Your Experiences of Ordering Stuff from Alan Photo? Care to Share? Thanks.

fengwei

Dear All,

Just wondering if you've ever ordered (not bought) stuff from Alan Photo? How reliable is their ordering service?

I did have bought some stuff like DC/MemoryCards/Batt from them due to their low prices and ok service. Don't know if it's worth the troublesome to order from them instead of from Cathay Photo. Well, their price is cheaper than CP for the same item I'm ordering.

I'm thinking of placing an order from them, but don't know how their ordering service is. Anyone care to share your experiences here?

Thanks and cheers

Well if you are not in a hurry, you can always try and wait....

Helbreath said:
Well if you are not in a hurry, you can always try and wait....

Thanks. Of course that's what I'm gonna do lah. It's just I wanna know if there is any guy who has ever ordered from them before and what's the experience of it.

Thanks anyway.

if u really wanna order u can find me alvan i'm from ap

i have a very bad experience buying my D70 there.
Other then that it's so so only.cheap price what to do.

since then,i have never step in before.

sorry for that as u want cheap price u gotta sacrifice...

Cheap price doesnt mean bad service wat..it is up to the shop actually..it is how they wan to do their business..
but for me....I rather pay slightly more for ppl who provide better service....

eh...i tink AP is ok lo...bought loads of stuff from there b4...no issues watso ever....patience la.... if u in the service line u will know tt sometimes ppl busy also rite...

anyway....lets not OT too much here...
fengwei...never really order anything before.... perhaps u can PM alvan for help since he works there.... if no deposit or minimal sum act i dun see the prob...juz make sure u get a receipt or order form for ya deposit lo....std practice..

cheers..

alvan said:
sorry for that as u want cheap price u gotta sacrifice...

fengwei, you might want to take this statement into consideration. Think this is their style (I did not say, but the person from AP), thats why I never step in to AP ever since I brought my friend there.

Okay ,now is the newbie's turn.

I had quite a good experience buying my filters in AP.There's this sales fellow, an older guy, who took the time to take the filters out and let me try them on, even while he was serving another customer.Gave me a very good price when i bought my XD card with the filters too.Not bad la.Their shop is very busy and the treatment you get might depend on who's serving you but the older guy gets my thumbs-up. ;p

I bought my D70 set + accessories from AP Funan few mths back...I was served by a guy name Peter and he was very nice & patient...he just pass me the demo D70 camera + a trial CF without much hesitation.....So I was there testing...even brought out to the corridor to shoot something far....and also bargaining for nearly an hour and he has been very consistent throughout.....so I will not hesitate to go back in future if there is something suitable that I want to get :thumbsup:

I agree with BK. I have no idea about other sales but Peter is not bad at all. I go to him most of the time. :)

build up a rapport with your favourite shop and you'll get good service and prices.

Thanks guys for all the responses and info. Actually I quite like AP, and I got ok services most time. I know Peter and Sam, these two guys are quite nice. Usually I go directly to one of these two and ask for what I want, never bother with other salesmen there :)

I might just order the lens from them I guess. It's about S$70 difference between their price and CP's (7% cheaper for the lens I'm looking at).

Thanks again and Cheers!

It depends on who serves you. I'd recommend looking for Anthony or this fairly plump and dark fella (looks a bit like Eric Tseng). They're ok.. Anthony generally gives you the best price at hand.. A little bargaining may yield a very slight discount.

Other sales staff.. Well.... They leave more to be desired.
I've had an encounter with one of the other sales staff who quoted me $40 for a 55mm Hoya HMC Super filter when I first asked.
After I gave a shocked expression, he dropped the price to $35.
Subsequently, I told him I had bought the 58mm version the week before for $29 (got it from the plump guy) and he went to speak to another staff member before quoting me $30 lowest.

Just last weekend, my friends got their 55mm & 52mm HMC supers for only $25 from Anthony, no bargaining at all.

I got Anthony to check the price of ordering the Dimage A2 from Minolta and the rest of the staff refused to help me check.. Oh well...
You've got to haggle with most of the staff there but they're the best shop in SLS. Don't bother about the rest of the shops there.

I remembered once I went to AP for CF card, and one of the salesguy there just nonchalantly quote a figure without looking at me. My further attempts to solicit more info. was ignored, maybe he was just busy serving an ang moh customer. But to me that's lousy service, and since then I have switched to MS Colour.

Disclaimer : I'm in no way related to MS Colour, just a very happy and satisfied
customer.

theITguy said:
fengwei, you might want to take this statement into consideration. Think this is their style (I did not say, but the person from AP), thats why I never step in to AP ever since I brought my friend there.

TOTALLY agree with you~!.... :)

I bought my f80+MD, fm2T, fm2 Dragon, 45mm 2.8p lens, 28-105 lens
all from them. Price cheap loh :confused:

Okay, let's stop the discussion of previous purchase experiences with AP, okay? 'Cause it's a bit off the topic in this thread ;)

Anyway, thanks for all the responses. We all have to agree that AP is one of the best cam shops in SG.

Is there anyway I can close this thread :think:

alan foto at SLS tends to be a little busier. goto their funan outlet.

email to peter (manager - funan) for pricing before going down. his price is pretty competitive and very friendly too! i got e-300 from jason (one of his staff, very friendly too).