal response claims that it's pretty good as well.

Does anyone know how it compares to the Digi-cabi? What is the pricing usually like? And where can I buy such a dry cabinet? For now, the best compromise for us is to get something around the 40L range...big enough to have both of our equipment in it.

Thanks, hope to hear from any of you with experiences on these dry cabinets.

My Dad and I have been hunting around for a dry cabinet lately. Plenty of shops sell the Digi-cabi, but I recently came to know of a brand called 'Bossmen' and some anecdotal response claims that it's pretty good as well.

Does anyone know how it compares to the Digi-cabi? What is the pricing usually like? And where can I buy such a dry cabinet? For now, the best compromise for us is to get something around the 40L range...big enough to have both of our equipment in it.

Thanks, hope to hear from any of you with experiences on these dry cabinets.

using one now. got from mscolor 2yrs back. if u are buying, get the one with a digital hygrometer. i got the analog version, and it's a PITA reading the numbers. ended up getting a digital hygrometer and put it inside the cabinet.

except for the hygrometer, mine is still alive and kicking after 2yrs. no complaints. :)

using one now. got from mscolor 2yrs back. if u are buying, get the one with a digital hygrometer. i got the analog version, and it's a PITA reading the numbers. ended up getting a digital hygrometer and put it inside the cabinet.

except for the hygrometer, mine is still alive and kicking after 2yrs. no complaints. :)

Thanks for the response. I was reading about how the Bossmen seems to stabilize humidity at set levels faster than the digi-cabi does. Hence we're also considering this brand now.

It's a struggle finding the correct size for our needs unfortunately. To tell you the whole story:

Ultimately, my Dad and I will be located in Melbourne, Australia. They don't appear to sell any dry boxes or dry cabinets there and a salesman claims that the humidity is so low that they never see fungus issues in that part of the country. While I think there is some truth in that, I am not going to risk all my equipment to find that out myself.

Hence we want to buy a dry cabinet here and take it overseas when we get the chance. So a 40L one is all that we can carry.

Do Bossmen sell 40L models? I just called them and the lady told me over the phone that their smallest might be 80 or 90L!

How large is your dry cabinet and how much did you pay for it? Can I get it anywhere readily these days, other than paying a visit to the supplier?

using one. been using it since 5yrs ago. still remember i bought it from MS Colors.

solid performance. :thumbsup: no problem all these years.

using one. been using it since 5yrs ago. still remember i bought it from MS Colors.

solid performance. :thumbsup: no problem all these years.

Thanks...wonder if they still sell them. I just paid them a visit today and all I saw were Digi-cabis. The Bossmen have either gone out of favour or they are just rather uncommon.

i think bossmen is a local product and brand. not sure if they are still in business.:sweatsm:

I checked out their website...looks like something out of Taiwan. And I also called them. The lady wasn't very helpful and didn't want to give any prices out over the phone, saying, "Today we not working leh."

:confused:

Okay, so be it. Anyway, I'll email them and see what sort of response I'd get this time.

Thanks for the response. I was reading about how the Bossmen seems to stabilize humidity at set levels faster than the digi-cabi does. Hence we're also considering this brand now.

It's a struggle finding the correct size for our needs unfortunately. To tell you the whole story:

Ultimately, my Dad and I will be located in Melbourne, Australia. They don't appear to sell any dry boxes or dry cabinets there and a salesman claims that the humidity is so low that they never see fungus issues in that part of the country. While I think there is some truth in that, I am not going to risk all my equipment to find that out myself.

Hence we want to buy a dry cabinet here and take it overseas when we get the chance. So a 40L one is all that we can carry.

Do Bossmen sell 40L models? I just called them and the lady told me over the phone that their smallest might be 80 or 90L!

How large is your dry cabinet and how much did you pay for it? Can I get it anywhere readily these days, other than paying a visit to the supplier?

right... fungus dun grow in aussie eh? :think:

i think mine is 60L. misplace the manual liao... but, yah... i think i dun see bossmen nowadays too. digi-cabi seems to be the most popular brand now. the other one is akarui brand. CP seems to be the one with all the special offers on this brand.

can't remember how much i pay for it... ard $180, i think. cash and, literally, carry... the bugger is heavy. :sweat:

right... fungus dun grow in aussie eh? :think:

i think mine is 60L. misplace the manual liao... but, yah... i think i dun see bossmen nowadays too. digi-cabi seems to be the most popular brand now. the other one is akarui brand. CP seems to be the one with all the special offers on this brand.

can't remember how much i pay for it... ard $180, i think. cash and, literally, carry... the bugger is heavy. :sweat:

Exactly...I don't know whether to believe the guy or not. Like I said, I give him the benefit of a doubt, but it's a big risk to take nevertheless.

Was thinking of buying one of those 50L Digi Cabi at most. 60L is too heavy to send overseas!

Exactly...I don't know whether to believe the guy or not. Like I said, I give him the benefit of a doubt, but it's a big risk to take nevertheless.

Was thinking of buying one of those 50L Digi Cabi at most. 60L is too heavy to send overseas!

hmmm... yeah. and i dun think u want to check it in at the airport either. :sweat:

u can actually try visiting digihub (http://www.digihub.com.sg/index.aspx) over at tagore lane to pick up one urself. save u a few bucks. else, they can deliver to your place, IIRC. cabinets are one of those things dat is never 'too big'... :sweatsm:

hmmm... yeah. and i dun think u want to check it in at the airport either. :sweat:

u can actually try visiting digihub (http://www.digihub.com.sg/index.aspx) over at tagore lane to pick up one urself. save u a few bucks. else, they can deliver to your place, IIRC. cabinets are one of those things dat is never 'too big'... :sweatsm:

The main trouble here is that I need to find some way to check it in and send it over to Australia. They don't sell dry cabinets there and claim that conditions are too dry even for the fungus to develop. I don't know if I should believe it or not.

If we didn't need to deal with transport, I'd probably jump for a sizeable one straight away. No point buying a small one. For most of us, the gear is only likely to continue to expand and we will always need more space. :sweatsm:

The main trouble here is that I need to find some way to check it in and send it over to Australia. They don't sell dry cabinets there and claim that conditions are too dry even for the fungus to develop. I don't know if I should believe it or not.

If we didn't need to deal with transport, I'd probably jump for a sizeable one straight away. No point buying a small one. For most of us, the gear is only likely to continue to expand and we will always need more space. :sweatsm:

hmm... mebbe u can drop digihub a mail and ask them if they do freight? AFAIK, from my frens' buying directly from them, they are a pretty accommodating bunch of folks. :think:

The humidity level in melbourme is about 50-60%. Which is well below optimal conditions fro fungus growth.

The Ideal storage conditions for camera and equipment is 35-45%

to be kiasu, for 10-15% more dryness to i'd suggest you just bring over one of those "hungry hippos" rather than lug over 1 dry cabinet.

The humidity level in melbourme is about 50-60%. Which is well below optimal conditions fro fungus growth.

to be kiasu, for 10-15% more dryness to i'd suggest you just bring over one of those "hungry hippos" rather than lug over 1 dry cabinet.

35-45??

too low la. ur leather and rubber will peel off really fast.

ideally 50-55.

Yes, you wouldnt need a dry cabinet in Oz...RH there is typically 50%; humidifiers are more common ;)

Recently upgraded to Digicab 80L...got it at the promo at Carrfour with free delivery; no sweat :) Lowest RH achievable is 25%, performance is satisfactory so far. Check the power consumption, Digicab draws 5W btw.

Vince

hmm... mebbe u can drop digihub a mail and ask them if they do freight? AFAIK, from my frens' buying directly from them, they are a pretty accommodating bunch of folks. :think:

Thanks for the suggestion. Good idea. I'm sure anything is possible. Only thing is cost.

Hmm...I did some check up on a website regarding the weather. And over the next four days the humidity can be as high as 85% or as low as 51%. That's not really idea. If it were in the 40-50% range, I could live with that and be fairly confident my gear would be fine. But at 85% I'm really not so sure.

Hungry hippos work very well here. Too well sometimes, in fact. When they are first opened and put into a dry box they make everything really dry...30% RH. Usually I like to leave it in the open to 'age' a little before putting it into my dry box. As it loses effectiveness slightly it will eventually keep humidity at around 50% or so.

35-45??

too low la. ur leather and rubber will peel off really fast.

ideally 50-55.

Heheh...sounds pretty bad. I've heard that lubricants will dry out, but nobody's ever had this happen to them before. Fungus however, is common. Lots of people have encountered it.

Yes, you wouldnt need a dry cabinet in Oz...RH there is typically 50%; humidifiers are more common ;)

Recently upgraded to Digicab 80L...got it at the promo at Carrfour with free delivery; no sweat :) Lowest RH achievable is 25%, performance is satisfactory so far. Check the power consumption, Digicab draws 5W btw.

Vince

Thanks for the warning. I didn't think the dry cabinets would eat much electricity. But do they? Is it expensive to keep them running? A further worry I have is that if I leave home for a trip and the power goes off because of a thunderstorm, then my dry cabinet would cease to function until I get the power on again.

Naturally, my fridge would stop working as well. But at least I can control that by getting rid of all the food before I leave home for extended periods.

5W is very frugal; compared to your ave sized fridge is drawing 150-200W of power. Guess if the gasket seals at the door are still in good condition, it can keep the moisture out for a considerable period even if the power is cut...

Thanks for the warning. I didn't think the dry cabinets would eat much electricity. But do they? Is it expensive to keep them running? A further worry I have is that if I leave home for a trip and the power goes off because of a thunderstorm, then my dry cabinet would cease to function until I get the power on again.

Naturally, my fridge would stop working as well. But at least I can control that by getting rid of all the food before I leave home for extended periods.