Wide angle converter at SGD600+??? - chop head experience

octopushead

I had this bad experience at Funan IT - level 2 at this shop call " Bally Electronics Pte Lte”

When I walked in the shop with intention just want to ask the price of a Sony Wide angle lens. A white hair uncle attended to me and introduced to me a Germany Made, “Steinzeiser 0.5X wide angle converter” and explained to me that this kind of converter more worth it than buying a wide angle lens because this converter can simply give you a wide angle shoot with much lower price than wide angle lens.

He explained to me how this wide angle converter works and let me tried out myself with few test shoot...not knowing of the market price for this kind of wide angle converter, eventually I bought it at SGD600+, simply thinking that I’m able to save a lot than buying a wide angle lens.

On that night, I search on website and found out this kind of wide angle converter are just at price around $50 - $100!!!.... That Bally Electronics simply a chop head shop!!!

On the next day, I went back to Funan IT and asked few shop around on this “Steinzeiser 0.5X wide angle converter” to conform the market price. It is really only sale at about SGD50. Some shop even told me that this Steinzeiser brand is not Germany made and is the lousiest brand!!!

I went back to this Bally Electronic and confront with the salesman to request for full refund. The salesman did not argue too much on this fraud but refuse to refund, only agreed to let me replace with other product. Finally I settle this dispute with him by replaced with another Sony 50mm F1.4 lens.

Lesson to learn on this incident is that don’t ever trust any salesman especially on camera accessories like Filter, CPL, converter …etc. these are the stuff that salesman always tried to cheat the newbie. And the quality of this kind of accessories hard to evaluate as there are too many brand in the market. Any thing that not sure about price simply turn the salesman down until you had check out the market price.

I share this experience is to alert any newbie from cheating by those chop head shop.

That's why we need to do our homework first before buying anything!

The last time I went to the branch at Sim Lim was extremely bad also.. their tactic is to sell U first and cheap those who dun do their homework. Remember that its always advised to do some research..

If you do a search here for threads about chop shops, you'll know that bally is very often mentioned.

2nd thread on 'chop chop' this week...

Not again! Zzz....

bally again... aiyo

Wow, this has certainly become a weekly occurance

Yup. Bally seems to be having a ball with the newbies.:(

They should name the shop Ballsy.. But it was TS' fault by not doing homework.. How many more newcomers will be fooled? They should at least check prices from several shops if they don't want to do internet search.. Hopefully this thing could be very well minimized..

let see, if they can carrot chop a customer 5 times a week... that's like 5 * 4 * $600 = handsome $12000! and the cost of these filters is not even 1/10 of this amount.

i feel like opening a shop next to bally and sell this filter at $500 (undercut them). :embrass:

let see, if they can carrot chop a customer 5 times a week... that's like 5 * 4 * $600 = handsome $12000! and the cost of these filters is not even 1/10 of this amount.

i feel like opening a shop next to bally and sell this filter at $500 (undercut them). :embrass:

I will join you! :bsmilie:
But, good thing TS can get a lens..

goodness.....a few similiar incident in a month

They should name the shop Ballsy.. But it was TS' fault by not doing homework.. How many more newcomers will be fooled? They should at least check prices from several shops if they don't want to do internet search.. Hopefully this thing could be very well minimized..

Er.. most of the time, i noticed that they buy first then do homework later. Really very strange.:dunno:

Haha its called buyer's regret. After buying then regret spending so much, so go back and do a search to see if its money well-spent, then realised kena cheated.:sweat:

well it's just not in the realm of cameras that such fraud occurs. in fact, it's one of the least financially injurious.

compare to the losses when facing fraudulent renovation contractors, cars salesmen, insurance policies, lawyers' fees...

bally again...:nono:
i think every week also got sia...:sweat:

that's the worse bally experience i've come across man!!