Availability of Nikon D800 in Singapore

That is why I think it does not make business sense... Reseller will just refuse to order.. and this also hurt both DSLR, Lens and P&S.

Therefore, we should tell them off when we see these nikon reps.

They are thinking like this because there is so little D800 going around so they are thinking of the best way to leverage the most sales through the D800 shortage issue.

To them, it makes business sense, they will cooperate with the reseller that can help them sell the most P&S cameras since it will look good for their sales quota.
What is the incentive for them to allocate limited D800 units just based on demand from resellers. Since there's a shortage, Nikon reps will help those resellers that help to boost their sales quota.

Its the classic you scratch my back and I scratch yours mentality.

RRP for D800 is $4,488, can't earn $1K lah. $500 maybe.

Cost Price for D800 is about $3300 & $3500 for D800E, if the dealers buy in package with P&S cameras.

Wow good to know that, you work for Nikon or you are a dealer?

If that is true, how much will street price be when supply stabilise? 3600?

chngpe01 said:
Wow good to know that, you work for Nikon or you are a dealer?

I doubt so, if he really is working for Nikon or dealer, he will be risking his job or his company dealership, nobody will be so stupid to do such a thing

hehehehe but he sounds as if he knows everything, cos I thought cost price is rather a sensitive subject amongst staff and dealers or selected ppl :)

true that, but he does sound like he's trying to imply that he knows all the trade secrets ;p

mogwai said:
true that, but he does sound like he's trying to imply that he knows all the trade secrets ;p

Ya... To tell the truth, I work for a company closely related to Nikon SG & I can tell you the costing he posted is wrong... I also will not disclose the costing as well least losing my job as well...

And those who keep posting about how dealer are forced to buy Nikon P&S for their D800/D4, things are not so simple as you think as the contract has also other terms and condition which is beneficial to the dealers as well...

Think of it, if all the dealers gang up to not take the deal than what?

For now that's all I can say so no need for you all to "blast" at the Nikon rep...

strikeback4 said:
Ya... To tell the truth, I work for a company closely related to Nikon SG & I can tell you the costing he posted is wrong... I also will not disclose the costing as well least losing my job as well...

And those who keep posting about how dealer are forced to buy Nikon P&S for their D800/D4, things are not so simple as you think as the contract has also other terms and condition which is beneficial to the dealers as well...

For now that's all I can say so no need for you all to "blast" at the Nikon rep...

Well, that means there are certain truths to the rumor floating ard abt PnS with D800 order. Good to know. I just hope this is temporary...

No blasting intended :). More like "hint-hint, don't put job at stake"

Anyway, I think most of us are really waiting too long. Keep getting tempted by some watches I've been looking at...

Well, that means there are certain truths to the rumor floating ard abt PnS with D800 order. Good to know. I just hope this is temporary...

well, its very common in the business world to have such practise, just that because not everyone is getting their D800 so they vent their frustration on something else... once everyone is happily playing with their D800 than this incident will be long forgotten by everyone

It is already happening, only a few shops are getting stock and some long time Nikon dealers are refusing to take any.

I have seen the contracts, the reports are pretty much accurate but it does vary a little for different dealers.

Blasting the rep is useless but I know a lot of dealers are complaining directly to Nikon Japan and getting their customers to do the same.

well, its very common in the business world to have such practise, just that because not everyone is getting their D800 so they vent their frustration on something else... once everyone is happily playing with their D800 than this incident will be long forgotten by everyone

.....and how soon will that be?

There are so few D800 in Singapore it is not funny.

Will stick with my D700 till the dealers have their fills. By then believe price will be < 4k.
Not willing to be a sucker

I have told all whoever came to me deciding between 5Dm3 and D800(e). I told them, D800 is vapor ware (we know it exist but it just not available kindda like 1DmX) and it might be weeks or months to get one and nobody can ensure anything. If really need one, get 5Dm3 first. Can change later on when/if D800 is more readily available.
On a side note, it will be interesting to see how Nikon screw up a superior product launch. Over the next 3 quarters I will be study the sales of 5Dm3 vs D800. It would be interesting to know how Nikon SG reports back to their HQ. Or how the Nikon CEO reports to his board of directors.

I have told all whoever came to me deciding between 5Dm3 and D800(e). I told them, D800 is vapor ware (we know it exist but it just not available kindda like 1DmX) and it might be weeks or months to get one and nobody can ensure anything. If really need one, get 5Dm3 first. Can change later on when/if D800 is more readily available.
On a side note, it will be interesting to see how Nikon screw up a superior product launch. Over the next 3 quarters I will be study the sales of 5Dm3 vs D800. It would be interesting to know how Nikon SG reports back to their HQ. Or how the Nikon CEO reports to his board of directors.

.............. they dun want our PnS cameras but still want our D800(E) ........ we told them to dream on ..................... :p

I don't think it would be a direct order from Nikon JP but more probably that Nikon SG want to boost their P&S sales that's why they came up with this strategy after knowing how popullar is the D800/E and a lot of people is looking for it.

I take example of USA & Europe, if it was nikon JP request their would have been same issue in the other launch countries as well

the CEO would project a large image on a projector, with a huge bank of photographers covering Olympics events and Euro 2012, all using Nikon cameras... cause they pushed out the D4 along with the D800 in time for both events, and have priority delivered those cameras to those pros... :bsmilie:

That is why I think it does not make business sense... Reseller will just refuse to order.. and this also hurt both DSLR, Lens and P&S.

From what I was told, dealers were so called 'threatened' to take an order regardless ai or mai.

Not by choice. So mostly, all took one order at least, and is now stuck with the PnS.

Cross fingers, keep waiting...