Aware, what is the main issue ?

The whole purpose is to let us aware there is homosexuality in Singapore. By not bringing up this issue doesnt mean that there are no homosexuals in Singapore. Maybe Singapore is still not ready to handle this issue.:dunno:

Wah, got such thing as a gay church one ah?? Haha

If I tell you now that, hey, being gay is so much fun and enjoyable, come join us my fren.....will you convert to a gay?

Elton John is a gay, so let's all stop listening to his gay music! Including his tribute song to Mother Theresa and Princess Diana.

Gianni Versace is a gay (RIP), let's all stop buying Versace clothing and start a movement to stop all celebrities from wearing clothing from gay designers. If not, Singapore will ban their movies here.

Some high ranking religious priests have admitted to abusing young boys, let all rise against that faith.

Please lah my fren, be more practical leh. The whole value of AWARE is about being inclusive and not discriminate. There's no promotion of anything negative at all.

I believe the facts in my post are true and have been reported in the various media.

I think you have contradicted yourself in that AWARE does not discriminate cause AWARE has discriminated itself by having gender divides from the start.

The whole purpose is to let us aware there is homosexuality in Singapore. By not bringing up this issue doesnt mean that there are no homosexuals in Singapore. Maybe Singapore is still not ready to handle this issue.:dunno:

I believe majority of Singaporeans, especially the younger generation are more open/ tolerant of homosexuals nowadays. Only a small group of extremists feel that these people should be sidelined and discriminate against.

Have any of these biased people go out anywhere in Singapore except to their Churches?? Just take a look around....guys and girls out there on the streets...we can't pretend it's not there.

i think Aware's position is 'inclusive'. in other word, it does not discriminate. quite different from 'promoting a certain lifestyles'.

I believe the facts in my post are true and have been reported in the various media.

I think you have contradicted yourself in that AWARE does not discriminate cause AWARE has discriminated itself by having gender divides from the start.

You mean your claim that there is a gay church in Singapore is true and widely reported in the various media?

And how has the old AWARE discriminate against the other gender? Where's the divide? They started a male wing, they welcome male members, they are
considering voting rights to male members. I don't see any gender divides from them.

But if you're talking about the ex New AWARE team, yes, they do discriminate against the other gender by making the male members sit at a corner away
from the female members at the EGM. They even protested when NMP Siew KH is sitted besides the ladies. Now THAT is indeed gender division from them.

You mean your claim that there is a gay church in Singapore is true and widely reported in the various media?

I'm refering to my whole post. And yes, there is a gay church in singapore of which the pastor in the excecutor of the chen su lan trust fund of which a portion of funds AWARE receives from time to time for certain liberal programmes. This was reported by the new paper on the weekend of the EGM vote.

LOL. With all this thing now I know what is AWARE and not confused them with AWWA @ AMK avenue 6.

I believe majority of Singaporeans, especially the younger generation are more open/ tolerant of homosexuals nowadays. Only a small group of extremists feel that these people should be sidelined and discriminate against.

Have any of these biased people go out anywhere in Singapore except to their Churches?? Just take a look around....guys and girls out there on the streets...we can't pretend it's not there.

Do the majority of people actually care about this homosexual issues?

For me, I dun care. It's really non of my business mah.

So what if AWARE indeed discuss or promote homosexuality? Without it, youngsters can still obtain the information online, like how we share our knowledge and skills in clubsnap.. Would you prefer youngsters to obtain such information online, without any proper guidance?

the loser here is Christianity.
They can go and justify all they want about why they did it, but they crossed a line they shouldn't have in the first place. Mdm Thio had no right to force her philosophy upon a decades old and respected institution in Singapore through sneaky means.

And their sexual education programme, what should they have said in their programme material?
To mention and acknowledge homosexuality's existence is in line with their tolerant philosophy. You think teenagers aren't aware that homosexuality exists? Wake up to the new world.

I suggest they take a leaf out of a buddhist approach towards life and learn to accept other people.
Jesus would not have approved of this sort of attitude.

Do the majority of people actually care about this homosexual issues?

For me, I dun care. It's really non of my business mah.

yah I don't understand why people make so much noise about homosexuality. it's as if it's such a big problem and all our kids are turning homosexual.

a bigger problem is the number of young girls having sex wayyyy too early and dangerously too.
maybe people should focus on that instead.

yah I don't understand why people make so much noise about homosexuality. it's as if it's such a big problem and all our kids are turning homosexual.

a bigger problem is the number of young girls having sex wayyyy too early and dangerously too.
maybe people should focus on that instead.

I totally agree on your above 2 posts. I believe the focus on the Christian groups are way too narrow minded. Having premarital sex and being gay are
both a sin in the bible, and I believe most Christians will commit the first sin as compare to the second one. So there you go.

When Brittney Spears was still very young, she made her pastor proud by saying the will lose her virginity only in marriage.
She is made a poster girl in her church.

Now, what has happen?

I don't think there is only one main issue here. There are many issues to deal with. There is no need to take sides as well, as far as I am concerned. Both sides has issues that we have to deal with. This is a need to be more objective and look at the issues and deal with it rather than to let emotions run amok and start slamming at each other. At times I feel like this is a football game with supporters on both sides with all the cheering and jeering.

Within a pluralistic society, each of us have our own thinking and value systems. As long as they are within the legal boundaries, we will not be in the wrong and there is no way any group or person can sway it one way or the other.

The 'evil' in society is always there but there again, what I consider evil may be fully acceptable to others. We can't always expect others to teach our children the 'right' thing. In fact, the more you tell children not to do it, the more they want to do it as they are always curious by nature.

I fully agree with MOE that the teaching of values to our children starts from the home. However, the common mistake we make is telling our children what not to do. As said, this triggers their curiosity and in fact, focuses their attention on to it. What we need to do is to stay positive with our children and encourage them in the correct direction and divert their attention away from the negative things. But all this takes time and effort, which, I am sorry to say is totally lacking in our society today. Rome is not build in a day as they always say. If we keep telling the children that vegetables is good everyday and set an example ourselves, I am sure it will make some progress if we start them early.

So let AWARE be aware that there are lots of things to be done. The rightful people are back at the helm. Move on. Do the right thing!

I'm refering to my whole post. And yes, there is a gay church in singapore of which the pastor in the excecutor of the chen su lan trust fund of which a portion of funds AWARE receives from time to time for certain liberal programmes. This was reported by the new paper on the weekend of the EGM vote.

I think you are tarnishing the reputation of Dr Chen Su Lan and belittling his charitable trust fund :nono:. AWARE receives funds from a temple too, does that mean that is a gay temple??

And for the last time, AWARE is not just about homosexual issues. They help troubled, battered and abused women from all walks of life, regardless of religion, nationality, beliefs
or sexual orientation. That's what's most important.

They don't turn away help from a troubled female just because she's a lesbian. That's the reason why they must be inclusive. It's unconditional help for the women out there. Take religion
and homosexuality issues out of AWARE please, there are women out there who needs genuine help.

Go preach about your obsession with homosexuality all you want, but don't belittle an organization that's been doing good to the public for years.

Aware's saga is a clear sign of some struggling to have a proper correct sexual direction, however they cannot and therefore resort to alternatives or their own kind.

i think MOH & MCYS should attend to these folks affected by sexual issues and social rejection, sometimes it could be mental related, else the rejection from the society will force such into something worse... if left unattended too long.. the lifestyle message of theirs will be seen as acceptable and a norm.

we all know in our hearts... since day one " a baby are made thru a combination of male and female " same kind cannot produce.. animals also know that !

note also that the people who took over AWARE sneakily were upper middle class people.
I may not have the proper statistics on this, but I'm guessing the people who actually approaches AWARE for help are not from the same upper middle class sector.
And I'm also guessing that a majority of the people who approach AWARE for assistance are not christian.
Funny how these women suddenly decided they were the champions for disfranchised women.

I think you are tarnishing the reputation of Dr Chen Su Lan and belittling his charitable trust fund :nono:

And for the last time, AWARE is not just about he homosexual issues. They help troubled, battered and abused women from all walks of life, regardless of religion, nationality, beliefs
or sexual orientation. That's what's most important.

They don't turn away help from a troubled female just because she's a lesbian. That's the reason why they must be inclusive. It's unconditional help for the women out there. Take religion
and homosexuality issues out of AWARE please, there are women out there who needs genuine help.

Go preach about your obsession with homosexuality all you want, but don't belittle an organization that's been doing good to the public for years.

why only AWARE for women in trouble ?

i believe bodies like MCYS or MOH have the resources and talents to attend to these affected individuals in the our society.. i feel more confident if such area is handled by a professional govt ministry than a group like Aware ... :think:

note also that the people who took over AWARE sneakily were upper middle class people.
I may not have the proper statistics on this, but I'm guessing the people who actually approaches AWARE for help are not from the same upper middle class sector.
And I'm also guessing that a majority of the people who approach AWARE for assistance are not christian.
Funny how these women suddenly decided they were the champions for disfranchised women.

Worst still, they actually installed CCTV in the AWARE office, causing possible insecurity to women who go there for counseling. Where's the sensitivity? How to be leaders of NGO?

We see a diverse team of committee members from the current AWARE, and if I'm a minority race woman seeking for help, I can have a peace of mind knowing that there will be no prejudice.

why only AWARE for women in trouble ?

i believe bodies like MCYS or MOH have the resources and talents to attend to these affected individuals in the our society.. i feel more confident if such area is handled by a professional govt ministry than a group like Aware ... :think:

actually the government ministries do help but the government ministries cannot do all the grassroots work, they rely on NGOs set up by well-meaning and passionate individuals to help them cover certain bases.

if you talk to the people at MCYS you'll find that the NGOs are essential partners to help them cover a multitude of areas that they can't handle themselves.NGOs get funding through MCYS

The government is not the solution to all of our problems. The government will always have their own agenda and directgion which may not be the belief and direction of some people.
Which is exactly one reason AWARE was set up. We should be thankful that such people exist in society, otherwise there would be no voice to speak up against the prejudiced and misguided opinion that the government had of women back in the 80s.