Alan Photo vs MS Colour

kettobase said:
from my truest experience,....i dun mean to put any shop down or wat....
i dunno.......but once (4 months ago) i book a lense from the AMK shop u guys mention......they quote me the price which i accepted and book 1 unit hence.....and when the lense finally came in ~2mths.....they requote the price in a tele conversation...to 40++ more.....and gave me the reason that the boss say low stock and hence price increase and ppl in queue to buy that lense......i never go there since....i feel wat is agreed is agreed....i just feel its not right and hence i didnt get the lense from them....its a principle prob...not a $$$ prob.

TK is my only fave/best choice now...friendly,...plus quoted price means quoted price...no sudden increase due to low availaibility or high demand crap reason.....

Was thinking if I should share my experience about MS and just when I was thinking if I am the only unlucky one to experience bad service, your post was read! So it was not only me!!! :bsmilie: Also experienced similar situation before. Worst is once awhile the service attitude also falls down the drain! Sometimes I felt like I am begging to buy stuffs from them. Ask questions without getting response and realised that they were like day dreaming... kana ignored sometimes though I WAS quite a regular and had introduce quite a number of friends to make purchase there. Their "friendliness" seemed kinda fake after awhile...

Hai... what to do?? :dunno: I guess perhaps my money stinks??? hahaha... :bsmilie:

Now I go to TK and CP. TK is really good in terms of service: friendly, good price, trustworthy(in terms of reservation and also not raising price due to "low stock") and swift. Simply love them. CP is also good if you don't look blur and like a tourist. Some of the staffs there are very knowledgable, for eg Chris at the tripod section and Chia at Marina Square. Like to chat with them too.

And as for the receipt re-issue thing... like that also can ah!!! :dunno:

BreakThru said:
Was thinking if I should share my experience about MS and just when I was thinking if I am the only unlucky one to experience bad service, your post was read! So it was not only me!!! :bsmilie: Also experienced similar situation before. Worst is once awhile the service attitude also falls down the drain! Sometimes I felt like I am begging to buy stuffs from them. Ask questions without getting response and realised that they were like day dreaming... kana ignored sometimes though I WAS quite a regular and had introduce quite a number of friends to make purchase there. Their "friendliness" seemed kinda fake after awhile...

Hai... what to do?? :dunno: I guess perhaps my money stinks??? hahaha... :bsmilie:

Now I go to TK and CP. TK is really good in terms of service: friendly, good price, trustworthy(in terms of reservation and also not raising price due to "low stock") and swift. Simply love them. CP is also good if you don't look blur and like a tourist. Some of the staffs there are very knowledgable, for eg Chris at the tripod section and Chia at Marina Square. Like to chat with them too.

sorry for a newbie, what is the receipt re-issue, used for what???

All so jialat meh? Then MS Colour is the only decent one ah? :o

What's TK? Where's it located & wat's the actual name of the shop?

heard it is at shaw ctr

I prefer AP. I know a fellow there called James. He is quite friendly. I've got most of my things from there..

But u better do your homework before u go there. Better to bring along a friend who knows somebody from there. U can mention them which shop is selling the item at what price. Must be reasonable one though.. They can give u cheaper if not the same price.. But u should know what u r looking for.. They are not the best in their technical knowledge..

But most of the time the shop is like a fish market...:bsmilie: :bsmilie: too busy.

Btw, u can go to CP for their promotional items. Nobody can beat their price for their promotional items (only). (like tokina lens with freebies...etc)

One day i'll try to go MS too..:thumbsup:

If u

If u[/QUOTE]

typo.:sticktong

lightning said:
You can buy first, ask ms color to reissue a receipt when the IT show comes, so you can claim the free gift with canon. (Don't fill up your warrant card first!!) Don't think the price will differ much from now till then!

:nono:

U've got PM...

TK foto is at 2nd floor of shaw building.
Just got my Tamron 90mm Macro and extention tube there.
Good price and good service but closed early.

BreakThru said:

:thumbsup: that wat i think too....i have experienced that 'huh u talking to me' and spaced out prob from the AMK shop....haha...same same......and the sudden jack of price was the last straw,...

eh..i always think MS is very very good, price good... service is good(ask for auntie florence)
u have to do some homwork b4 going to any shops.. be it CP, alan... TK or MS.. if not how to get a good price? NO salesman will let go a prey if they find him easy to make extra commission, this is the "harsh" world we are living in..
but if u know the price, then bargain from there... MS is good in terms of service.. price not always cheapest but definately not the most expensive!
this is jus my thought from dealing with MS.:bsmilie:

I also stay near MS Colour so that's the first place to go to check out new lenses. Used to frequent AP too but everytime I go there, too many people so can't get the personalised service.

I don't mind paying a little more if I get the freedom to test lens and stuffs. If the stuffs I buy are just 'hit-and-run' (e.g. filter), then I would go to the shop where it's the cheapest. To me, AP usually offers better price than MS Colour. But sometimes, the cost of travelling there doesn't justify the savings. So it all depends.

Service quality-wise, I have no comments. Like what the rest said, you need to do homework before buying what you want. If you don't and expect the shop staff to educate you, then you have to see their mood and the traffic lor... afterall they are still human and run a business. If the shop is crowded, it's hard for them to spend a lot of time with one customer, so you may feel neglected. If the shop is deserted, their eyes will follow you wherever you go, then you feel pressured. It's really very situational and varies with each person. Service industry is like that one: cannot expect consistently good or bad service from a single company/shop/outlet unless it's the same sales person.

In good popular shops (shall not name any), I see customers wait around for their turn to be served while the staff gives their best service and attention to each serving customer. But imagine if the boss changes his attitude one day and wants to increase sales, I'd say the staff would be frantically multi-tasking customers and pushing sales!

heheapa said:
TK foto is at 2nd floor of shaw building.
Just got my Tamron 90mm Macro and extention tube there.
Good price and good service but closed early.
TK at shaw building is it at neil road, near outram park?

Razor54 said:
Both AP & MS is fine.... If for good service, John 3:16 at Funan is excellent, provided they are not pre-occupied with serving other customers.

But at AP, either do your homework well or you must 'know' the people there......then you can get fantastic deals. Just like everything in life, you got to know the right people at the right time...

Good luck!:D

Yeahhh man.... know the right people at the right time...
Thanks god tat I know u.
Wahahahhaaaaaa... ;)

Anyway... Have no problem with AP at Simlim Sq... funan one not sure...
John 3:16... as mentioned... very good customer service when they are free.
As for MS... cant comment much as me never really go inside the shop before.

Just my two cents' worth of view.

i go MS look for jackson or florence. i go cathay(PP) i look for another florence or the boss's son. most cathay fella serve 'ang-moh' better than locals unless you know them personally.

for AP, used to go there but now only beside window. dunno why but just don't feel gd there.

john3:16, well...... good....look for sam or leslie, whom i usually look for. unfortunately the older boss retired liao.

my 2 cents worth experience.

can i know where is MS colour? at sim lim too?

lightning said:
You can buy first, ask ms color to reissue a receipt when the IT show comes, so you can claim the free gift with canon. (Don't fill up your warrant card first!!) Don't think the price will differ much from now till then!

Er...... Isn't that......????

danlin said:
can i know where is MS colour? at sim lim too?
MS is at ang mo kio central.... near to s11 kopi tiam...:bsmilie:

mysterio506 said:
2. Jon 3:16
They quote high price & yet u said they are sincere :bsmilie:

IMO, sincerity does not equate to lowest price.

John 3:16's prices are a bit higher (also depends on what "a bit" mean to you), but the staff there are sincere. They will not sell you something you do not need (provided you share with them your needs lar...)

Talk to Leslie (the "minority race" salesperson) or Samuel...