A70 Frequent Error Message: CHANGE THE BATTERY PACK

I don't have the flickering problem, but have had that weird battery bug problem on my Sanyo NiMHs and normal batts.

Once the camera is 'warmed' up enough though, it should be ok. Whatever the case the A70 series takes some very nice photos :)

but only if they confirm it's a CCD problem rite??
mine no problem leh..anot i dun mind getting a newer a95 :D

daylight said:
any one here managed to get Canon to let u trade-in your out of warranty a70 for a a95 for 138 bucks more ??

some one at hardwarezone managed to get it.

mine was $509 :D

agnoxis said:
Bought July 2003 @ MS Colour.

If I'm not wrong, I can even remember the price was $506 haha. It was an upgrade from my A40.

overall..the a70 seems to have many varying problems? :dunno:

sunnyday said:
but only if they confirm it's a CCD problem rite??
mine no problem leh..anot i dun mind getting a newer a95 :D
i guess if yours is fine, dun go and disturb canon for a new a95. cos i believe they are doing this out of goodwill, and thus we shld not exploit them yah?

sunnyday said:
mine was $509 :D
mine was $599...

anyway, before it completely spoilt, it needed a warm up of 30secs every few hours

nah..i wouldn't..i still prefer my a70..got sentimental value wan u noe :D

zorrus said:
i guess if yours is fine, dun go and disturb canon for a new a95. cos i believe they are doing this out of goodwill, and thus we shld not exploit them yah?

Hi guys. I experienced the same problems in Dec last year and I already spent $140 to change the CCD. I wonder if there's anything I could do, cos now that I hear abt the trade in for A95, I am feeling damn upset that I wasnt given the same option.

Gex said:
Hi guys. I experienced the same problems in Dec last year and I already spent $140 to change the CCD. I wonder if there's anything I could do, cos now that I hear abt the trade in for A95, I am feeling damn upset that I wasnt given the same option.
well, if since after the repair, if ur A70 is working fine, then i guess dun nid to go to canon. cos if u wanna asked for an exchange for A95, your cam must firstly experienced probs such as dead CCD etc. moreover, u nid to dig out another $140. so wats the point yah? :)

add me to the list

i got problems with my A70 too :(

Does my LCD flickering problem add to the list?

Mine & My friend's also "Kaputt"
Add 2 sets to your list

Hey guys, my A70 only has the very annoying 'change the battery pack' error, which happens after I recharge my batts. Is that enough to go ask for (free) repairs? I bought mine in 2003 as well....

Kirin said:
Mine & My friend's also "Kaputt"
Add 2 sets to your list

Both sets are having CCD problem, no proper image, just many lines on screen.
We have not tried to claim a replacement yet, do not know can or can not.

Kirin said:
Both sets are having CCD problem, no proper image, just many lines on screen.
We have not tried to claim a replacement yet, do not know can or can not.

Hi Kirin, bring the camera to the customer services centre at Harbour front, they will knoe what to do with it. U can ask them for the upgrade plan to A95 :)

Guess most of the earlier complaints shd have been ans by Canon.
I got my A95 too, anyone came to any other alternative settlements ? :think:

agnoxis said:
For ease for everybody here, let me just state the nicks of Canon A70 owners who've had problems with their cameras...

1. agnoxis
2. zorrus
3. coldfish
4. actionman
5. SuperRay
6. eel
7. OzOn3
8. daylight
9. tigersg

Feel free to add on to this list if you're a disgruntled A70 owner. Something tells me we've barely scratched the tip of the iceberg.

Another disgrunted user here... will contact Canon (S) first thing tomorrow, hoping to get a upgrade.

Hey i also have the same batt problem when i use sanyo and gp batts but after i switch to sony cybershot batt no problem liao leh.....as for screen fickling i check wif canon they say a70 may have this but will not affect the pic ..so .....

my a70 just died on mi
totally fuzzy screen..like a spoilt tv
will be goin down to the service centre..wonder if they allow the $140 upgrade since it's after the warranty period oredi..anyway..u pple think the $140 upgrade is a gd idea??wat's the cheapest selling price of a95 now?
got another fren..totally canot power on..just got a replacement a95 for $140..hope i get the same deal :sweat:

sunnyday said:
my a70 just died on mi
totally fuzzy screen..like a spoilt tv
will be goin down to the service centre..wonder if they allow the $140 upgrade since it's after the warranty period oredi..anyway..u pple think the $140 upgrade is a gd idea??wat's the cheapest selling price of a95 now?
got another fren..totally canot power on..just got a replacement a95 for $140..hope i get the same deal :sweat:
Hi Sunndyday

You just need to go to the service centre, ask for an upgrad, they are quite friendly and polite, should not have any problem, I got mine replaced with a smile.

A95 is a good Digicam, S$ 140 is worth it.