Bali Photography Tour 9-13 Sep '10

Here is the gang shooting at last light.
5012079756_1148fcf08e_b.jpg

And this is about last light.
And the last little bit of whatever energy left...
5012074578_f8115b0ef2_b.jpg

And so, went back to the hotel we did, tired but extremely well rewarded and happy.

We finally arrive at the town of Palasari, a Christian community, which is quite a rare sight given that 95% of Bali are Hindus. Apparently the Christian community flourished during the Dutch occupation in the early 20th century when the American Christian & Missionay Alliance were allowed to spread and convert the locals to Christianity. The new converts were then told to destroy the Hindu temples and create havoc within the Hindu caste system, eventually most of the Christians were banished to the west, where they were deemed to create less trouble.

Palasari Christian Church
many thanks to all contributors for sharing those wonderful photos! :bigeyes:
anymore coming? .... I saw Batur on the map, so i wondering if folks went there. i read most tourist would visit kintamani for beautiful view of Batur & agung

Adrian,
very interesting architecture ... may i know where is Palasari? didn't see it marked on the ancient map leh .... thanks! ;p

Err.. so any more photos to share? ;p

many thanks to all contributors for sharing those wonderful photos! :bigeyes:
anymore coming? .... I saw Batur on the map, so i wondering if folks went there. i read most tourist would visit kintamani for beautiful view of Batur & agung

Adrian,
very interesting architecture ... may i know where is Palasari? didn't see it marked on the ancient map leh .... thanks! ;p

Hello blurfoto, let me express our gratitude on behalf of our team members.
I didn't expect you to actually pay attention to the routes on the map...!

Here is the last two ancient maps (hahaha...)

From Sanur to Palasari - a long long long distance for our 4th day of travel.
That is why SereneXMM was making so much noise - haha, just joking...
5012218700_162539af21_b.jpg

After we visited the Palasari Catholic Church in Palasari Catholic Village, we went to the nearby Ekasari Hindu Village to pay our driver Komang's family a visit.
Then we headed down to Rambusiwi.
5012220296_93ec409fe4_b.jpg

Err.. so any more photos to share? ;p
天下无不散之席。
[Rough meaning: There is always an end to everything.]

yeah encore encore .... :)
Haha... I am sure all my team mates have more photos to share.
As usual, allow me to just put up a Miscellaneous Section so all my good travelmates can continue to put in their miscellaneous photos.

Thank you, Gentlemen, for the encouragement.

T R A V E L O G U E

I believe not only myself, but all my good travelmates, were quietly impressed by the amount of hard work Adrian and his team have put in to recce and to prepare for this trip.
Not to mention the amount of constant decision making he had to make during the trip itself so as to ensure that everything went on as smoothly as can be.

Despite all the rain, we had a lot of good days and good sunshine.
Thus, all those jokes that I made about rain, were simply to poke fun of Adrian.
Yes, we had a good fair share of sun-lit days for our photo-opportunities.

What was most impressive, to me, was how Adrian was able to select the unique locations for photographers like ourselves to capture the best of Bali.
The locations were great.
The models were fantastic.
We were tired.
But we had loads of fun.
In fact, we had so much fun that most (if not all) of us have signed up for one of his major treks coming up in 2011.

I wish to, on behalf of my team members, thank SgTrekkers, Adrian and Melvin for a job well done.
And certainly we will all be looking forward to more such meaningful photo-treks to come.
I also thank all viewers for coming on board and for all your kind encouragements.

This is not the end.
It's merely the beginning for the next section, the Miscellaneous section.

M I S C E L L A N E O U S

No travelogue would be complete without a Miscellaneous section.
In fact, often times, the Miscellaneous section turned out to be even more exciting.
Here, we open up the floor to every one on the trip to post all the photos that you have always wanted to post and share, but could not do so in fear of (actually shouldn't be pai seh one lah) of disrupting the chronological order.

So here we go.
Ladies and Gentlemen, the floor is all yours.

Haha... now who is the one who is being poisoned liao lah...
LowLights, I need to try out your newly bought, spanking 28-300mm. Me too.
HAHAHA...

Honestly, I think Canon should come up with a non-L version of the 28-300mm.
And one that is not push-pull.
And lighter in weight.
And sharper.

Wah! I hope they don't!! Otherwise i might jump back to Canon again! haha....

SereneXMM #59

SereneXMM #61
5012144136_f23ba0ef20_b.jpg

Very nice shot Serene! Amazed at your "art of seeing!" :)

T R A V E L O G U E

I believe not only myself, but all my good travelmates, were quietly impressed by the amount of hard work Adrian and his team have put in to recce and to prepare for this trip.
Not to mention the amount of constant decision making he had to make during the trip itself so as to ensure that everything went on as smoothly as can be.

Despite all the rain, we had a lot of good days and good sunshine.
Thus, all those jokes that I made about rain, were simply to poke fun of Adrian.
Yes, we had a good fair share of sun-lit days for our photo-opportunities.

What was most impressive, to me, was how Adrian was able to select the unique locations for photographers like ourselves to capture the best of Bali.
The locations were great.
The models were fantastic.
We were tired.
But we had loads of fun.
In fact, we had so much fun that most (if not all) of us have signed up for one of his major treks coming up in 2011.

I wish to, on behalf of my team members, thank SgTrekkers, Adrian and Melvin for a job well done.
And certainly we will all be looking forward to more such meaningful photo-treks to come.
I also thank all viewers for coming on board and for all your kind encouragements.

This is not the end.
It's merely the beginning for the next section, the Miscellaneous section.

Tks again Whow for your generous support. Your travellogues really have been an essential part of our tour too, for no SgTrekker tour is complete without a WHow travellogue? haha. Sorry i had to jump the gun on the sequence, just had to finish posting my photos, which i still feel are far from being good. Somehow, i can't seem to get the "Feeling" i get from yours, Serenes and Bro SK's photos... i always believe the best photos tell a story and most of mine are pretty flat...

Dear all, thanks for posting and till the next trip... in the meantime, the Miscellaneous section will be still open :)

Very nice shot Serene! Amazed at your "art of seeing!" :)

I agreed. Flare normally not welcome but these flare are interesting that compliment very well to the overall composition. Better still would be a lit candle.

You don't have cigrette lighter mah?

I agreed. Flare normally not welcome but these flare are interesting that compliment very well to the overall composition. Better still would be a lit candle.

HAHA... where got people go around carrying lighter one lah?
Especially not 小妹妹 mah.
Anyway inside that catholic church, how can anyhow go and light people's candle lah!
Haha.. wait the pastor scold then she knows ah...! :sweatsm:

Thank you, divinemoment! :D Keke, i don't smoke...

Here is my first little contribution for the Miscellaneous section.
It is also one of our many shots amongst all the teammates at Tirta Empul.
Even before I was there, I have already made up my mind that (maybe stereotypically) I want a picture of a beautiful, lovely, young Balinese lady praying with water sprout spraying into the water either directly in front of her, or onto her hair.

But instead, what i got was this lovely, not-so-young, wrinkled-up Balinese lady whose grimace upon the water striking her, ahem..., chest, looked cute enough for me too.
No fish, prawn also good lah... Hahaha...
5004333637_29a73857fe_b.jpg

HAHA... where got people go around carrying lighter one lah?
Especially not 小妹妹 mah.
Anyway inside that catholic church, how can anyhow go and light people's candle lah!
Haha.. wait the pastor scold then she knows ah...! :sweatsm:

There was this weird guy in Hanoi photo trip that shift people's clothing.

HAHAHA.... AHAHAHAHA...
Wah lau! This can only come from one person! AHAHAHAHA...
And the idea of lighting a candle in a Catholic Church, risking being scolded by the Pastor, can ONLY come from the same one person!!! HAHAHAHA...
You really make me crack up yah!:bsmilie::bsmilie::bsmilie::bsmilie::bsmilie:

SereneXMM #62
Agung says, "Paddi field!"
Adrian says, "Stop!"
I say, " Shoot lor!" wahahahaaa...:bsmilie::sticktong
5003663615_0731047859_b.jpg

Once again, well done everyone. I enjoyed this thread a lots. :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

thanks limwhow

i plan to travel there, so these routes do come in handy for my trip planning
yeah Palasari really too far, just realise negara is that far too (interested becoz of mekepung - water buffalo race)

Hello blurfoto, let me express our gratitude on behalf of our team members.
I didn't expect you to actually pay attention to the routes on the map...!

Here is the last two ancient maps (hahaha...)

From Sanur to Palasari - a long long long distance for our 4th day of travel.
That is why SereneXMM was making so much noise - haha, just joking...

After we visited the Palasari Catholic Church in Palasari Catholic Village, we went to the nearby Ekasari Hindu Village to pay our driver Komang's family a visit.
Then we headed down to Rambusiwi.