Will Canon Prices Go Down?

Sian... 100-400L in the US only S$2050 from BH - really feel like shipping to my friend in the US and asking him to bring back.

i think ask ur friend to send it back via post will do also because if u declare it as a present i think u do not have to pay tax.

if let's say, i buy thru adorama, and ship within USA, do i stil get the instant us$200 rebate? i'm thinking of buying online and ship to 1 of the hotel dat i'll be stayin in states, and collect when i reach there...

There are 2 kinds of rebates in the US - Instant and Mail-In. For international purchase, only the Instant rebate can be entitled where once you add the item to cart, the after-rebate price will be reflected immediately.

Some of the lens prices increased on BHphoto.
I was observing the price of EF 35mm f/1.4 L USM
Was USD $1180 last few weeks, now is USD $1249.95...

Some of the lens prices increased on BHphoto.
I was observing the price of EF 35mm f/1.4 L USM
Was USD $1180 last few weeks, now is USD $1249.95...

yeah the ef 50 f/1.2 L was USD 1300 on adorama just a couple of days ago. it's USD 1350 now.

Americans have it so good you know?

Now Amazon is having an offer. If you buy the 50D with the 18-200 lens, you get $300 off. If you buy it with the 70-300 IS, you get $150 off!

So, you can buy the 50D with 18-200 for under USD1400!

The best part is... it's all on top of the current rebate for the camera!

If I am in America, I will probably just die from the BBB virus! :bsmilie:

Now Amazon is having an offer. If you buy the 50D with the 18-200 lens, you get $300 off. If you buy it with the 70-300 IS, you get $150 off!

I think you'll probably die of hunger. :bsmilie:
Spend anything on equipment.

u'll become a very well equip Proofessional Protographer....:bsmilie:

i think ask ur friend to send it back via post will do also because if u declare it as a present i think u do not have to pay tax.
You still have to pay GST even if declared as present...the charges are based on your declared value (insurance value) + shipping.

I've ordered a few high-priced items over the net a few times, be it you declare repairs (unless you can provide the receipt when you first import the item), present, etc, all have to pay GST.

I think only hand carry back to Sg then no GST. Also gotta remove the packaging and box, flatten and keep in luggage. Make it look like you bring the lens and camera there for a holiday trip shooting or what. If not they might want you to pay tax.

So far, when I ask my friend to carry back the items, the custom officers did not bother to check. My friend also don't know how much the lens is... so a bit difficult to declare.

If I am not wrong, the GST limit is SGD$400. So convert your USD to SGD, plus shipping. If even S$1 over, you get hit for GST for the full SGD$400 or the full bill.

I recently bought some shirts & pants from Lands End, it was USD$205 convert to SGD$317 +/-. Package was sent via UPS, never kena GST.

So I always try to keep the amount lower than that to avoid GST legally. This applies to posted or couriered items

Just received my 430EX II from Amazon. Actually, I bought it from Adorama which is an Amazon merchant. I shipped though Borderlinx and it's perfect. :)

Like to find out (if you have or) would you buy big telephoto lens (looking at 300 2.8L IS) from Amazon?

The prices here are quite a big differences even if factor in the GST & delivery charges. Locally price around S$7.5K :sweat: and can order abroad for US$4099 + 426gst + delivery....saving around S$1K !

What are the risks might faced?

Thanks for your input :)

Like to find out (if you have or) would you buy big telephoto lens (looking at 300 2.8L IS) from Amazon?

The prices here are quite a big differences even if factor in the GST & delivery charges. Locally price around S$7.5K :sweat: and can order abroad for US$4099 + 426gst + delivery....saving around S$1K !

What are the risks might faced?

Thanks for your input :)

Well, some negatives are that you could get a soft copy, focus issues, scratches on the body etc.

Thanks for yr reply. Would some of these possible issues (eg soft copy, focus) can rectify by canon Service Centre as lens are under international warranty?
Well, some negatives are that you could get a soft copy, focus issues, scratches on the body etc.

Thanks for yr reply. Would some of these possible issues (eg soft copy, focus) can rectify by canon Service Centre as lens are under international warranty?

People say that Canon honours the warranty for 6 months... but even if they don't, you can pay for the service with the savings. ;p

But lets say I buy other lens like sigma. Does sigma singapore honour the international warrenty too. If I happen to get a soft copy, do I get an exchange of there is a way to calibrate the lens to become a sharper copy.

thankyou

I dun think the warranty covers soft copy lens or excessive CA on lens.
The warranty only covers the functionality issues, front/rear focusing or faulty focusing unit / IS unit.

Best is still buy from shops, then you can physical check and test the equipment.
Within 7 days, 1-to-1 exchange still applies, in case the lens has problems. :)

People say that Canon honours the warranty for 6 months... but even if they don't, you can pay for the service with the savings. ;p
Not true. I have asked Canon Singapore about their International warranty policy. As long as you can produce the International warranty card and the receipt, they will honor the 1 year warranty - not six months as some here had allured to.