Zaren - A Photo A Day

zaren,

ur pix have gone up a level from last yr.

another reason for me to come back to CS

keep it up

zaren said:
thx AngelZhou...i had been trying for a long time to take a pic of the light streaming out from my bathroom door, and finally got a chance to "draw with light". ;p

can i ask you something?
what is photo impressionism?

*kaypoh people on the corner*

AngelZhou said:
can i ask you something?
what is photo impressionism?

*kaypoh people on the corner*

Impressionism is the term first used to describe visual art in the late 19th-century that emphasized the conveyance of an overall impression of a particular scene, usually outdoors, using primary colors and short brushstrokes to represent the appearance of reflected light. The desired result of impressionism was to capture the artist's perception of the subject rather than the subject itself. Artists of this movement desired to portray images as though someone might see something if they just caught a glimpse of it. Impressionist paintings contain very bright, bold colors, and tend to have very little detail.

In this instance, I have tried to portray the photographic image as though someone might see something (a sword) if they had just caught a glimpse of it. My understanding of impressionism is that the Impression one gets from the image is key, which differs quite a bit from other photo impressionist works in which differential or soft focus was used to achieve a dreamy feel, or photoshop was used to replicate the look of an impressionist painting.

ziedrich said:
looks as if they just had a fall out... nice~

(thanks for the comments too!)

nice obervation!

you're welcome.... your b&w photos are outstanding.

choo said:
for me it looks like a giant super hero fly over the sky...hahaha...:bsmilie:
btw...wat white balance u used to get this color? or PSed?

the original pic had a greenish colour cast to it, prolly as a result of shooting it through my solar-shielded windscreen. i've tried to make it more bluish using PS and ended up with this. :cool:

pop said:
zaren's photos are works of art. I just don't understand how you guys can have such creative ideas in addition to great photo skills? :thumbsup:

thx pop.... a gd place to get ideas is to look at other online image galleries. for example, the many galleries on pbase has given me many ideas what to shoot.

SnapSnap said:
Looks like a big bird taking flight... beware... of the flu it brings...

as a said b4....a turkey takes to flight.... :bsmilie:

wainism said:
zaren,

ur pix have gone up a level from last yr.

another reason for me to come back to CS

keep it up

thx wainism,

i've been consciously telling myself to KEEP IT SIMPLE since i noticed that many of my earlier pics in the previous years were simply too busy/cluttered. that is why i find the concept of minimalism helps greatly to simplify the composition of the photo.

nice pics zaren...
can learn alot from u..

your sword idea catch is good! Bravo!

thx rheo and khairi :)

ha ha time to steal your idea Zaren...
i go take photo of my Bokken
:P

Rheo said:
ha ha time to steal your idea Zaren...
i go take photo of my Bokken
:P

haha....steal all u like! never knew u were into Kendo. :)

its the oak form of the sword for practice...

zaren > thx for the explanation. I used to admire one of impressionist artist's work. Last time I dont know who the painter is, what the style he's into, i dont even know wether it's a 'masterpiece' kust happened that I saw this 'waterlilies' painting that's so nice until it capture me for few minutes ( which really really rare ) later on i found out that it was painted by Claude Monet whom belong to the impressionist artist.

So the 'spirit' of impressionism is something like capturing the artist's perception issit?

AngelZhou said:
zaren > thx for the explanation. I used to admire one of impressionist artist's work. Last time I dont know who the painter is, what the style he's into, i dont even know wether it's a 'masterpiece' kust happened that I saw this 'waterlilies' painting that's so nice until it capture me for few minutes ( which really really rare ) later on i found out that it was painted by Claude Monet whom belong to the impressionist artist.

So the 'spirit' of impressionism is something like capturing the artist's perception issit?

yes, that is how i would interpret it. with the 'spirit' of impressionism, the painting or the photo conveys the artist/photographer's perception, not necessarily the actual subject.

when u first saw monet's waterlilies painting, what was ur impression of it? did it evoke certain feelings and images in your heart and mind?

interesting!

speaking of which, i can't help asking about Expressionism (i don't know much about it).
while Impressionism tries to convey an 'objective' visual reality of the world .. correct me if i'm wrong, Expressionism delves into the 'subjective' mind/mental state of the artist?

zaren said:
Impressionism is the term first used to describe visual art in the late 19th-century that emphasized the conveyance of an overall impression of a particular scene, usually outdoors, using primary colors and short brushstrokes to represent the appearance of reflected light. The desired result of impressionism was to capture the artist's perception of the subject rather than the subject itself. Artists of this movement desired to portray images as though someone might see something if they just caught a glimpse of it. Impressionist paintings contain very bright, bold colors, and tend to have very little detail.

In this instance, I have tried to portray the photographic image as though someone might see something (a sword) if they had just caught a glimpse of it. My understanding of impressionism is that the Impression one gets from the image is key, which differs quite a bit from other photo impressionist works in which differential or soft focus was used to achieve a dreamy feel, or photoshop was used to replicate the look of an impressionist painting.

hey, another connesieur of impressionist paintings!

it's interesting that impressionism got its name by chance...it was coined by art critic Louis Leroy after he saw a Claude Monet painting which was titled Impression: Sunrise :bsmilie:

zaren said:
yes, that is how i would interpret it. with the 'spirit' of impressionism, the painting or the photo conveys the artist/photographer's perception, not necessarily the actual subject.

when u first saw monet's waterlilies painting, what was ur impression of it? did it evoke certain feelings and images in your heart and mind?

when i saw the picture, i just feel like i'm travelling out the space of time to that waterlilies garden. It's just feel so peaceful there. Something like... a piece i've been looking for?

Errr i'm not that good in describing.

mmmm quite interesting to compare impressionism and expressionism. but stereobox, i dont really understand leh :think: guess i must read about it first then join the discussion, now feel like me blank blank liddat :bsmilie:

zaren said:
15th January
"sword" - a study in photographic impressionism
54819290.jpg

Sorry ah, a bit late lah... but die die I must comment on this pic....

MASTER!!!! :bigeyes: :bigeyes: :bigeyes: :bigeyes: