just curious, you using D3k or D5k?
D5k is pretty good as it has the same sensor as D90 or it can take self portrait too, the screen can flip 360!
And it's a Nikon. Enough liao.
just curious, you using D3k or D5k?
D5k is pretty good as it has the same sensor as D90 or it can take self portrait too, the screen can flip 360!
WOW!Didn't expect 3 pages of replies, all of which I have read carefully. Thank you all.
Some people seem to have missed the point that I had a lot of experience with a Canon-A1 so know all about Aperture, Shutter-speed, ISO, etc. The only thing the A1 lacked was autofocus and the fact that you had to send the film off to be developed ( remember those days ?! - actually for B&W I used to develop myself ). The Auto setting was handy when the wife wanted to take a snap and I see most DSLRs have retained this feature.
My budget is "circa" $1K so I can maybe go to 1,300 , or if my wife isn't looking $1,500. Whatever I get, the intention is to buy at least an additional telephoto later on ( maybe a flash first actually ) .
I had not considered the Pentax K-7 but I will look at the specs. Does anyone have any experience of this model ?
My reason for going for Canon 500D was 15.1mp plus brand new model plus familiarity with the Canon brand plus does everything that I want. Anyone know if I can get an adapter for my old Canon lenses? I have fisheye and 500mm telephoto lenses that could be focused and have aperture set manually ( if WYSIWYG through the viewfinder ).
Thanks for all the advice. And , hey , cool down when arguing the merits of your favourite brand !!! :bsmilie:
WOW!Didn't expect 3 pages of replies, all of which I have read carefully. Thank you all.
Some people seem to have missed the point that I had a lot of experience with a Canon-A1 so know all about Aperture, Shutter-speed, ISO, etc. The only thing the A1 lacked was autofocus and the fact that you had to send the film off to be developed ( remember those days ?! - actually for B&W I used to develop myself ). The Auto setting was handy when the wife wanted to take a snap and I see most DSLRs have retained this feature.
My budget is "circa" $1K so I can maybe go to 1,300 , or if my wife isn't looking $1,500. Whatever I get, the intention is to buy at least an additional telephoto later on ( maybe a flash first actually ) .
I had not considered the Pentax K-7 but I will look at the specs. Does anyone have any experience of this model ?
My reason for going for Canon 500D was 15.1mp plus brand new model plus familiarity with the Canon brand plus does everything that I want. Anyone know if I can get an adapter for my old Canon lenses? I have fisheye and 500mm telephoto lenses that could be focused and have aperture set manually ( if WYSIWYG through the viewfinder ).
Thanks for all the advice. And , hey , cool down when arguing the merits of your favourite brand !!! :bsmilie:
OK, I have a budget of around $1K. I had a lot of experience using a Canon A1 years ago but relegated that to the attic after getting a digital point & shoot for Christmas one year ( currently Canon IXUS 70 ).
After doing a lot of research I'm considering a Canon 500D ( aka T1i Rebel ). Have also looked at Nikon 5000D but most comparative reviews give the Canon the edge. Have a handycam so video not that important but "nice to have".
I'm fairly sure I've made the right choice of camera but what should I do about the lens ? Should I go for the kit and get the 19-55 ( which I think is roughly equivalent to an old 35mm format 35-85 lens ? ). Would I be better off getting the body only and buying a 3rd party lens , if so which ones are recommended ?
Main photographs would be landscape, children & animals ( + macro ? ). Getting grey-haired now and hands shake a bit so Image Stabilization important I think.
Also, where is the best place to buy ? Most of the small shops seem to put up their price by 50% as soon as they see an Ang Mo walk inThinking of paying a visit to Cathay Photo as that crops up consistently in the price lists. Worried about getting ripped off in Sim Lim and ending up with no warranty etc. How come it's so hard to buy anything online in Singapore ! :angry:
android17 said:Firstly, if u r considering a Nikon camera, get one which has an autofocus motor. The reason why u buy a Nikon or Canon is due to the large number of lenses that can be used with the camera. This is one of the biggest strength of the Canikon brand. However if u buy a Nikon camera without AF motor (like the D3000 and the D5000), that means there will be alot of lenses that u cannot use. Infact, going by the numbers, the motorless DSLR D3000/D5000 has less usable AF lens than even Sony and Pentax.
So essentially u buy a Nikon for their lenses, yet if u buy a D5000, u will end up with lesser lense selection than a Sony or Pentax DSLR, losing the Canikon advantage. U might as well buy a Pentax or Sony in this case since they're cheaper and have more lenses to choose from.
My advise is, if you wanna buy a Nikon, then choose one which has build in AF motor, so that u can use all Nikon AF lens. Nikon is the only brand with such lense selection headache. Canon, Sony, Pentax etc dont face such problems.
Do all people who buy Ferraris take part in races? After all, that's the ONLY reason why someone would buy a Ferrari, right? It's a racing car, so it must be used for racing. Otherwise he/she might as well buy a Mercedes/BMW...
Firstly, if u r considering a Nikon camera, get one which has an autofocus motor. The reason why u buy a Nikon or Canon is due to the large number of lenses that can be used with the camera. This is one of the biggest strength of the Canikon brand. However if u buy a Nikon camera without AF motor (like the D3000 and the D5000), that means there will be alot of lenses that u cannot use. Infact, going by the numbers, the motorless DSLR D3000/D5000 has less usable AF lens than even Sony and Pentax.
So essentially u buy a Nikon for their lenses, yet if u buy a D5000, u will end up with lesser lense selection than a Sony or Pentax DSLR, losing the Canikon advantage. U might as well buy a Pentax or Sony in this case since they're cheaper and have more lenses to choose from.
My advise is, if you wanna buy a Nikon, then choose one which has build in AF motor, so that u can use all Nikon AF lens. Nikon is the only brand with such lense selection headache. Canon, Sony, Pentax etc dont face such problems.
:nono:depends on the model.![]()
Do all people who buy Ferraris take part in races? After all, that's the ONLY reason why someone would buy a Ferrari, right? It's a racing car, so it must be used for racing. Otherwise he/she might as well buy a Mercedes/BMW...
ferraris n lambo r rich ppl car,...not for racing, for show-off...hehehehe....:bsmilie:
n
tokina lens DON'T have built-in motor.
they make excellent lenses too eg the 11-16
beside the cheapo 50 f/1.8 n the 85 f/1.4, there r lots of lenses out there which r definitely worth looking at depending on what you shoot.
i own a tokina 16-50 f/2.8 , 50-135 f/2.8 which needs a body to drive the auto-focus.
my bad for being poor, can't afford the nikon 17-55 f/2.8 n i dun like the tamron 17-50 and i'm reserved abt the sigma 18-50.
the tamron sp90 has a version which does not have a built-in motor, which ppl can consider for lower cost.
the AFD lens out there, 60,105 r all top notch quality lens.
i agreed that the built-in motor is not everything, but it is an important factor to consider.
also, the build quality of the d5k is not as good as the d90.
holding the d300/s is another thing although, but let's jus leave tat out.
it's not abt less things to consider, it's a lot more factors like cost n choices etc etc.
I feel that there are too many CSers "pushing" the camera brands that they have bought themselves. I'm not sure what the reasons behind that are.
+1Improve the resale value in case they're selling.