450D /EOS Kiss X2...Pls report..!!!

I personally find it very handy love the size and weight, its lighter than the 400d it will serve you well when you go for travel. The live view is good when you take those low angle shots n stuff. For the bugs, still haven find any and hope not to find any lol. I feel that the 450d a very good camera hehe my 1st DSLR ^^V need any other stuff feel free to ask ba ;)

same there.. still very new in DSLR.
as this is my 1st DSLR... anyway really loved it.!!:lovegrin:
I felt overall is a good camera for me..

May be the pro's out there can give some input for 450D.

any 3rd party battery recomendation for the 450 D ?

Can anyone please help to clarify whether is/are there any major issue(s) generally with 450D, like the 'underexposure problems' that it's predecessor 400d had?

I have not finished my testing yet.

But last night I managed to compare 450D RAW files to those taken with the 400D at ISO 1600 under incandescent lighting.

(i) Focus is similar to the 450D.
(ii) Incandescent metering used to be the Archilles' heel of the 400D; not so for the 450D. The latter meters 1/3 eV brighter than the 400D. So, you need no longer worry about underexposure problems with the 450D under artificial lighting. :bsmilie: The 400D meters well under daylight.
(iii) High ISO image quality for the 450D is about 1 whole stop better as well. While the 400D RAW files are filled with ugly greenish yellow blotches and white speckles, the 450D files are much cleaner. Very impressive. :thumbsup:

On the 450D, I use a Sandisk Ultra II 8 GB SDHC card. No errors so far.

I will be testing ISO 100 performance and focus accuracy with all my lenses tomorrow.

I have not finished my testing yet.

But last night I managed to compare 450D RAW files to those taken with the 400D at ISO 1600 under incandescent lighting.

(i) Focus is similar to the 450D.
(ii) Incandescent metering used to be the Archilles' heel of the 400D; not so for the 450D. The latter meters 1/3 eV brighter than the 400D. So, you need no longer worry about underexposure problems with the 450D under artificial lighting. :bsmilie: The 400D meters well under daylight.
(iii) High ISO image quality for the 450D is about 1 whole stop better as well. While the 400D RAW files are filled with ugly greenish yellow blotches and white speckles, the 450D files are much cleaner. Very impressive. :thumbsup:

On the 450D, I use a Sandisk Ultra II 8 GB SDHC card. No errors so far.

I will be testing ISO 100 performance and focus accuracy with all my lenses tomorrow.
hhahaa i think canon can employ you to be their QC tester/researcher liao la. so dedicated!

Part II of my testing. :bsmilie:

ISO 100 performance appears identical to the 400D. As expected, under daylight, both my 400D and 450D have identical metering which is perfect. But as pointed out in my previous post, the 450D has improved metering (+1/3 eV more than 400D) under incandescent lights.

Focus accuracy is the same as well with all my lenses. Phew... :sweat: This saves me a lot of trouble: no need for multiple trips to Canon service center at Harborfront. :bsmilie:

Overall impression: 450D totally rocks. :thumbsup: I really like the ISO display in the larger viewfinder. :lovegrin:

I notice that the specifications published on Canon's website, as well as specifications published on some review sites, claim a +/-3 EV range for exposure compensation. However, the online 450D manual specifies +/-2 EV. Could someone who has the 450D clarify which is correct? And are there any more discrepancies between Canon's advertising and what's delivered?

Well, what i feel is lesser the post processing the better. Too much manupilation just makes photography less meaningful.
Being able to tweak and change settings to the extent something sub-par looks great is commendable to one's Photoshop skills but kinda useless when youre talking about taking good pictures off the camera.

adept1, it would be nice to see a more dynamic range of pictures soon =D

Have to disagree with you here. Have you heard of Ansel Adams. He is one who is truly an artist, from the time of exposure to the production of the print.

For film, darkroom technique is equally significant to photography skills; similarly for digital, post-processing is the digital darkroom. Take black and white conversion for instance. Shooting monochrome on the camera, versus doing a proper conversion from a colour photo in Photoshop gives vastly different contrast values and different tonal ranges.

You can go two ways: choose to be a "purist", an irony, because shooting digital is no longer being a purist; the image is processed by the camera algorithm and image processor any way. Or, you can choose to expand your knowledge by acquiring digital darkroom skills.

an irony, because shooting digital is no longer being a purist; the image is processed by the camera algorithm and image processor any way.

That's so true. :thumbsup:

I guess most folks are not even aware of the Bayer architecture of their CCD/CMOS sensor. :bsmilie: I suggest that they go read up on sensor designs before making silly suggestions.

Basically, each sensor is made of groups of 4 colored pixels (comprising red-green-green-blue) arranged in a periodic pattern. This arrangement gives rise to what is commonly known as the Bayer sensor. The 2 extra green pixels are there to simulate the extra responsivity of the human eye to the green color. Due to this arrangement, the final picture (both color and sharpness) can only be inferred sensibly from the pixel (which only provides the voltage value for a particular color) read-outs after applying a complex computational algorithm. This algorithm is often termed as de-Bayering. As you can already see, what is recorded digitally is itself NOT what you see. (This is beginning to sound like The Matrix. :bsmilie:)

If you want to be a real purist, the closest thing is to return to the good old film days and develop the photos yourself. :bsmilie:

Thanks for the enlightenment and explaination from both calebk / doodah.

Well, what i guess i meant to say, more accurately put is "dont be over reliant on post processing" to do the job to make pictures look great, cause in doing so, its rather cheap (at least in my view la if there is too much photo-manipulation). Kinda like bad fundermentals in the picture but photoshop so dearly saves the day. For example, someone who constantly doesnt compose well and set exposures incorrectly could try to remedy their issues with crop tools and an array of tools available in PS, heck, add artificial bokeh too ( ok perhaps not the best example )

It makes it look as if one is a great photoshoper than a photographer if you get what i mean. But of course, since you explained the digital darkroom are todays photoshop and that purist can hardly exisit in todays D-SLR's, i understand that PS and the camera are now somewhat complementary.

Nevertheless, i somehow appreciate better if great photos come directly off the camera without overly manipulated by massive post processing.
(Yes the irony as you put it - purist thats not pure, if you would put it)

Hahs, i guess thats just my thoughts though =D

no updates on the amount of canon 450d users?? :cry:

Rubber_Duck --> EOS Kiss X2 with Kit 2 18-55 and 55-250 = ¥112953 after 13% off @ Yodobashi Camera Tokyo. (As for the exchange rate I shall leave it to you.
2) DjKitz ---------> EOS 450D + Kit 1 18-55 IS = $1350 at MS COLOR
3) sci60708 ------> EOS 450D + Kit 18-55 IS = ?? @ ??
4) uyiew ---------> EOS 450D + Sigma 17-70 + Canon 55-250 (Lovin it too!)
5) stevenc -------> EOS 450D + Kit 1 18 - 55 IS = $?? @ ??
6) Tianz16 -------> EOS 450D + Kit 1 = $?? @ ??
7) Doughnuts ----> EOS 450D + Kit 1 18 - 55 IS = $?? @ ??
8) Tesumi -------> EOS 450D + Kit 1 = $1340 @ LORDS camera and watches (lucky 9)
9) kuro ----------> EOS KISS X2 with Kit 1 at 1160SGD (converted at 1.39 rate, bought at MapCamera, Japan)
10)-------------->EOS 450D + Kit 1 18-55 IS= $1340 at MS Color
11)emptyxun----->EOS 450D + 18-55 + 55-250 (noob but feels shiok!)

Rubber_Duck --> EOS Kiss X2 with Kit 2 18-55 and 55-250 = ¥112953 after 13% off @ Yodobashi Camera Tokyo. (As for the exchange rate I shall leave it to you.
8) Tesumi -------> EOS 450D + Kit 1 = $1340 @ LORDS camera and watches (lucky 9)
9) kuro ----------> EOS KISS X2 with Kit 1 at 1160SGD (converted at 1.39 rate, bought at MapCamera, Japan)
12)happyflic------->EOS 450D body (just got it yesterday)

13)10-Dee-Q-------> EOS 405D + IS KIT = S$1100 (bought in Indonesia) +50mm f1.8 MKI + Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8

Just got myself a Canon 450D Body with 17-85mm f4-5.6 IS USM lens
and Speedlite 580EX II. :)

Also, I got myself a Crumpler 6 million dollar camera bag and
Sandisk extreme III 8 GB 20Mb/s SDHC card. ;p

i know everyone been talking about how bad the 17-85mm performs
but every lens have its pros and cons. If not, why buy SLR camera ?
If you have the shooting skills, you can still take a good picture.
That's what i believe !!!

Instead of listening to some self claim professional photographer here in this forum
that nagged about how bad this lens is. ;)
No offence but a fact about some members in this forum.

Getting the 17-85mm lens hood this coming week and the Digi-Cabi Dry cabinet.

Next i will be either buying the Velbon or Manfrotto tripod.

Off to shoot lor :)

Two more lens i will be buying. The Canon 17-55mm f2.8 and the Sigma 18-200mm
f3.5-6.3 DC OS lens.

And that will complete my travel photography pack ;p

yeah, i also got the crumpler 6 million dollar bag.. where u got it from and how much u paid?
as for the 450D, i am loving it every bit. After much tests against the 40D (my friend lend it to me), I feel the 450D's photo quality is on par with the 40D (except for the 3200 iso setting) and on top of that it packs itself with some feature not found in the 40D - its compact size (ease to travel with), big 3 inch LCD screen, 12MP resolution and live view..

Those who bought the set in Japan, is the menu in English?

You can download the english manual in Canon website.

Anyway, IMHO, I think not very worth to get from Japan... it's might be cheaper, but if the camera break down, you might have to paid for the repair and it's might cost more than the amount you save.

By the way, I finally decide and get the Canon 450D instead of the Canon 40D. Only took a few test shot and very happy with the camera except the battery compartment cover... the hinge of the cover is make of plastic and I think it's design in this way so that the cover can be remove by "unplug" it with a bit of force when installing the battery grip. But the hinge look really fragile and I hope I won't broke it.

Just my $0.02.

Have a nice day.

You can download the english manual in Canon website.

Anyway, IMHO, I think not very worth to get from Japan... it's might be cheaper, but if the camera break down, you might have to paid for the repair and it's might cost more than the amount you save.

By the way, I finally decide and get the Canon 450D instead of the Canon 40D. Only took a few test shot and very happy with the camera except the battery compartment cover... the hinge of the cover is make of plastic and I think it's design in this way so that the cover can be remove by "unplug" it with a bit of force when installing the battery grip. But the hinge look really fragile and I hope I won't broke it.

Just my $0.02.

Have a nice day.

for my case.. I'm staying in japan now... so should be no problem for me...hee hee...

I got my 450D (Kiss X2) in Japan.
The menu is all in japanese.
But I downloaded the menu in Canon English website.

here is some more pix using 450D.
Still learning and improving my skills...
Pls give your C&C....

showthread.php