Beginners Outing(Part 17)-Fort Canning Park area on the 24 July(Photos thread)

Wow! You guys uploaded already! Okay lah,expected. I haven't transfer the pictures to my com yet T_T I like mhobbiezt's first post pictures and skylover's #6. Hurhur,where are the rest's photos?!

No idea.. waiting for u to upload..:think:

am i welcome to upload? althought i wanted to join u all :)

Waiting for you people to upload mah...

Well here are my pictures, I like them(then again, you usually like what you take) though some are a little tilted, or out of focus, or with slightly blown highlights. Have to forgive me, first time trying out a new body and metering.

All photos were taken, and then developed by myself(my technique is still not great :/), and scanned. No pp or anything else other than resizing, I don't like editing and don't have the skill to edit well. Maybe in the future I'll learn how to use my enlarger and burn and dodge for real. Thanks and comments welcome!

1. The man cut in stone.

34550014copy-1.jpg

2. Twirls on a fence.

34550020copy-1.jpg

3. The draw of single flower.

34550024copy-1.jpg

4. Ho-hum. (everyone's got this one.)

34550034copy-1.jpg

5. Reflection. (albeit tilted)

34560003copy-1.jpg

Mostly shot on T-MAX 400, except the last, Tri-X 400.

I like these two :thumbsup: I like the feeling :)

Thank you very much, they are my favourites too :)

p.s. no suggestions for improvement at all? other than trying not to tilt as is evidenced by the last frame.

p.p.s. oh and also for nr. 2, i feel there's not enough depth of field, i'm not sure what f/stop i used but i think it was around f5.6 or f8, probably should have used f11 i feel.

You stalker!! :devil:

Aww, forgive me. I was amused at how everyone or nearly everyone wanted a picture of that flower. I myself have 0 interest in macro photography, so I took the people taking it ;)

lolx.. juz jking no worries.. :cool:

Well here are my pictures, I like them(then again, you usually like what you take) though some are a little tilted, or out of focus, or with slightly blown highlights. Have to forgive me, first time trying out a new body and metering.

All photos were taken, and then developed by myself(my technique is still not great :/), and scanned. No pp or anything else other than resizing, I don't like editing and don't have the skill to edit well. Maybe in the future I'll learn how to use my enlarger and burn and dodge for real. Thanks and comments welcome!

2. Twirls on a fence.

34550020copy-1.jpg

Mostly shot on T-MAX 400, except the last, Tri-X 400.

This one has a strong line formed by the fence, which draws the eye in on the left, and straight out to the right. It seems to be lacking an 'anchor' element.
The fence-post doesn't really count, since it looks the same as the other 3 in the photo (repeating pattern). You need something that stands out.
All the branches of the tree kena 'chopped off' too.
I think LESS dof would be preferred to more dof... :think:

wow nice improvements cleon, seems a good place to get some of XMM friends and do some portraits shoots..

Its the beginning of looking at things at a simple line form that is admirable. it will take awhile before maturing into placement of a subject into the scene to strengthen the composition. It will even take a longer time before one begins to use light as a subject (a point, plane and path) to strengthen the timelessness of the picture. That will be Art Photography where photographs begin to look like painting. IT WILL TAKE FOREVER for 98% of the people with cameras to understand ART Photography. :bsmilie:

f/11, 16 would keep the picture in better focus. There is no one prominent subject, a shallow DOF would bring out something... but in this case... if the emphasis is the lines, it is better to keep things in focus.

If you like trees and fence, take a walk around KKH Kopitiam. Chopping off branches are ok.

Keep shooting. When in doubt.. keep your D70, take a picture first, check, and see if it is worth to record it in film. In future, dump the crop - digital, keep to film. kekekkeke

This one has a strong line formed by the fence, which draws the eye in on the left, and straight out to the right. It seems to be lacking an 'anchor' element.
The fence-post doesn't really count, since it looks the same as the other 3 in the photo (repeating pattern). You need something that stands out.
All the branches of the tree kena 'chopped off' too.
I think LESS dof would be preferred to more dof... :think:

The thing is actually, when I took this photo. The twirls and the fence post was what I envisioned the 'anchor' to be. But after developing it I realised it wasn't as clear as I thought it would be and hence the reason why I feel more DOF would serve it better.

As for the tree, I admit that that being there wasn't really what I wanted, but shooting with a fixed focal length has a certain drawback in this particular instance. I didn't want to muck up my colourful shirt by lying prone or near prone on the ground to take a picture.

In your opinion then, given what you can see, what should have been the anchor in this frame? Thanks very much for your comments, it helps a lot!

Its the beginning of looking at things at a simple line form that is admirable. it will take awhile before maturing into placement of a subject into the scene to strengthen the composition. It will even take a longer time before one begins to use light as a subject (a point, plane and path) to strengthen the timelessness of the picture. That will be Art Photography where photographs begin to look like painting. IT WILL TAKE FOREVER for 98% of the people with cameras to understand ART Photography. :bsmilie:

f/11, 16 would keep the picture in better focus. There is no one prominent subject, a shallow DOF would bring out something... but in this case... if the emphasis is the lines, it is better to keep things in focus.

If you like trees and fence, take a walk around KKH Kopitiam. Chopping off branches are ok.

Keep shooting. When in doubt.. keep your D70, take a picture first, check, and see if it is worth to record it in film. In future, dump the crop - digital, keep to film. kekekkeke

Thanks Andrew for what I assume is a compliment ;) That's what I eventually hope to be able to do, to render something as an art form. That's one reason why I shoot black and white, I feel it has the ability to freeze time, to conjure up a sense of timelessness. Something I never saw colour being able to do, blame my parents :p

And I assume KKH is KK Hospital?

And also, coming from someone who dumped film for digital and telling me to eventually dump digital and stick with film, that's amazing! :p

The thing is actually, when I took this photo. The twirls and the fence post was what I envisioned the 'anchor' to be. But after developing it I realised it wasn't as clear as I thought it would be and hence the reason why I feel more DOF would serve it better.

As for the tree, I admit that that being there wasn't really what I wanted, but shooting with a fixed focal length has a certain drawback in this particular instance. I didn't want to muck up my colourful shirt by lying prone or near prone on the ground to take a picture.

In your opinion then, given what you can see, what should have been the anchor in this frame? Thanks very much for your comments, it helps a lot!

I don't see a lot else in the photo apart from the brick path, the fence and posts, and the trees and leaves. Sorry, I'm not familiar with Fort Canning Park.
I do notice that the fence actually has some design. I think that's the twirl you're referring to?
For me, I'd probably go with my widest lens, up close to the fence and its design, and shoot with the fence line leading into a blur. hmmm... it's all hypothetical of course. Such a shot may not look nice as well :)
The way you composed the shot, it'd probably be nicer in colour, and in a place where there are autumn leaves fallen on the ground... hahahaha but it's Singapore... sigh...
sorry I'm not more helpful with the suggestions.

I don't see a lot else in the photo apart from the brick path, the fence and posts, and the trees and leaves. Sorry, I'm not familiar with Fort Canning Park.
I do notice that the fence actually has some design. I think that's the twirl you're referring to?
For me, I'd probably go with my widest lens, up close to the fence and its design, and shoot with the fence line leading into a blur. hmmm... it's all hypothetical of course. Such a shot may not look nice as well :)
The way you composed the shot, it'd probably be nicer in colour, and in a place where there are autumn leaves fallen on the ground... hahahaha but it's Singapore... sigh...
sorry I'm not more helpful with the suggestions.

Yes, that is the twirl I am talking about. And I was using a 35mm lens, so therein lies the problem with this particular shot. I wanted to go in much closer and at a lower level, almost near the ground to shoot up at the twirls and then let the fence line drift to a blur. However, despite what I feel would have made a good shot. That was not to be.

Ground was too damn muddy, shirt was too colourful and white for me to go hardcore for one shot. Remember I shoot manual film, so I also cannot justify blasting off exposures to see if it'll work, and that I can't actually tell if anything is in focus without my eye to the viewfinder.

All advice, is good advice. Maybe next time I should pack an apron to allow me to better lie on the ground. Ha! Bet that would draw some curious snapshots of me.

edit: also I highly doubt colour would do much good, ground was a mixture of brown and green, fence was dark brown, tree was mostly dark brown and green leaves. But that's just me. In my opinion, that would have been utterly depressing :p lol.