A cure for LBA

ok lah, no $1k. Just near. GM5561T SGD430, RRS monopod head USD226, base plate USD65 but somehow shipped over plus GST around SGD490. so total abt SGD900+.

rich guy... :bsmilie:

anyway my monopod setup also cost close to SG$900... but mine is 5541 which i think has a sturdier legs than 5561T which i feel i can break it any time...

i dun use monopod head cost for the price i think its crazy for dedicated usage... so i use a normal ball head instead... ppl might think its overkill but my M20 only cost SG$450 brand new... :bsmilie:

anyway my monopod setup also cost close to SG$900... but mine is 5541 which i think has a sturdier legs than 5561T which i feel i can break it any time...

i dun use monopod head cost for the price i think its crazy for dedicated usage... so i use a normal ball head instead... ppl might think its overkill but my M20 only cost SG$450 brand new... :bsmilie:
The 5541 is a good one if not for the closed length. I would have picked it as well. I was also considering a ballhead but did not quite like the idea of the 360 degree of freedom. The acratech long-lens head is another good alternative if size is of no concern.

hmmmmm..only have $80 monopod & ballhead for my sigma 170-500 :cry:.. don't be too rough with it good enough..usable.. :sweat:

ok lah, no $1k. Just near. GM5561T SGD430, RRS monopod head USD226, base plate USD65 but somehow shipped over plus GST around SGD490. so total abt SGD900+.

Wow you plonk a lot of money for your accessories (overkill imo) but you're still stuck with the old and discontinued K10D... :rolleyes:

I heard a rumor saying it is because, k10d can freely choose to use the in-body motor or SDM motor for SDM lens, by freely upgrading/downgrading its firmware.

anybody confirm or bust this?

Wow you plonk a lot of money for your accessories (overkill imo) but you're still stuck with the old and discontinued K10D... :rolleyes:

seb, i think you post a wrong question here. members in this P forum has not much cure for LBA. Anyway, this forum is partly and soley to promote LBA :bsmilie: Stop reading this discussion, go out and shoot!

Hahahaha.... but which lens should i shoot with. Already have around 7 primes since I became a Pentaxian. So how? Maybe a new film slr body. Heard LX is really good. hehehehe... and a Black spotmatic ;p

You mean got a thing call monopod?!?!? All along, i've been looking for flat pieces of rocks and the Y between tree branches to support. hehehehe :bsmilie:

I heard a rumor saying it is because, k10d can freely choose to use the in-body motor or SDM motor for SDM lens, by freely upgrading/downgrading its firmware.

anybody confirm or bust this?
Yeah, you are right, except for lenses like th DA*55 where there is no more screw drive on lens. Anyway, k10d ISO100 kicks asses! But sadly, I am not a low iso shooter. ha.

Other types of LBA:

1) Bought lens, used it, sold it, then regretted it. Buy same lens again.
2) Bought lens, found cosmestic condition not expected as discribe 100%. Found same lens in better shape, bought it. Sold 1st lens at loss but someone's gain. Collector, user or both?:think:
3) We heard of trigger happy, how about mouse clicker addiction? It happened once and ended up with 2 pcs 85/1.4. :bsmilie: Anyone game for my spare?

Other types of LBA:

1) Bought lens, used it, sold it, then regretted it. Buy same lens again.
2) Bought lens, found cosmestic condition not expected as discribe 100%. Found same lens in better shape, bought it. Sold 1st lens at loss but someone's gain. Collector, user or both?:think:
3) We heard of trigger happy, how about mouse clicker addiction? It happened once and ended up with 2 pcs 85/1.4. :bsmilie: Anyone game for my spare?

Haha... Ben, can totally understand what you went through.

I have this problem when I pm to reserve a lens only to realize that have to live on maggie noodles for one week. Lucky, the lens got haze which wasn't described in the ad. Can smoothly turn it down without much embarassment. Close shave for me. :sweat:

85/1.4? What kind of lens is it? K, M, or... FA... waraoz... I'm 死性难改.... :rolleyes:

Now got new term call MCA = Mouse clicking addiction and mine's PRA = PM Reservation Addiction. ;p

I think the ultimate cure is to define your own theme of photography and pick the best tool for your usage. Definitely tips and reviews are helpful, esp from pros on the Internet.
And one thing for sure, definitely dun buy those low-resolution or severe color-distortion cheap lens.
After you find a few good ones that you will often use, maybe can try constrain yourself by using these only instead of buying/borrowing around, then you are satisfied with your ability instead of the sheer size of collection.

Haha... Ben, can totally understand what you went through.

I have this problem when I pm to reserve a lens only to realize that have to live on maggie noodles for one week. Lucky, the lens got haze which wasn't described in the ad. Can smoothly turn it down without much embarassment. Close shave for me. :sweat:

85/1.4? What kind of lens is it? K, M, or... FA... waraoz... I'm 死性难改.... :rolleyes:

Now got new term call MCA = Mouse clicking addiction and mine's PRA = PM Reservation Addiction. ;p

It's a FA* type.
Can someone get it out of my hand?
Of course applicable to high ballers.:bsmilie:

Well to curb LBA will have to do a NVDE follow by a CBA. If CBA is negative then DSC lor.

It's a FA* type.
Can someone get it out of my hand?
Of course applicable to high ballers.:bsmilie:

FA* :bigeyes: Yours is the super high level poison... I'm still at M and K level. Hehehehe....

Spheredome, I don't understand what's with the NVDE, CBA, and DSC? Left to my imagination, it will turn out to be something vulgar or something that we all don't want. :bsmilie:

I think the ultimate cure is to define your own theme of photography and pick the best tool for your usage. Definitely tips and reviews are helpful, esp from pros on the Internet.
And one thing for sure, definitely dun buy those low-resolution or severe color-distortion cheap lens.
After you find a few good ones that you will often use, maybe can try constrain yourself by using these only instead of buying/borrowing around, then you are satisfied with your ability instead of the sheer size of collection.

Yup! No more low-res, color distorted lenses for me. Hmmm... you're talking about selective quality lenses. I LIKE !!! But I'm looking at CZJ lenses... :sweat: on the other hand, i've got many years to acquire them. No hurry, no worries either.

What lenses are good for nostalgia/vintage type of effect? I'm in love with those old photographs - it's a little low-fi but quite sharp. Or do I have to rely on photoshop, etc...

Put a sock in it. No, seriously. :cool:

I'm loving my "poor quality" Russian lenses. I don't mind colour shifts and all that. It's what you call character. A sample from from my $30 Helios 44-M.

4162905776_997febd8fa.jpg

Ok, I had to PP it a bit... ;p

Wow! you guys are rich! I can only effort a $70 monopod with small ballhead and using it at least once a month.

Since topic got abbreviation so I must also sync in too :bsmilie:

Translated: Well, to curb Lens Buying Addiction, will have to do a Need Versus Desire Evaluation follow by a Cost Benefit Analysis. If CBA is negative then Direct Self Control lor ;)

FA* :bigeyes: Yours is the super high level poison... I'm still at M and K level. Hehehehe....

Spheredome, I don't understand what's with the NVDE, CBA, and DSC? Left to my imagination, it will turn out to be something vulgar or something that we all don't want. :bsmilie:

Put a sock in it. No, seriously. :cool:

I'm loving my "poor quality" Russian lenses. I don't mind colour shifts and all that. It's what you call character. A sample from from my $30 Helios 44-M.

4162905776_997febd8fa.jpg

Ok, I had to PP it a bit... ;p

I almost... okay, okay. I laughed out loud when i saw the sock comment. Sheer nylon with an elastic band over the lens?!?!?!? I don't know what to say, already imagining how funny it will look and sick comments about "why are you wrapping stockings over your len?"

Baracus, Russian lens are anything about poor quality. They are so durable, i scratched my helios 44-2 and the photos still come out super sharp. Heard that you can use green wool over it and it still works. :)

Hmmm... I must summarize:

To cure LBA:

1) Give in to it = like no cure
2) Get someone (usually the wife aka finance controller) to control the impulses = very good
3) Plonk a certain sum of money and do not buy unless some other lens go first = smart
4) Go for really quality lenses - buying one can break the bank = very smart
5) Go for really really cheap but good lenses - buy too many also break the bank
6) ... shrugs... take more photos and forget about getting new lenses for now = most rational
7) Define a theme and buy only what you use (robinhook)
8) View more camera lenses porn (I really like the Fengwei Playlens edition in B&S) :bsmilie: