Bally Photo @Funan is a Chopper shop!

Bally...makes my blood boil just thinking about this...

From what I read in the posts this seems typical of them....

Yesterday they gave me a good quote for a flash, then after a while when i came back to the shop, the slick joe added the GST. OK. Still quite a good price. Then tried to sell me another flash which was cheaper. I said I would stick to the original one I wanted. Now he says I have to buy a $100 lithium battery to go with it. I said I didn't want it and he said he didn't want to sell the flash. Unbelievable! Maybe thought I was some tourist....

Don't bother with this shop and it's bad service....:thumbsd:

Yesterday they gave me a good quote for a flash, then after a while when i came back to the shop, the slick joe added the GST. OK. Still quite a good price. Then tried to sell me another flash which was cheaper. I said I would stick to the original one I wanted. Now he says I have to buy a $100 lithium battery to go with it. I said I didn't want it and he said he didn't want to sell the flash. Unbelievable! Maybe thought I was some tourist....

:bsmilie: All in a day's work for them...

You are right! What kind of work? can they sleep at night?

I wonder if Capital Mall [the owners of Funan, right?] know about this kind of nonsense that gives Singapore a bad name? :dunno:

You are right! What kind of work? can they sleep at night?

I wonder if Capital Mall [the owners of Funan, right?] know about this kind of nonsense that gives Singapore a bad name? :dunno:
I doubt CapitalLand heard about their the problem since most people do not complaint. Especially the tourists who are here for a few days.

Even if there is complaint, they can always claim it is willing buyer, willing seller. Nothing much the mall management can do about it.

they are sharing stock...

I don't think its true. I heard of shops buying from other shops when they run out of stock to resell. Usually the shops would chop their warranty card with their logo to discourage such practice and its a kind of "last resort to please the customer" kind of tactic.

Of cos usually the buying shop will request the selling shop to NOT chop the warranty card, but most shops do anyway.

I dun know how we can jump to conclusions that SLR = Bally based on a chopped warranty card.

If i set up a shop, sell a product I buy from Bally, does it mean I'm affiliated to them?

Even if they are friends and sell friendly, the main thing is that their difference in customer service and practice yields different results. No 2 shops are alike so, choose the one you prefer.

Anyway if Bally really = SLR, then I would say this is a rare case that they improved / evolved, based on the comment threads above on how bad Bally is...

so Bally is SLR's supplier....this means....

No big deal lah.

its very common for shops to buy from each other. the selling shop will sell at dealer's price to the buying shop. its common practice for every industry.

If SLR gets stock from AP, does this mean anything also???

Will the warranty still be recognized if the chop shows it is from different shop then the one on the receipt?

one of my friend went of battery during a shoot and had to buy a 450d battery for $60 along the streets of orchard road. really cut throat...

Damn,.. sounds like Camera Talk shop - in Sim Lim

The moment I see An Bengs type of salesperson in a shop. I will not patronise the shops as they r what they r - Bengs with no sense of customer service standard. Period.:thumbsd:

quite famous la..

but makes me wonder.. do they just go about employing people like that? i mean, seriously? the shop owner specifically looks for ah bengs to employ meh?

I kenna chop by Bally when I was hunting for my Sigma 17-70 HSM Macro, they quoted me the lowest price I could find (about 30-40 bucks below all others), after testing the lens for 20 minutes and was about to buy it, I noticed the price he keyed in was actually 50 dollars more then his quote!

His excuse?

"Oh plus service charge and GST"

Nice, all other shops were good enough to tell you the flat rate, these people will do anything to makan you. AVOID.

I kenna chop by Bally when I was hunting for my Sigma 17-70 HSM Macro, they quoted me the lowest price I could find (about 30-40 bucks below all others), after testing the lens for 20 minutes and was about to buy it, I noticed the price he keyed in was actually 50 dollars more then his quote!

His excuse?

"Oh plus service charge and GST"

Nice, all other shops were good enough to tell you the flat rate, these people will do anything to makan you. AVOID.

What "service charge"? Did the sales offer you a cup of tea/coffee or did pole dancing for you? :sweat:

Maybe the sales worked in restaurant before and keep on remember service charge and gst. :bsmilie:

I don't think its true. I heard of shops buying from other shops when they run out of stock to resell. Usually the shops would chop their warranty card with their logo to discourage such practice and its a kind of "last resort to please the customer" kind of tactic.

Of cos usually the buying shop will request the selling shop to NOT chop the warranty card, but most shops do anyway.

I dun know how we can jump to conclusions that SLR = Bally based on a chopped warranty card.

If i set up a shop, sell a product I buy from Bally, does it mean I'm affiliated to them?

Even if they are friends and sell friendly, the main thing is that their difference in customer service and practice yields different results. No 2 shops are alike so, choose the one you prefer.

Anyway if Bally really = SLR, then I would say this is a rare case that they improved / evolved, based on the comment threads above on how bad Bally is...

No big deal lah.

its very common for shops to buy from each other. the selling shop will sell at dealer's price to the buying shop. its common practice for every industry.

If SLR gets stock from AP, does this mean anything also???

It is so simple to find out. Pay $10 ($5 each) and buy the business profile of both companies, look at the names of the directors and you will know... Some one already mentioned it so clearly in a previous post. Nothing to believe or not believe. It is simple fact that can be verified easily. ;)

Went hunting for 5D MkII batteries today. All shops at Peninsula said no stock. Just decided to try my luck at Funan - any shop also ask. Went Bally Photo and guess what this Ah Beng (complete with bleached hair) said:

AB: 'Have! LP-E6'
Me: 'Original?'
AB: Yes of course.
Me: How much?
AB: '$299'

At this point my jaw dropped.

Me: 'You mean $299 for this darn thing???'
AB: 'Yes!'
Me: 'Nevermind.' And I started walking to the door
AB: 'Wait I check what's the best price I can give you' - Pulls out trusty casio
AB: $190
Me: Nevermind thanks.

In a matter of minutes the price can be reduced by $100. WTF he think he's trying to pull? Me wet behind the ears tourist???

Check with CASE if you want to report.

Or,, just avoid them after this.

The Bally mentioned here is the one at 2nd level? Because there's another one at 5th level with the exact same name.

Btw, the guy at the 2nd level's Bally told me SLR is their's and they have no link with the Bally on 5th floor.

The Bally mentioned here is the one at 2nd level? Because there's another one at 5th level with the exact same name.

Btw, the guy at the 2nd level's Bally told me SLR is their's and they have no link with the Bally on 5th floor.

Bally owns the shops at 2nd and 5th floor...

tactics to confuse consumers - they must know their reputation's so bad online that they can't reveal their true identity.