1000D Photo Gallery for technical discussion (Part 2)

i am using flash but when i do portraits that is quite close to the person ,
the person face will be bright LOL !:sweatsm:

bro, u going for Canon or Nisson Flash? the price is very different :think:

edited: sorry ... i forgot this is photo gallery. will post it in 1000D thread IV :sweat:

3360793014_5ba8e7cf6a_b.jpg

i am using flash but when i do portraits that is quite close to the person ,
the person face will be bright LOL !:sweatsm:

external flash may do the trick

Taken in the museum.

1_608297908l.jpg

bro, i'm using 50mm 1.8 and I always have this problem that while shooting crop photos (close up), i cant get the whole subject in focus. Tried to increase to f2.8, improves a bit... i think if i increase to f5.6, defeat the purpose of having a f1.8 lens, right (i dunno)... how to rectify this problem?

We can't have everything right? Whatever i said was just my opinion and the shot might work for others. And at f1.8, wanting a subject that fills your whole frame to be sharp throughout is near impossible, i think. Unless maybe if use external flash? Or an 'L'? Will try out with flash to see if there's a diff. But i think on the overall it'd look better if the cropping was not so tight.

bro, i'm using 50mm 1.8 and I always have this problem that while shooting crop photos (close up), i cant get the whole subject in focus. Tried to increase to f2.8, improves a bit... i think if i increase to f5.6, defeat the purpose of having a f1.8 lens, right (i dunno)... how to rectify this problem?

Well I wouldnt really put it that way. It depends on what you need it to do. The quality of the 50mm (1.2L, 1.4 or 1.8) is that the optical quality it typically pretty good compared to zooms since it is generally less complex.

If you WANTED to have the top of the head in focus but not the bottom half .. then f/1.8 would give you that effect perfectly (as you got that in your pic).
But if you wanted to have the whole pic in focus including his shoulder you just have to stop it down to f/5.6 or beyond. Alternatively, change your angle so that his ENTIRE face is parallel to the lens plane. Then it will all be in focus even if you use f/1.8.

Well I wouldnt really put it that way. It depends on what you need it to do. The quality of the 50mm (1.2L, 1.4 or 1.8) is that the optical quality it typically pretty good compared to zooms since it is generally less complex.

If you WANTED to have the top of the head in focus but not the bottom half .. then f/1.8 would give you that effect perfectly (as you got that in your pic).
But if you wanted to have the whole pic in focus including his shoulder you just have to stop it down to f/5.6 or beyond. Alternatively, change your angle so that his ENTIRE face is parallel to the lens plane. Then it will all be in focus even if you use f/1.8.

Ah yes. Thanks!

We can't have everything right? Whatever i said was just my opinion and the shot might work for others. And at f1.8, wanting a subject that fills your whole frame to be sharp throughout is near impossible, i think. Unless maybe if use external flash? Or an 'L'? Will try out with flash to see if there's a diff. But i think on the overall it'd look better if the cropping was not so tight.

thanks man... learn something today from both of you.. will try again...

something is not right about this photo: spot the mistakes

3365395534_36030d5e80_b.jpg

is it the aircon outside one of the units??

How come you blanko with black paint on the 7th floor(donno which floor la)? your house arr?

and the clouds seems to be on top of the hdb flat hor. why? is it a case of cut and paste of the hdb flats to other picture? erhmmm =/

sharing some pics taken at Sugei buloh..:)

Admission:
IMG_1317.jpg

I believe i can fly:
_MG_1504.jpg

Brown eagle:
_MG_1511.jpg

TBC...

Red dragonfly:
_MG_1557.jpg

Bumble fly:
_MG_1488.jpg

Licking lizard:
_MG_1498_1.jpg

End..;)

something is not right about this photo: spot the mistakes

3365395534_36030d5e80_b.jpg

hi guys, thanks for the replies... here's the original photo taken at 7.15pm today in Pasir Ris.
Yeah, i think i over saturate the clouds, i myself feel that it looks like a huge fire than a nice sunset.

Jus to share trial and error

Enjoy and Learn Together

3365924498_4a4c9b09ec_b.jpg

ahh finally i manage to go to the zoo. wah cannot tahan the heat but its quite fun trying to capture those creatures. lens used : 50mm 1.8 and the cheap cheap 75-300mm.. sharing 12 pics..

Lemssssss.jpg
horsesssmaaaaaal.jpg
Monkeyssss.jpg
Lem1ssssss.jpg