it's a tough industry, i say.
so any freelancers still wanna shoot for cheap? wait kena sue then u know ar!
ok jokes aside.
i feel this thread is detrimental to the photography society on the whole. most of us here are photographers, doesn't matter if u are shooting for money or fun. i dun think we need to "beat" the photographer to death here.
if this was a forum for redress against bad photographers then sure, fire away. but this community is to promote photography and encourage one another. sure some of the tips are valid, like taking the time to scan thru suitable photographers by seeing a comprehensive portfolio and perhaps paying slightly more for an experienced one if it's an important event. but i am disturbed that we only see one side of the story.
hands up those photographers who's ever done a good job, where even the customer says so, but has not been paid. (mine's up)
hands up those photographers who's delivered above and beyond expectations but still get haggered for discounts. (mine's up again)
hands up those photographers who's done a job for cheap because the company insists on a very tight budget but the emcees present that nite are the flying dutchmen and glenn ong. (mine is DEFINITELY up!!)
i would say poor paymasters and entities with poor ethics are mainly corporations. i won't name any but i'm sure my stats are right. it's basically business, the longer u can owe, the better, time value of money, basic finance.
i'm not saying in this case that the company in question is BAD. no way, but please, stop bashing the photographer. u know i might end up seeing the images and agree that they suck, but i dun feel this is a condusive way to seek redress, by bashing him in a forum that should be promoting fellow photographers.
another thing, about posting his name in the forum. if you do that you're not wrong. but then i'll probably not be accepting any jobs referred from clubsnap in future. it's not worth it lor. one mistake could cost me my ricebowl. clubsnap is the most influential forum for singaporean photographers and not a place i'd like my name black listed. and don't say if i'm pro enuff i won't make mistakes. everyone's heard of the phrase : everyone makes mistakes. u might not wanna engage me again after my mistake, but u dun have to destroy my ricebowl.
i'm trying to be objective here and put myself in the situation as customer receiving BAD images for my wedding, touch wood should this happen. i sincerely believe that i would take the case privately, i might chatise the photographer or watever, but it stays private, provided he didn't intentionally c0ck up my wedding becos say, my enemies paid him to do so.. ahha ok abit far-fetched, but u get my point.
i repeat my first statement. it's a tough industry this one. how many here truly know this?
sorree if i've offended anyone, just my lengthy humble opinion that i seldom seem to give nowadays in clubsnap, maybe for fear of being blacklisted!! ahhaha duhz....