Alan Photo vs MS Colour

MS Color service better, staff friendly.

Alan Photo staff are like, ai lai mai suak, take it or leave it.

BlueBull said:
MS Color service better, staff friendly.

Alan Photo staff are like, ai lai mai suak, take it or leave it.
yeah lol, AP , i go there too, when i ask them more, they seem reluctant to reply.:dunno:

No experience with AP. Always get my stuffs from MS Color. People there are friendly and non pushy. Recommended to many of my friends and they are happy with their service.

Yes, go to MS Color at AMK. Has some bad experience at AP Funan.

wat happened? care to share in here?

Jackals said:
ya...did check with MS.
quoted me $760 + 512mb mc.

now thought of holding of the purchase, cos thinking that the IT show coming in jun, the manufacturer's suggested retail price might change :)

You can buy first, ask ms color to reissue a receipt when the IT show comes, so you can claim the free gift with canon. (Don't fill up your warrant card first!!) Don't think the price will differ much from now till then!

Will MS Color do this?

lightning said:
You can buy first, ask ms color to reissue a receipt when the IT show comes, so you can claim the free gift with canon. (Don't fill up your warrant card first!!) Don't think the price will differ much from now till then!

from my truest experience,....i dun mean to put any shop down or wat....
i dunno.......but once (4 months ago) i book a lense from the AMK shop u guys mention......they quote me the price which i accepted and book 1 unit hence.....and when the lense finally came in ~2mths.....they requote the price in a tele conversation...to 40++ more.....and gave me the reason that the boss say low stock and hence price increase and ppl in queue to buy that lense......i never go there since....i feel wat is agreed is agreed....i just feel its not right and hence i didnt get the lense from them....its a principle prob...not a $$$ prob.

TK is my only fave/best choice now...friendly,...plus quoted price means quoted price...no sudden increase due to low availaibility or high demand crap reason.....

lastboltnut said:
Did you pay deposit?
i got another friend who's interested in buying the S3....are u still keen?

lastboltnut said:
Did you pay deposit?

no deposit....does it matter.......i didnt pay deposit at TK too......but i got it at the agreed price....which was still cheaper than the price w/o the 'sudden 40++ jack' from the AMK shop.

somemore when i tried to bargain with tk guy....he said something like....'actually this lense selling like hotcakes,....and i can actually sell others at higher price....but since i quoted u the price 2 months and you are very keen, i maintain that price, but no more discount'........this is what i call reliable....

kettobase said:
no deposit....does it matter.......i didnt pay deposit at TK too......but i got it at the agreed price....which was still cheaper than the price w/o the 'sudden 40++ jack' from the AMK shop.

somemore when i tried to bargain with tk guy....he said something like....'actually this lense selling like hotcakes,....and i can actually sell others at higher price....but since i quoted u the price 2 months and you are very keen, i maintain that price, but no more discount'........this is what i call reliable....

Agreed with you. If the price has been agreed, then both party should honour it.

As there is a saying, it is cheaper and easier to retain a customer than to get new customer.

Not trying to defend or offence anyone.
If the price of the booked/reserved item is selling at a lower price when stock become available, would you still get it at the agreed higher price? :think:

Razor54 said:
Both AP & MS is fine.... If for good service, John 3:16 at Funan is excellent, provided they are not pre-occupied with serving other customers.

But at AP, either do your homework well or you must 'know' the people there......then you can get fantastic deals. Just like everything in life, you got to know the right people at the right time...

Good luck!:D

yap agree..... both are actaully okay if you know the people there.... if i go AP, will look for the sale fella I deal with, not anybody else.... if he is busy, I will walk off and come back later... yes, AP is always packed with people esp weekend.... so don't expect "good service" lar.... it is same everywhere in every shops.... MS more of a neighbourhood type of store and not that packed as compare to AP.... and best get to know the people there and you are alright............. but they don't stock up a lot of items, usually need to get them to order....

Wow, didn't knowAP was that "bad". How's Cathay Photo? How does it compare to MS Color. My uncle went once & the guy there seemed quite friendly. Don't know if he's honest or not though since I don't know much about cams. Would appreciate comments about Cathay such as price, honesty, etc. Thanks!

Would there be any difference in pricing for e-quote and phone-quote at MS?

wheek said:
Wow, didn't knowAP was that "bad". How's Cathay Photo? How does it compare to MS Color. My uncle went once & the guy there seemed quite friendly. Don't know if he's honest or not though since I don't know much about cams. Would appreciate comments about Cathay such as price, honesty, etc. Thanks!

Cathay... hehe. See face give quote. See my face, quote me $499 for a 420EX. :angry:

csisfun said:
Cathay... hehe. See face give quote. See my face, quote me $499 for a 420EX. :angry:

email them for a quote lor..then they can't see your face :p also the email quote usually cheaper than face-to-face quote. recently i call them over the phone to ask about canon 85mm f/1.8 and they quote me $670. then i email for quote and they replied $606 before gst.

Sometimes, Cathay, pretty bad IMHO. Pretty arrogant if you ask me.

You can always ask for email quotes with GST. :thumbsup: