50mm Summarit

One thing to note about using a digital RF or film. There's grain on film, so when using these soft lens , there's a certain limit of sharpening that can be done.

Unless u are shooting slides. Than again I have not seen or get good results using them on slides without tweaking and correcting the colors.

On M8 using iso 160 or 320 shooting raw , lots of tweaking is possible to get a nice tone and color.

Hope these info are useful for RF bro's here looking for vintage lens.

For film lovers , go for medium format..

Nothing bests medium format or large format for the tone without the grain.

Wah! Leica built a lens for digital cameras more than 50 years ago! :bsmilie:

haha... Boss if u offer modern coating services on old lenses ,many of us here will be very happy.

Than again thats bad news for new lenses because they lack of character.

The next closest to 50lux compare to f stop is the Summarit f1.5.
The new summarit is f2.5 bro. :) The new summarit 35/f2.5 is a good lens! buy buy buy:thumbsup:

///

need to save a bit more to get 2nd hand =)
Eyeing for zeiss 50 1.5 too

You sure you want a Xenon? It is uncoated and will flare even more! BTW, can use a 40.5mm filter, that was what I used on the M8. Also, I prefer the Summarit M-mount and not the LTM version. Canadian Midland version costs double.....:cry:

mint or not? hehe. pm me the price!

Bro...u said it well.

thanks Thomas!

haha... Boss if u offer modern coating services on old lenses ,many of us here will be very happy.

Than again thats bad news for new lenses because they lack of character.

Send to FocalPointLens to get coated if you want. I have used him for CLA and he is very fast. Quality work too.

mint or not? hehe. pm me the price!

thanks Thomas!

Mr Kwan "chope" the Xenon leh. Seems to be doing that for almost every lens under the sun. :bigeyes::bsmilie:

no la....the xenon I let go to lord vadar.... scared of his "force" :bsmilie:

A comparison shot between the older lens (Sumarit) and the newer one (Summilux pre-ASPH)

Direct from M8.2 camera JPEG

4375176847_ecc785ee8b_o.jpg

4375179255_741a8d77f1_o.jpg

P.S.: Lux with UV/IR, Sumarit without

Wow quite obvious differences between the two lenses. Hookonclassic, thanks for sharing.

A comparison shot between the older lens (Sumarit) and the newer one (Summilux pre-ASPH)

Wow...I like the 50lux pre-asph better :)

Vincent, those test shots are digital...I've noticed that older lenses works best on film than digital...just my observation...will continue to explore...

Send to FocalPointLens to get coated if you want. I have used him for CLA and he is very fast. Quality work too.

saw "FocalPointLens" here and there online. maybe should try.. thanks hacker.

The Rits more flattering for portraits tho....personally I like the "softness", tone can be easily adjusted and I agree with thomas, older lenses were made for film

4375179255_741a8d77f1_o.jpg

miss my pre asph.. dam gd lense ... best 50 i ever use without much tweaking.

The Rits more flattering for portraits tho....personally I like the "softness", tone can be easily adjusted and I agree with thomas, older lenses were made for film

I see. Boochap also like old lenses on film too. I prefer my digital work-flow .

Click on my own presets and do some adjustment. Dam fast and easy.

Now with my non pro flickr account I can only access to 200 of my pics. Dam lazy to find more example.

Summar or Summarit on M8

This pic taken by eamesboy

Now when I look at all my 50mm pics. The e46 pre asph's pic still the best..

Vincent, those test shots are digital...I've noticed that older lenses works best on film than digital...just my observation...will continue to explore...

I like both my older as well as modern lenses on digital.:dunno:

is it? how much to coat old lenses? Is your Xenon coated ;p

no la....the xenon I let go to lord vadar.... scared of his "force" :bsmilie:
wow. so kind of you.. haha. thanks! no force lah.

great Thomas. Do you personally find UV/IR affects image?

more contrast master wong :) you like contrasty stuff.. just like your affair with the m9

Frankly, I find that my 50 pre-ash Summ is better than my Noct for non low light shots.
yeah. sometimes I find it handles more better too... but the noct...