500D Users Thread

got mine 500D with the 18-200mm lens + 8GB card, tripod, extra batt and bag at harvey norman funan for 1949. Cheap or rip off? Paid another $280 for extended 5 years warrenty

since you have already bought it.. why worry whether it's been a rip off or good deal.. now you simply have to enjoy your purchase..
GO and SHOOT... stop worrying since it's been already paid...

Enjoy! welcome to the club!! :)

got mine 500D with the 18-200mm lens + 8GB card, tripod, extra batt and bag at harvey norman funan for 1949. Cheap or rip off? Paid another $280 for extended 5 years warrenty

I think it is a fair deal (refer to Canon price guide). I agree that the important thing is to enjoy your purchase. Go and shoot some pictures......;)

hehe i paid $172 for extended 3 years warranty. I also quite heart pain. but my sis said that when after the 1 year warranty my camera need to service I will be glad to have the extended warranty. more protection for my expensive camera.

think yours should be quite worth. if less than 5 years you wanna sell off with warranty can sell a higher price.

The Canon 500D with the EF-S 18-55IS Kit is sold for $1208 at Parasilk. Cheapest so far from the shops I have compared.

I need to ask, how important is the dry cabinet if I use the camera almost everyday?

The Canon 500D with the EF-S 18-55IS Kit is sold for $1208 at Parasilk. Cheapest so far from the shops I have compared.

That's cheap :o
But does it comes with any freebies ?

$1208 should be without GST. With GST should be around $1292.

the photos look very colourful.. did you PP them?

nope.. i never edit much besides cropping and inputing text. Honestly i don't know how to edit with photoshop much.. need to learnt from ppl.

i also did some close up pictures.. but not colourful flowers though..
but the colours look bright and colourful.. or is it my monitor? :)

hmmm.. could be? i bought a new laptop recently just so I could view the photos as it should have been. Cause my previous lcd was fading or sth..

ur photos looks vibrant...thanks to the hot sun...

I am in japan now, but cooling, but always gloomy...so all the photos turns out dull also...
will share some of the flower photo later..

Need some advise from those currently using the 500D. I'm using the Panasonic LX-3 and only choose the iA mode as I find it does everything reasonably well. Never bother with all the other mode as I'm just too lazy. As I believe, in today's technology, the camera should do all the work, leaving software to do the creative part. Now my question is, does the 500D have a similar mode. I notice from brochure, there's CA, A-Def, etc. Can the A mode do all these like the Pany iA. I want everything clear with no blur images just like you see in postcard. My first DLR was the 350D but the Auto mode just isn't up to par until discovering Pany iA which makes a lot of different. I changed the 350D for S5 IS for the zoom but still prefer DSLR. Basically, I want an idiot-proof holiday camera with enough zoom. My LX-3 will be the one I will carry in my pocket. My very first PnS was the Canon S1 and I find the colour very natural but being the first generation camera, it has it's short-comings.

The reason for asking is my consideration of getting it with the 18-200mm IS to the upcoming Pany GH-1. Pricewise they're about the same and does movie too. Call Canon technician and he says to shoot in 720p as at 1080p, you can hear a lot of clicking noise even with the 5D. 720p should be ok for me.

seriously, if you want auto, get a prosumer would be better...
dun ask me why, but I have the same problem like you when I was using Fuji S7000...the P mode works wonder for everything, and also the powerful flash..
now that I am using my 500D, everything seems harder..I have to take several shots to get the perfect setting..I guess, just need more reading up and also more training..

but i am liking my 500D much more, since there's so many thing to play with..

for PNS, get prosumer.
for fun, get DSLR.. :)

i feel like jumping to 500D.

If I can sell my 450D at 1k flat
then sell my S5 IS at 300k flat means can get liao.
hmm how? because right now the reason for the double cam is the video.

Any recommendations for bag for the following:-
Canon 500D
EF-S 18 - 55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS (attached to body)
EF S55-250 f/4-5.6IS
Canon 550EX flash
The above will be the minimum items to be carried.
Would be good if can carry 1-2 more lens.
Space for miscellaneous items e.g. blower, lens pen, memory cards, spare battery etc.

Do you think that the Lowepro Rezo 190AW is big enuf? Any current users with feedback?

FYI, the free EOS bag given by Canon doesn't seem able to accommodate the above.

450D to 500D......:confused:

looking for HD video?
if not that stick to what you've got lah. ;)

looking for HD video?
if not that stick to what you've got lah. ;)

yup the HD video is the bait. Right now I own the Powershot S5 IS and 450D, the sole reason being the S5 have a superb video recording, so now with the 500D , I get the best of both worlds with one :D