Alpha A100 (Official)

Oh... what about AS??? It's now called Supersteady shot which is like similar to the videocam thing... wonder if it is still CCD based?

It's obvious that Sony has worked on the firmware extensively... 3fps until limit of media... remains to be seen if it's constant 3fps or not... if really so, it really trounces our 7D lar.... I also really want to know the write speeds to card... I realise on this recent trip to Thailand, that even if u can burst shoot mode but if u cannot write fast enough, cannot continue to shoot immediately... missed quite a few shots this way... :(

really like this lens range ...hope it performs admirable and sony dun drop bombshell on those hoping that forward compatibility is maintained perfectly :bsmilie:

SAL1680CZ.jpg

dr34mc4st3r said:
really like this lens range ...hope it performs admirable and sony dun drop bombshell on those hoping that forward compatibility is maintained perfectly :bsmilie:

SAL1680CZ.jpg

Looks like this will become my walkabout lens...

TME said:
Oh... what about AS??? It's now called Supersteady shot which is like similar to the videocam thing... wonder if it is still CCD based?

It's obvious that Sony has worked on the firmware extensively... 3fps until limit of media... remains to be seen if it's constant 3fps or not... if really so, it really trounces our 7D lar.... I also really want to know the write speeds to card... I realise on this recent trip to Thailand, that even if u can burst shoot mode but if u cannot write fast enough, cannot continue to shoot immediately... missed quite a few shots this way... :(
AS still there and it has integrated as a dust shaking feature off the CCD which has a special coating that can remove dust easily.

Super SteadyShot® Image Stabilization
The Sony® α (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera builds image stabilization into the camera body, so all lenses benefit from anti-shake performance. And along with higher ISO sensitivity, Sony’s Super SteadyShot® system minimizes blur from shaky hands so you can take sharp, clear photos with hand-held camera in situations that would normally require a tripod -- and also helps both extended telephoto and macro close-up shooting.

Anti-Dust Technology
Changing lenses in a DSLR can allow dust to enter the camera -- so to keep the CCD imager clean for better pictures, the Sony®  (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera utilizes both static-free anti-dust coating on the CCD filter and anti-dust vibration that automatically shakes the CCD to dislodge dust each time the camera is shut off.

Drudkh said:
AS still there and it has integrated as a dust shaking feature off the CCD which has a special coating that can remove dust easily.

No official word on the AS leh... only supersteady shot... the anti-dust thing is really cool... and now we have access to the Carl-Zeiss lenses... but the 16-80mm is a DT lens... really looking forward to the 7D replacement... hopefully I will not be disappointed... will definitely change if the performance improves to match or exceed the 30D, D200 or even reach the 5D...:think:

TME said:
No official word on the AS leh... only supersteady shot... the anti-dust thing is really cool... and now we have access to the Carl-Zeiss lenses... but the 16-80mm is a DT lens... really looking forward to the 7D replacement... hopefully I will not be disappointed... will definitely change if the performance improves to match or exceed the 30D, D200 or even reach the 5D...:think:
updated my post above, read the highlighted in red. Sony is tricky describing the feature which I believe, they couldn't use the trademark word.

btw
Anti-Dust Technology.
Changing lenses in a DSLR can allow dust to enter the camera -- so to keep the CCD imager clean for better pictures, the Sony®  (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera utilizes both static-free anti-dust coating on the CCD filter and anti-dust vibration that automatically shakes the CCD to dislodge dust each time the camera is shut off.
anti-dust does right!!! instead of penalising user when he starts the camera, the thing kicks in after the shooting is done - isn't that nice :bsmilie:

those lenses look pretty slick. but how come no SSM appearing anywhere?

satay16 said:
those lenses look pretty slick. but how come no SSM appearing anywhere?
Yes, the same 2 lenses, 70-200 f/2.8 & 300 f/2.8

zcf said:
Seem like there are two colour available
DSLR-A100 (my guess is silver again :dunno: )
DSLR-A100K (black)

Seem like this have cut down some feature from 5D like
ISO 160 instead of ISO 100
No ISO button

Though, it's has improve on others features.

Carl Zeiss® Vario-Sonnar T* DT 16-80mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom (equivalent to 24-120mm in 35mm term), why it's range is like Sony R1 lens range 14.3-71.5 f/2.8-4.8 (equivalent to 24-120mm in 35mm term)? :sweat: May be it's a same design? :think:
K for kit? ;)

Drudkh said:
updated my post above, read the highlighted in red. Sony is tricky describing the feature which I believe, they couldn't use the trademark word.

Why cannot?? They bought over the technology lock, stock and barrel lar...

dr34mc4st3r said:

SAL1680CZ.jpg

this is cool!
i love this range!

alamak just realised. never see that the cz 16-80mm lens is "DT" lens....meaning no use for FF cameras..but then again i dun think i will ever have the money to buy a FF sony dslr :cry:

alamak, 5D replacement instead of 7D, going to give it a miss.

forbytes said:
alamak, 5D replacement instead of 7D, going to give it a miss.
Rare appearance!!! :bsmilie:

Wow....this sounds promising.....;)

Drudkh said:
Yes, the same 2 lenses, 70-200 f/2.8 & 300 f/2.8

hmmm..........if these are still the only 2 lenses with SSM, aren't we going to be haunted by slow af for eternity?

satay16 said:
hmmm..........if these are still the only 2 lenses with SSM, aren't we going to be haunted by slow af for eternity?
You never know the new Alpha body AF mechanics might turn out to be faster than the SSM. ;)

satay16 said:

That depends on hoe effective the AF is in terms of the software and the hardware... it isn't always necessary to have SSM on the lens to have very fast AF especially for the small zooms... and if the lens is IF (internal focus), it should be very fast if the motor is very poweful and the algo governing the focussing is also very robust... I wonder if the 16-80mm is IF plus front element does not rotate.... any ideas?

Drudkh said:
You never know the new Alpha body AF mechanics might turn out to be faster than the SSM. ;)

imagine, a lazer hologram AF system.:bigeyes:
if i remembered correctly, this function did appear in some of sony's camera.