7D6N Myanmar Discovery Photography Tour (Part 2)

chempaka #41 -Mahagandanyon Temple

Now that I have a closer look, he is the same monk whom SK1968 captured re the pimple/blemish on his cheek. This was taken near the river (U-bein Bridge).

Now, this is one unhappy monk. Nice shot.

Here is my sunset shot again - Before And After, with sk1968's help!

5379643605_089c237a45.jpg

5380542159_699246f807.jpg

Would have look better if the pictures were side by side but then, I don't have the software to do it.

Thanks, sk1968 for bringing more rays into my picture!!

Nice.

You're next
1165298180_i34GT-O.jpg

Cooking time
1162371365_o6qDf-O-1.jpg

One scoop each
1165298388_EBbhm-O.jpg

After a hearty meal
1165298394_875Mh-O.jpg

Welcome aboard
1165298629_ZLjN2-O.jpg

I never thought much about b/w pictures but after looking at these nice shots, have changed my mind. Very good.

LowLights, Thank You, Thank You .. *bow *bow

p/s : For sk1968's benefit, if my photo was taken in RAW, he would have done an EVEN BETTER job!

Time to go raw .

To add further to what Lowlight has said and I was also one of those trying so hard to be purist in the film era. If I may add my 10 kyat:

"Post processing is very important in the digital age and anyone denying this and not able to edit effectively and creatively are deluding themselves and not keeping up with the times. Digital photography has given us a new paradigm from capture to process to output. It's no longer about capturing the "perfect" image. That's rare and you waste a whole lot of time aiming for that elusive goal. It's old, dated thinking."

A bit strongly worded but just trying to kick start you. Ha ha. And don't regret later, you will get addicted.

wah, so strong words....i would cry if u told me that in my face...haha

Why, thank you too, SK1968.
The one on top with the young monk in red robe, I found the old monk in the background a little too distracting.
So I did what you did - 1 hand 2 legs and DHL lor... Hahaha...

really? can't tell if u had not said it yourself..

Thanks

Thanks Sis

Here is another conversion .. this time White Background

5381068713_833082f0fe_b.jpg

Look at the sparkles in the eyes...tua kong..

Time to go raw .

that was my decision after my first try with sony's jpeg after zhangjiajie's trip. raw has given me a lot of room for play...but recently, after seeing chempaka's DRO, i began to read up and found out that my friend, who's another avid sony photographer himself, shared with me that DRO in jpeg can do wonders as well. now i am also looking into that, dun think i would drop raw and go jpeg though, but certainly worth a look as it offers some saving in time without compromising on IQ that is...so do that for your side too, u may find that it may not be an absolute must to go raw, it all depends on situations..

Unfortunately Nikon has no in camera HDR capability. Maybe have to re-look at the Alpha SLT.

i am not referring to hdr. just the in cam jpeg engine's settings..if done and used correctly, can yield wonderful results wo need to stick to raw. i will explore that.

Here is a picture of the monk captured above. Among his many previous roles, he was a member of a rock and rock band and lived in America for years. He asked himself what was the purpose of his life and found his answer. He wants to go out and spread the message to other westerners after finishing his studies.

5359851121_420a984d6e_z.jpg

OT a bit....just want to share this hard to come-by experience from someone like me...

it has been a long long time (can't remember when was the last time) since I get to sit down in a Mac (or kopitiam for that matter) (Chinatown Point) during normal working hours (just as everyone else is going to work, though i go to mine much earlier, but not today)...relax, seeing the world goes by....
I am not skiving today, all for the name of work....but this won't happen often...perhaps only when i retired...as i just saw an ah pek ordered a coffee and a macmuffin...sat down enjoy and read newspaper...haha

i am not referring to hdr. just the in cam jpeg engine's settings..if done and used correctly, can yield wonderful results wo need to stick to raw. i will explore that.

Ah so....

This shot calls for keen observational powers. Well timed.

This row of tress was pointed spotted by Chempaka. Credit to him and actually chicken to far for me to notice until downloaded. Luck or divine?

Thanks so much Serenexmm, Limwhow, lowlights, Daoyin, Kei and SK1968 for comments on my b/w monks.