7D6N Myanmar Discovery Photography Tour (Part 2)

OH, we got to keep tab on Professor Murphy's acts....

1. cecil forgot his luggage by the bus at Bagan airport
more to come
......:devil:

2. Also left his hand language behind the lake resort motel

3.........? Next...

Since we are now at Mandalay, my first photo of Mandalay and contribution to this city would be to clarify that the 'eternity' tummy belongs to neither LowLights or Kernik...:bsmilie:

5377082562_c1bd2b10bd_b.jpg

2. Also left his hand language behind the lake resort motel

3.........? Next...

slowly slowly, let the story unfolds the tally of Professor Murphy's score against SgTrekker :)

Try again,

5379907165_221224d580_m.jpg

While everyone is busy shooting Bagan's sunset on the top of a temple, here is a temple standing under the grey sky with tall wild grass in the front, silently telling its glory pass and hopeless present

Many thanks to SK1968, otherwise your guys would not have chance to see this photo:)

ay, how come the photo has now shrunk ?

limwhow #133
And as if the Mingalaba musicians know the magic word, they all shouted *"Huat Ah...!".
Wah lau, that was THE magic word that struck right into the hearts of this group of photographers.
So of course they also all 'Huat' together in terms of 1000Kyat notes lor...
[youtube]CYUpwaVtf3M[/youtube]

* Translation for our Ang Moh teammates:- Huat in Hokkien means "Strike it Rich!".

The "Huat Ah..." part was the most funny of the night....

CNY is round the corner, let us all HUAT AH.....:)

Day 4 - Mandalay: En Route to Mahagondayon Monastery

10:30am.
We hit the road once again soon after arriving at Mandalay.
The feel of Mandalay is a little different as compared with Bagan, and certainly with Yangon.
I would like to just post some very simple record shots of the street scenes.
Nothing much but just to give ourselves something to remember Mandalay by...

limwhow #140
5380183809_d407b5bf76_b.jpg

limwhow #141

5380776660_09408c4eeb_b.jpg

limwhow #142

5380181239_bc1c53e881_b.jpg

limwhow #143

5380782972_a19dde04b1_b.jpg

Some historical accounts of Mandalay, again from my so-called print-outs in the handphone:
Like most former (and present) capitals of Burma, Mandalay was founded on the wishes of the ruler of the day. On 13 February 1857, King Mindon founded a new royal capital at the foot of Mandalay Hill,
ostensibly to fulfill a prophecy on the founding of a metropolis of Buddhism in that exact place on the occasion of the 2,400th jubilee of Buddhism.[8]
The new capital city site was 25.5 square miles (66 km²) in area, surrounded by four rivers. The plan called for a 144-square block grid patterned citadel,
anchored by a 16 square block royal palace compound at the center by Mandalay Hill. The 1020-acre (413-hectare) citadel was surrounded by four 6,666-foot (2,032 m) long walls
and a moat 210 feet (64 m) wide, 15 feet (4.57 m) deep. At intervals of 555 feet along the wall, were turrets with gold-tipped spires for watchmen. (169 m).
The walls had three gates on each side, and five bridges to cross the moat.[9] In addition, the king also commissioned the Kuthodaw Pagoda, the Pahtan-haw Shwe Thein higher ordination hall,
the Thudhamma Zayats or public houses for preaching the Doctrine, and the library for the Buddhist scriptures.
In June 1857, the former royal palace of Amarapura was dismantled and moved by elephants to the new location at the foot of Mandalay Hill
although construction of the palace compound was officially completed only two years later, on Monday, 23 May 1859.

For the next 26 years, Mandalay was to be the last royal capital of the last independent Burmese kingdom before its final annexation by the British. Mandalay ceased to be the capital on 28 November 1885 when the conquering British sent King Thibaw and his queen Supayalat to exile, ending the Third Anglo-Burmese War.

limwhow #144
5380780372_6cdd7afeeb_b.jpg

limwhow #145
5380779178_e75612a532_b.jpg

limwhow #146
5380778106_63089f07e4_b.jpg

T R A V E L O G U E

Day 4 - Mandalay: Mahagondayon Monastery - The Monastery of a 1000 Monks.

We were originally meant to arrive at Mahagondayon to view the many novice monks lining up to receive alms for their lunch.
But I think we reached the Monastery just a little late and the monks are already eating.
But still, there was really quite many young novice monks here as subjects for photography.

A brief description of the Monastery:
There are one-thousand-plus monks, counting the novices, reside here to pursue their studies.
Mahagandayon, founded in 1914, is located in Amarapura, known as the "City of Immortality."

limwhow #147
5380831126_617f74a6b8_b.jpg

While everyone is busy shooting Bagan's sunset on the top of a temple, here is a temple standing under the grey sky with tall wild grass in the front, silently telling its glory pass and hopeless present.

Hi FreeEasy, welcome to the thread! I think you will find many photos in which you starred in and the photographers would willingly give you copies.

To your comments, we should add "..but looking forward to a brighter future". I think we all wish the land and all our Burmese friends a brighter tommorrow.

SereneXMM #14
5380286345_09855a85c5_b.jpg

SereneXMM #15
5380175577_7481a16bc0_b.jpg

Wah, beautiful portrait shot thru the eyes of love! :thumbsup:

Thank you for praising my beauty, reservoir88.
But... I looked left and looked right, but a bit too young-looking for comfort leh... HAHAHAHA....!

Here I was at Shwezigon Pagoda.
Like LowLights and Acpical, I was surrounded by many young and old lady bugging me to buy a gold piece, a butterfly, a couple of stalks of flowers.
End up I had many things thrusted into my hands.
I also didn't know what I gotten.
Ended up paying about 3500 Kyat for don't know what I have bought.
But one thing I knew, I managed to paste a few piece of 'gold' onto the pagoda.
For whatever blessing lah...

This monk seems like a very wise and enlightened one :)

5359476734_ae7673df8f_b.jpg

Last saw this type of bullock cart some 50 years ago in Singapore.

5379780467_1a454e2827_z.jpg

You must be one of those who ran all the way (abt 200 metres) to take the picture. Good setting showing the name of the temple.