Are you ready to change the way you live?

sigh. Dudes, if you want to see what damage romantics are doing, here's an example.

Often environmentalists will link CO2 to disasters like Katrina.

And if you're a romantic, who think the solution is in reducing CO2 will lead to reducing the number/severity of storms, therefore saving lives/property, you're wrong. Consider one of the largest environmental movements in history, the Kyoto Protocol. Experts agree Kyoto is more of a symbolic gesture. In other words, pretty useless.

Consider Katrina in New Orleans. 700 people dead from mostly a Cat 2/1 storm. Now consider a country like Taiwan. Taiwan often get typhoons with ratings of Cat 2/3. How many people died? Usually less than 100. Often just a few tens. What's the difference between Taiwan and New Orleans? It is the level of preparedness. Taiwan has storms every year and learnt how to deal with them. Simple things like ensuring proper drainage, proper flood control, nailing of roofs, evacuatations, etc

These measures are way cheaper than Kyoto, and unlike Kyoto actually saves lives and property.

So stop crapping about reducing environmental CO2/pollution emissions when more practical and useful things can be done. We already have a generation who think people died in Katrina because of global warming. It is not. People died because they were not prepared.

And to prevent further loss of lives in similar ways the solution is not to reduce CO2/pollution, but to educate others, study and implement these preventive/precautionary measures in risky areas. Stop doing useless things like Earth Hour and instead get the priorities right. Or at the very least stop poisoning the minds of the next generation into thinking reducing CO2/pollution is the sole solution to every environmental problem.

There is no debate here because the global message to all leaders is to do both. Reduce CO2 emissions and prepare for more extreme weather (which then leads to a whole new debate about economics).

If you want to be forward thinking, you don't just put a plaster on a problem, you find the root cause to reduce/fix the symptoms to the problem.

Dude, dunno why you keep calling it romantic. Please return to the laws of thermodynamics to get a better understanding of processes

Here's my romantic thought - the way to a harmonous life is to balance yin and yan ;)
Do you think the yin and yan of the world is in balance?

state wide infrastructure planning? please look at the thread title again.:sweat: unless u are that influential...

that is a simple way to see things, in the event of an evac on a personal level, 1 leaves many things behind, as landslides in Malaysia & fires in Australia has shown, there are reported looting. true or not i do not know, possible or not, why not?

also, humans being humans do develope a strong attachment to their belongings, eg, a photo of their love 1s. a family heirloom (piano maybe?).

yes we should exercise individual responsbility, unless u have intimate knowledge of the inner workings of the people of New Orleans, dun try to sound like u know them & their reasons for not doing something to prevent lose of lives.

not waiting for govt to tell...? can u point out in a general safety practice (any kind) locals have adopted that is widely practised that is not govt initiated?

on "... wait for govt to tell..." my part let me give u an example, of people risking catching the new strain of flu travelling to affected parts of the world in the name of work. ignoring personal safety & that other their family members they went, even if they get infected & spread that virus to their family members... reason, "gotta go, gotta go... *shrugs*" :faint:
That is precisely my point!

As individuals, you weigh yourown risk vs the risk appetite you have. You bet on the wrong decision, dun blame others. As a saying goes. Want to **** then find toilet. Sometimes too late or toilets full liao.

sORe-EyEz, pretending to be a citizen of New Orleans replies... "yes, mayor. i will move to Mount (wad have u in New Orleans)! oso, can i buy a submarine with a heavily subsidised state discount?" :sweatsm:

dun need to do the Titanic "u jump, i jump (cheesey crap)":bsmilie:

To pretend citizen.

Pls see my previous post in this thread. You need to vote for me first then I can be pretend mayor. :D

Mayor or not. I've convinenced the state govt to open up O-Leng-Shan for development liao. It is only 300km away and 100m above sea level. Gurantee even if all the ice in the world melts, you still have 20m margin before O-Leng-Shan floods. You can even ride a bicycle to work as it's mostly downhill somemore.

As for submarine, the state have budget only to subsidize swimming lessons and a goggle and snorkel set. If you really want a submarine,. You might like to consider joining the already state subsidized submarined banks or automakers. They are the experts in this area.

There is no debate here because the global message to all leaders is to do both. Reduce CO2 emissions and prepare for more extreme weather (which then leads to a whole new debate about economics).

:bsmilie::bsmilie: Oh--kay....good. At least now, unlike your previous post, immediate action to cope with weather disasters deserve a mention.

I must confess, i don't know much about economics. Would you mind educating us on what economic issues will present itself? And also, which should take a higher priority, reducing CO2 emissions or implementing immediate measures to cope with extreme weather?

Dude, dunno why you keep calling it romantic. Please return to the laws of thermodynamics to get a better understanding of processes

Ah heck, i have no idea about thermodynamics either. Would you mind telling us how thermodynamics will be of relevance?

:bsmilie::bsmilie: Oh--kay....good. At least now, unlike your previous post, immediate action to cope with weather disasters deserve a mention.

I must confess, i don't know much about economics. Would you mind educating us on what economic issues will present itself? And also, which should take a higher priority, reducing CO2 emissions or implementing immediate measures to cope with extreme weather?

Ah heck, i have no idea about thermodynamics either. Would you mind telling us how thermodynamics will be of relevance?

LOL - things are mentioned depending on how the discussion is led. It would be wrong for me in my limited knowledge to say what would take a higher priority. The plaster is always a quick fix. Dealing with the root of the problem can take more time and expense and re-education. Countries will tell you about the impact on their economies.

However perhaps the question should be what can we (as individuals) do? Can we reduce our pollution/CO2 emissions or can we implement measures to cope with extreme weather?

BTW Dude would love to tell you lots about economics and science. However it would be better for you to do some discovery yourself and then come back and have a chat. You can start with the Financial Times, the Science forum that I sent you to, or just general research. Anyway dun want to spoon feed you too much :)

That is precisely my point!

As individuals, you weigh yourown risk vs the risk appetite you have. You bet on the wrong decision, dun blame others. As a saying goes. Want to **** then find toilet. Sometimes too late or toilets full liao.

i already got ur point but i can tell u the reality that people do, do things that put safety on the backseat.

.... & i have give u a very good example. so, can u contribute 1?

To pretend citizen.

Pls see my previous post in this thread. You need to vote for me first then I can be pretend mayor. :D

Mayor or not. I've convinenced the state govt to open up O-Leng-Shan for development liao. It is only 300km away and 100m above sea level. Gurantee even if all the ice in the world melts, you still have 20m margin before O-Leng-Shan floods. You can even ride a bicycle to work as it's mostly downhill somemore.

As for submarine, the state have budget only to subsidize swimming lessons and a goggle and snorkel set. If you really want a submarine,. You might like to consider joining the already state subsidized submarined banks or automakers. They are the experts in this area.

i did vote for u, the box next to ur name i colour it black black with my pencil, every tiny corner somemore. :bsmilie:

i think e flood come b4 the O-Leng-Shan residential area, or shanty town is completed... :sweat:

mr mayor, i m not an ape living on trees. i m a modern man with many modern necessities. how can u expect me to live all my stuff & evac with goggle & snorkel set? would u do e same?... the banks got giant billion dola$ float under them, i dun have... :cry:

Ho ho ho. Suddenly remembered this thread.

LOL - things are mentioned depending on how the discussion is led. It would be wrong for me in my limited knowledge to say what would take a higher priority. The plaster is always a quick fix. Dealing with the root of the problem can take more time and expense and re-education. Countries will tell you about the impact on their economies.

Do you then think too little emphasis is given to preventive/immediate action and too much emphasis given to fighting global warming/reducing co2?

However perhaps the question should be what can we (as individuals) do? Can we reduce our pollution/CO2 emissions or can we implement measures to cope with extreme weather?

A more relevant question is do we (*as individuals) continue to emphasize on reducing pollution/co2 or recognise resources should be spent more effectively elsewhere. The problem here is the mindset of people. If people generally agree it is wrong to spend billions on Kyoto and instead use the money to save lives in Bangladesh, pretty soon world govts will be inclined to listen.

BTW Dude would love to tell you lots about economics and science. However it would be better for you to do some discovery yourself and then come back and have a chat. You can start with the Financial Times, the Science forum that I sent you to, or just general research. Anyway dun want to spoon feed you too much :)

Ok, after spending 24 hours studing, i now have a rudimentary grasps of basic economics and science. Now maybe you can share what economic/thermodynamics knowledge you have on this issue.

i already got ur point but i can tell u the reality that people do, do things that put safety on the backseat.

.... & i have give u a very good example. so, can u contribute 1?
Example?

Already mentioned loh. Want to **** then find toilet. Not example meh?

i did vote for u, the box next to ur name i colour it black black with my pencil, every tiny corner somemore. :bsmilie:

i think e flood come b4 the O-Leng-Shan residential area, or shanty town is completed... :sweat:

mr mayor, i m not an ape living on trees. i m a modern man with many modern necessities. how can u expect me to live all my stuff & evac with goggle & snorkel set? would u do e same?... the banks got giant billion dola$ float under them, i dun have... :cry:
Aiyoh! You color the vote black black? No wonder lose lah! New computerized voting must tear the tab like parking coupons. Due to the flood, the only computer left was those ticker-tape type. Haiz. Lost an invalid vote. :(

Your understanding of modern man is going the dino way. The new modern is "nature". Like it or not, stone age is the new in-thing.

Lastly, that is why I ask you to join the banks. They have billions to float them. They have higher priority cuz they can have billions more in roi. Dun blame me, it the bean counters that puts your roi to be goggle and scuba set. In fact, bean counters have warned of accelerated depreciation and wanted to cut away even the goggles. But I stood firm in my support of the citizen's welfare. :D

Aiyoh! You color the vote black black? No wonder lose lah! New computerized voting must tear the tab like parking coupons. Due to the flood, the only computer left was those ticker-tape type. Haiz. Lost an invalid vote. :(

Your understanding of modern man is going the dino way. The new modern is "nature". Like it or not, stone age is the new in-thing.

Lastly, that is why I ask you to join the banks. They have billions to float them. They have higher priority cuz they can have billions more in roi. Dun blame me, it the bean counters that puts your roi to be goggle and scuba set. In fact, bean counters have warned of accelerated depreciation and wanted to cut away even the goggles. But I stood firm in my support of the citizen's welfare. :D

sorry to pretend mayor, next time i will ask the person in front of the queue for updates.

thank u pretend mayor! :lovegrin:

yours sin-sORely,
the pretend citizen.

if u think a choked WC is a flood like Katrina... :flush:
eerrmmm...not the same meh?

water and junk kenna choke mah... former in the pipes, latter in the streets. :D

Hmm...so if everyone on this planet held their breaths, then the CO2 levels will also subside...:bsmilie: After all, there's 6 plus billion of us here all pumping out tons of CO2...

They should organize a "hold your breath 30 seconds" event - unless some idiot wants to hold their breath for an hour...go right ahead.

i have a better idea. Why don't everyone shave their heads bald? A shiny bald head is like a mini polar cap. It reflects the sun's rays back into space. Good for fighting global warming.

Remember, every little bit counts!!

Hmm...so if everyone on this planet held their breaths, then the CO2 levels will also subside...:bsmilie: After all, there's 6 plus billion of us here all pumping out tons of CO2...

They should organize a "hold your breath 30 seconds" event - unless some idiot wants to hold their breath for an hour...go right ahead.

i have a better idea. Why don't everyone shave their heads bald? A shiny bald head is like a mini polar cap. It reflects the sun's rays back into space. Good for fighting global warming.

Remember, every little bit counts!!

You guys better dun giv algore any more ideas :sweat:

Some threads post their alternative views, others are just made in an attempt to mock. You are too kind to take note of the latter.