Why Lens are expensive here in Singapore?

No need so drastic la bro.

If tourist, I believe u can claim the tax at airport.
That's the case for most countries n I believe Philippines should be the same.
I am not worried about Philippines but Singapore TAX when i enter here 7% ;).

hahaha...good luck in getting a EVAT tax refund for purchase in the Philippines. I'm from the Philippines, and so far I dont know of any tourist friend who got a tax refund on their purchases. Whatever you purchase there, consider the TAX as part of the purchase.

Was looking for 800L and called Cathey, gave me quote of 19,300$.
I also contacted someone in Philippine and was quote 10,500 USD ~ 14,622 SGD.
I didn't understand why asking price here is almost 5K higher than Philippine?

Maybe its the warranty? O.o

Few reasons for higher price in SG.

• Higher cost of living
  • GST
  • smaller target market
  • higher rents
  • higher salaries
might have more that i missed out

Maybe its the warranty? O.o

hmm. since it's from Canon Philippines, it should come with Canon International Warranty.

Wow... i didn't know that... Looks like i learn more in Cs then school. Haha :)

Cheers :D

Overhead's higher in Singapore. For a US$100 I can stay in a 5 star hotel in makati and from what I understand for the same amount of money the best I can expect is a room in the red light district in SG.

2 years warranty is nice and all but do you really expect factory defect for a lens that expensive? :)

Overhead's higher in Singapore. For a US$100 I can stay in a 5 star hotel in makati and from what I understand for the same amount of money the best I can expect is a room in the red light district in SG.

2 years warranty is nice and all but do you really expect factory defect for a lens that expensive? :)

Don't be like that lah, 100$ can get room out of red district but of-course not 5 star.
Thanks a lot though for your directions.

@wdEvA, i am very tired of all these reasons. I know cost of living here is high but it doesn't mean skin those who can be skinned (i know not many shops or not even will have ready stock but it doesn't mean if one shop have they shall take full advantage).

@xxdoggyxx, thats the beauty of internet. Everyday is a new thing to learn.

Don't be like that lah, 100$ can get room out of red district but of-course not 5 star.
Thanks a lot though for your directions.

@wdEvA, i am very tired of all these reasons. I know cost of living here is high but it doesn't mean skin those who can be skinned (i know not many shops or not even will have ready stock but it doesn't mean if one shop have they shall take full advantage).

@xxdoggyxx, thats the beauty of internet. Everyday is a new thing to learn.
Really? I bought tickets for the Sing GP and I am looking for US$100 rooms. If you can point me to one then I will be really happy. :)

Also consider the cost of money and carrying cost of having an 800L on stock.

well that's how things works now that can't be changed.
and the lack of market due to Singapore being so small could just be the biggest reason for all the extra price.

if they can sell more, they can sell cheaper, if they can't, they have to sell more expensive.

I am not worried about Philippines but Singapore TAX when i enter here 7% ;).

Buy the lens, put gaffer tape all over it, paste some hello kitty stickers for good measure. Claim as personal lens. Should be ok. ;)

walao man, it is 15k lens. I sure will not gaffer it with hello kitty on top :S. I will buy a lens coat and put in bag-pack.

I will put in in my pants and pretend nothing happen. If the guards ask why so 'big', say you just took a vigra... JUST JOKING .....

But, can't i DHL over to singapore? Take it for an example. I buy a 800mm for 15k. i save 5k(If i buy in sg)? Then i DHL over. pay for the weighting fee for, Err... lets say, 1k. I still save a few k and prevent some delay at the airport...

Unless even i DHL need to pay tax.

I will put in in my pants and pretend nothing happen. If the guards ask why so 'big', say you just took a vigra... JUST JOKING .....

But, can't i DHL over to singapore? Take it for an example. I buy a 800mm for 15k. i save 5k(If i buy in sg)? Then i DHL over. pay for the weighting fee for, Err... lets say, 1k. I still save a few k and prevent some delay at the airport...

Yes, you DHL, first they will come to your door to collect tax, then wait a few days for them to help you pay your tax at the customs and then they deliver your lens....

you'll be tax, as you have to declare the value of the item which is way above the minimal of $400 for tax.
unless you DARE to declare it under $400, and if it gets lost/damaged. you only get back that tiny bit of $$. ;p

just placed it in your bag w/o the box, and act as if you brought the lens there instead of buying from there.
either you mail the box back, or if you are travelling with someone else, have him/her carry the empty box instead?

you'll be tax, as you have to declare the value of the item which is way above the minimal of $400 for tax.
unless you DARE to declare it under $400, and if it gets lost/damaged. you only get back that tiny bit of $$. ;p

just placed it in your bag w/o the box, and act as if you brought the lens there instead of buying from there.
either you mail the box back, or if you are travelling with someone else, have him/her carry the empty box instead?

Thats seems to be the plan :). I will DHL back the box and manuals. Will pack lens with my camera in bag-pack. Now i need to figure out how to F i am going to bring that much cash with me :dunno:. Will check with shop if can use credit card/Traveler's cheque.

Can't you put it on your body and carry it together with some humongous backpack? The guffer tape idea might work since it doesn't leave residue (i suppose?)

Hi xxdoggyxx,

If you use DHL, and the seller declare the full value, CONFIRM there will be GST charges. I kena custom tax for the Nexus phone. Where as for TNT, not sure.

cheers,

Have you tried Hong Kong? You night get better price from there. :)

Thats seems to be the plan :). I will DHL back the box and manuals. Will pack lens with my camera in bag-pack. Now i need to figure out how to F i am going to bring that much cash with me :dunno:. Will check with shop if can use credit card/Traveler's cheque.

Agree with this, you can DHL the box and manuals or try to fold the box and put in your check-in baggage including manuals and warranty papers, be sure to put covers on it with your clothes. Then your lens can now be pack in your camera bag-pack.

Using credit cards in canon philippines should not be a problem.