BEWARE OF PARISILK!!!

Never did like Parisilk. I won't buy anything from a camera shop that sells stuff other than cameras. Plus it's runned by what I would like to label as dodgy people. I've been to their shops a few times but never once spent a dime at their shops.

rhino123 said:
Well... by just going all out to the shops just to get a hotshoe cover and hagger like mad is definitely not worth the trouble (in my opinion), however if I was there to get other stuff... say a new DSLR and the such... then I would ensure that I do the haggering to get a worthless piece of plastic either for low low price or free :) And yes... I am a cheapskate.

If it's a hundred $ difference it's ok... if it's just a few bucks it's bit like no point to find the best price for a cheap plastic

Just to share about my own experiences with Parisilk.

I have personally bought a few camera-related items (usually batteries, filters, chargers that kinda stuff) from the branch at Holland Village. Usually these purchases are made because I need the item(s) rather urgently and have no time to go elsewhere. Moreover, it's probably the only shop near my workplace that I could get camera stuffs at reasonable prices.

Note that I used the word reasonable, and not cheapest because I would usually do quite a fair bit of market research on my own before committing to a purchase and I know pretty well that Parisilk's prices are not the cheapest but in the very least, at least not too far from the cheapest market price either.

The HV branch is the only outlet I visit so far so I can't say much about the services compared to other branches but as far as I am concern, service level is definitely decent enough for me to go back.

I had the exact same experience just an hour ago. I bought a garmin watch from bedok branch last night. Since the package does not contain the foot pod, I asked Hakim about the price. He quoted $69 and to collect the next day. Done deal since its $20 cheaper than another supplier. So I paid for the watch and left.

What do you know. When I was about to collect the footpod just now, another staff told me it's $119. I was like oh my tian, $50 more. He called Hakim to confirm the price blah blah blah but Hakim was elsewhere. He then called this "Boss" named Andrew. Andrew said its $94.

He then asked me to talk to Andrew over the phone. Andrew shouted at me and say where got shop sell $349? Confirm no heartrate monitor or warranty. Hello? I emailed the supplier themselves. The supplier also told me there's warranty.

Come on la, garmin's warranty is registered online one leh. Think I'm an idiot meh?

Andrew then shouted at me again and tell me since cheaper then buy from them lor. At this point I was like [{#{^}}*#>~^}* already. I bought the watch from you and used it. Now you tell me to buy elsewhere?

At this point the guy at the shop snatched my phone and said loudly to Andrew, "EH NO CHOICE LA. GIVE HIM COST PRICE. MAKE HIM HAPPY." Now my boiling point is over the limit already. Nostrils flaring, breathing fire liao.

He say sell me same cost as the other shop but no cc or nets. Must be cash and faster.

Ptui. I paid and left. Pay money still kenna f. No more parasilk man.

You still paid and bought the item?
So they win after all. :confused:

You still paid and bought the item?
So they win after all. :confused:

Then how? I already paid for the watch last night. You expect me to pay 349 for another set? Might as well get the footpod and get it over and done with.

I had the exact same experience just an hour ago. I bought a garmin watch from bedok branch last night. Since the package does not contain the foot pod, I asked Hakim about the price. He quoted $69 and to collect the next day. Done deal since its $20 cheaper than another supplier. So I paid for the watch and left.

What do you know. When I was about to collect the footpod just now, another staff told me it's $119. I was like oh my tian, $50 more. He called Hakim to confirm the price blah blah blah but Hakim was elsewhere. He then called this "Boss" named Andrew. Andrew said its $94.

He then asked me to talk to Andrew over the phone. Andrew shouted at me and say where got shop sell $349? Confirm no heartrate monitor or warranty. Hello? I emailed the supplier themselves. The supplier also told me there's warranty.

Come on la, garmin's warranty is registered online one leh. Think I'm an idiot meh?

Andrew then shouted at me again and tell me since cheaper then buy from them lor. At this point I was like [{#{^}}*#>~^}* already. I bought the watch from you and used it. Now you tell me to buy elsewhere?

At this point the guy at the shop snatched my phone and said loudly to Andrew, "EH NO CHOICE LA. GIVE HIM COST PRICE. MAKE HIM HAPPY." Now my boiling point is over the limit already. Nostrils flaring, breathing fire liao.

He say sell me same cost as the other shop but no cc or nets. Must be cash and faster.

WOWWWW bro, after reading about your experience, I truly sympathize with you. What i experienced was like nothing compared to this one. THIS IS so far THE WORST crap that can ever happen. seriously WHAT THE ****

The fact that you paid money to him WAS A CONTRACT itself. that means there was a deal. and he broke the deal and did this. This shop wont last in the big country. competition will wipe them out easy with this stupid retarded and ASS*** service.

I am so sorry to hear about ur experience. If you read my experience on the front page, i encountered the same experience but yours are just much worse since U ALREADY PAID THE MONEY.

Shouted at you twice? That's extremely rude and a reflection of their quality of service :nono:

I buy my stuff from SLRR@Funan

They open box and show me lens with no obligation. No attitude, I like that shop.

I buy my stuff from SLRR@Funan

They open box and show me lens with no obligation. No attitude, I like that shop.

Have to agree with you. That time I shopping for filter then the guy without hesitation show me all the different brands of filter (he had to break the seal on the packaging) then in the end I never buy feel so pai seh :embrass:

DigitalCamera said:
Have to agree with you. That time I shopping for filter then the guy without hesitation show me all the different brands of filter (he had to break the seal on the packaging) then in the end I never buy feel so pai seh :embrass:

You realise that it's because of guys like you that when a genuine buyer walks in and has them go thru products to find an item we're looking for we get black face. lol.

Haha I just asked him (I didn't ask him to show me) about the different kinds of filters then he showed me the filters on his own accord! I even said there was no need to open the filters but he insisted.

Broken seal or not, I buy depending on the shop. SLR-R seems ok to trust. As to all shops, I'll check the products physically make sure no scratches. For lens it's easier, if it's used there will be some marks at the mounting area and contact points.

I think the treatment you got warrants a 'never buy from this shop' again.

My experience with Parisilk is still OK. I went there to buy a Olympus Pen camera kit without any problem. Slightly cheaper than I was quoted elsewhere (Cash only price) and surprisingly even by paying via CC, there was no extra charges!

That was 4 years back then. HV branch

lemon law helps here?

Nowadays i usually go window shop the stores first..observe how the sales people handle the customers..then ill go to the friendliest one n ask him about stuff..sometimes to test his patience..there are loads of aggressive sellers nowadays...after that i would ask him for prices after gst n all..if everything ok ill reserve the item is then go check out other items in the store or ask the person for knowledge help...the nice ones will help u to the max and even offer u good prices comparing to others..at the end just thank the person n let him know u will come back for other stuff..good relations= good prices