1000D Photo Gallery for technical discussion (Part 2)

photo sharing should be carried out in the photo galleries.

these threads are for technical discussions.

Technical discussions??? I thought the thread title speaks for itself???

Hi rocfreaks,

we moderators have agreed that this is an equipment forum, thus images should not even be posted here, and chitchats should go to the kopitiam.
images closely related to TECHNICAL details of the equipment can be accepted, eg: comparison of bokeh, iso grain, etc.
but apart from that, ALL images should go to the gallery forums provided.

Dear mod, I can understand why photos should be posted to the galleries. Unfortunately, because of the nature of this thread - all sorts of photos, with diff genre and all that, it is hard to classify into the respective gallery without creating too many threads. After all, the common denomination for this thread is photos taken by 1000D. So is it possible to have a gallery that we can post misc types of photos under diff themes eg (well) 1000D photo gallery, Canon photo gallery, sunset themes, etc :think:

if you wish to let people know which camera you took the pictures with, you can put your camera model in the thread title and exif data in the content when you post in the respective relevant photo galleries.

Technical discussions??? I thought the thread title speaks for itself???
the way pictures are posted here now, nobody knows which camera it's taken by. no exif, no data, etc.

this is the equipment forum. if you want to post pictures here, please make sure they have technical value, example, 100% crops comparing noise or bokeh. not the random mumbo jumbo snapshots that are so rampant nowadays.

if you wish to let people know which camera you took the pictures with, you can put your camera model in the thread title and exif data in the content when you post in the respective relevant photo galleries.

Good point.

But let me put another way. All the thread in gallery (as far as I know) is individual threads ie all the photos belong to a single photographer. Is it possible to have a section where many photographer can put up their photos of all genre to share similar to this 1000D photo gallery?

ps: I am just finding ways to solve this 'problem' :sweat::heart::heart::heart::lovegrin:

Good point.

But let me put another way. All the thread in gallery (as far as I know) is individual threads ie all the photos belong to a single photographer. Is it possible to have a section where many photographer can put up their photos of all genre to share similar to this 1000D photo gallery?

ps: I am just finding ways to solve this 'problem' :sweat::heart::heart::heart::lovegrin:

you can post in the photo galleries then link that thread to a chat thread in kopitiam.

As usual, i only have 18-200 with me. I learned something dat night, when on tripod, switch of IS... (damn u all never tell me earlier!)

3500876772_a63a29be43_b.jpg

3500013947_88c9cd60d8_b.jpg

3500849100_db69d0f49c_b.jpg

3500858630_0360c515b5_b.jpg

3500867906_9c93da897b_b.jpg

#1 Great compo but i see some glare..maybe to long exposure or try higher F's?

#2 Tree trunk on left spoils what would have been a great pano

#3 More glare! Is it the exposure time? the F? or the filter on ur lens?

#4 Watch out the light from lampost at bottom left corner

#5 This one i like...very well composed though i still see some overblown lights

Nice colors and compositions but have to take note of the lights. Maybe it's the filter cos there are many cases of glare caused by filters. Netjack's shots are very clean but abit lacking in composition but probably that's bcos he's going for the reflections...my 20 cents hahaha

#1 Great compo but i see some glare..maybe to long exposure or try higher F's?

#2 Tree trunk on left spoils what would have been a great pano

#3 More glare! Is it the exposure time? the F? or the filter on ur lens?

#4 Watch out the light from lampost at bottom left corner

#5 This one i like...very well composed though i still see some overblown lights

Nice colors and compositions but have to take note of the lights. Maybe it's the filter cos there are many cases of glare caused by filters. Netjack's shots are very clean but abit lacking in composition but probably that's bcos he's going for the reflections...my 20 cents hahaha

Bro Dev, thanks again for the comments. We were actually waiting for u that night lah. Tot u stayed Bedok Reservoir. Hope to c u at the Motorbike performance , Spore flyers on the 16may, then can assist me in my flash photography... I'm very weak in that!

you are welcomed! Just say what i think...might not be the right thing leh! I'm not too much into flash oso lah...just put on ETTL and SSS. Only thing is i always go manual on my cam's settings. I feel that i can get better control whether on/off flash. It makes SSS more interesting rather than just use P or AV mode. I'm abit worried abt the Redbull bike event cos like Fleaz mention...might be too far for flash. furthermore it's free...sure alot of ppl. I think we must go very early so that can stand in front then got better chance of SSS

let this be the final reminder to those here who so happen to 'misunderstand' my earlier postings regarding picture posts in this equipment forum.

This is not a picture critique thread. this is a technical discussion forum. pictures for critiques and comments should go to the galleries and chats should go to kopitiam.

all non technical-related snapshots and comments will be deleted.

let this be the final reminder to those here who so happen to 'misunderstand' my earlier postings regarding picture posts in this equipment forum.

This is not a picture critique thread. this is a technical discussion forum. pictures for critiques and comments should go to the galleries and chats should go to kopitiam.

all non technical-related snapshots and comments will be deleted.

Thanks clown for the reminder ... I think it is human nature when we see an image/picture that the first thing we do is reply critiquing the image. Having said that .. just a reminder for those who WANT the C&C to post them in a gallery thread and then announce it at the TCSS thread.

Thanks

Thanks clown for the reminder ... I think it is human nature when we see an image/picture that the first thing we do is reply critiquing the image. Having said that .. just a reminder for those who WANT the C&C to post them in a gallery thread and then announce it at the TCSS thread.

Thanks
thanks netjackalsg. =)

hopefully the community here can evolve into a self-regulating one that the mods dont have to step in to intervene.

Hopefully this is classified under technical discussions. I just received my new toy so decided to try it out.

Does the images look reasonably sharp?

Both taken at 1/160s, ISO 1600, straight out of cam.
No comments needed on composition/subject etc., just a test shot.

Aperture: f1.8
Focus point on "Tarka Springs"
_MG_5887.jpg

Aperture: f4
Focus point on "Ingredients" (just below the Ritz logo) of the box of Ritz closer to the cam
_MG_5886.jpg

Sorry to ask newbie here. Wen u say focus do u do it manually or auto?

Yes, I selected focus point manually

Sorry to ask newbie here. Wen u say focus do u do it manually or auto?

I believe he selected focus point manually, but used AF (auto-focus) to lock focus.
Correct me if i'm wrong bro fleaz.

Hopefully this is classified under technical discussions. I just received my new toy so decided to try it out.

Does the images look reasonably sharp?

Both taken at 1/160s, ISO 1600, straight out of cam.
No comments needed on composition/subject etc., just a test shot.

Aperture: f1.8
Focus point on "Tarka Springs"
_MG_5887.jpg

Aperture: f4
Focus point on "Ingredients" (just below the Ritz logo) of the box of Ritz closer to the cam
_MG_5886.jpg

the image is a little small to really pixel-peep. assuming you used the 1000D .. did you already resize the image or cropped it?