Who is learning driving now?

Seriously the day we stop writing in this thread will probably be the day we pass our TP. haha...

Strike kerb, I don't know why he cross 3 times. I only struck twice.

Require additional reverse manoevre.

Fail to confirm safety.

Insufficient acceleration.

Veer off course.

The best part is this, I keep engaging the wrong gear. 1st gear I think 3rd gear.

hmmm, insufficient acceleration? does that mean moving off too slow, or moving too slowly?

The first thing he tested me on was parallel parking, completed it flawlessly. Surprisingly my vertical parking, hit kerb twice. Before 3rd try I asked him if my time is up already. If he don't want to continue we go back to center now. Never hit kerb during vertical parking, no idea why now all of a sudden hit the kerb. I think it's got a lot to do with how you enter the lane.

Thanks megaweb. Today during test I drive machiam it is my own car and machiam I am a licensed instructor. It's ok. Next time it'll be a sure pass.

How do you know parallel parking is done flawlessly ? TP may give u some points for not checking safety too.
You hit kerb twice during vertical parking ? Most likely caused by:
(a) see the wrong pole and turn too early or late
(b) have shifted ur seating position and head turn also out of normal position
You should not make any mistake in the circuit as they are the easiest obstacles in the test. Just practise more and you should able to clear them. Master the half clutch and make your car move smoothly and ready. Let TP know you can handle the car well. If you stall the car, the mistake is insufficient acceleration. You need to avoid these silly mistakes. Try to wear shoes with thin sole to easy handle the padals. When you go for practical lessons, try to ask the instructor about your weak points. Take note of the points and revise them for next lessons and try not to commit the same mistakes. The instructor may sick of reminding you the same points.
TP fails the drivers usually they drive with no confident, no checking safetly and poor half clutch controlling.

Cookiez am from CDC at Ubi. Difficult to pass at this center is it?
Not really. I passed my 1st time test in 2005 with 6 demerit points. 3 points for failed to move off immediately when green light and 3 points for other safety check.

Just now drive, stall abt 5 times, maybe sian liao, haha! :P

Saw some ppl on test, got one lady so lucky. Travel on third lane way long before U-turn. Sure pass like that as no need to lane change in last min. I also can do that since I know the road so well that day but I just follow instructions. That's why some can pass easily, you should know why as they got special offer. :angry:

My instructor told me that some tester also safety concern type. A bit only, mark u liao. He told me I am mostly ok on driving, shouldn't fail but don't know why. Maybe I nervous plus unlucky lor.

I still write on this thread as long got newbie want to learn driving. Maybe got Ver 2, 3, 4 n onwards, haha! All future learner all the best, take some experience from those experts down here and you sure pass in one test ;)

I'm also taking lessons @ SSDCL (manual 3).
my test is tomorrow.

my main concern is changing lane in heavy traffic so I'm revising route 8 over and over and over again.

I'm also taking lessons @ SSDCL (manual 3).
my test is tomorrow.

my main concern is changing lane in heavy traffic so I'm revising route 8 over and over and over again.

What time is ur test?

Lane change during heavy condition, u see how badly first. If got slot for u to go in, acc enough to keep up the pace n go in. If not, slow down n wait till all car passed then go in. All the best n hope to hear some good news. ;)

hmmm, insufficient acceleration? does that mean moving off too slow, or moving too slowly?

Can mean a lot of things.. Taking too long to get up to near speed limit of the road/traffic condition is one, you will be a hazard to the traffic behind you. Did not ramp the engine enough for going up slope is another. Stalling engine during half clutch control can also be insufficient acceleration.

Cookiez am from CDC at Ubi. Difficult to pass at this center is it?

no lah..passing rate among the 3 driving schools only different by a few % so more or less
the same..imho, pass or fail really depends on the driver's skill and whether did lady luck smile
at u ;)

May I know how you guys do parking without the pole? I can't do parking without the pole at all. How to park nicely beside the car and into the slot with no cars beside it?

guts and intuition. always be confident. ur mirrors are ur best frens

Position your right side mirror slightly to lower angle where you can see the car park lot marking. Of course you need to drive out to see the side marking before you reverse your car in.

u never see how other park meh...
only school teach ppl park like that..

most of the times, it will be about 45 degree to the parking lot, then u based on the side mirror and adjust and reverse into the lot.

this morning my lesson was to do reversing directional change...very similar to vertical
parking except w/o poles...i havent gone thru vertical parking yet, so not sure if its more
difficult or easier than reversing directional change :confused:

This month, me going back for IPT. So, no driving lesson for me and also, I need not have to update my PDL. My Instructor told me to staple both PDL together as to let tester know that I am taking second time. ;p

Sep then start to practise again, hope still able to manage the clutch control etc... Quite tiring on learning driving, always same route, big "bully" roadster etc... Nvm, got patience, sure pass. ;)

this morning my lesson was to do reversing directional change...very similar to vertical
parking except w/o poles...i havent gone thru vertical parking yet, so not sure if its more
difficult or easier than reversing directional change :confused:

More difficult because the lot is much narrower.

u never see how other park meh...
only school teach ppl park like that..

most of the times, it will be about 45 degree to the parking lot, then u based on the side mirror and adjust and reverse into the lot.

Parking lots in US are mostly 45 degrees. Just drive forward into the lot and reverse when getting out. Seems easier than vertical parking. ;p

Hi guys,
I am a student at SSDC.

Started my practical lessons in May and I was soooo naive into thinking that I could book my practical test very soon after I complete all my required subjects. But it was only one of the instructors who finally told me there's always at least a 3 to 4 month wait!!! Arghh!!!

I finished all my subjects within 2 mths, but now my practical test is in November.... Wah....

Is there any way I can speed up and have an earlier driving test date?

Hi guys,
I am a student at SSDC.

Started my practical lessons in May and I was soooo naive into thinking that I could book my practical test very soon after I complete all my required subjects. But it was only one of the instructors who finally told me there's always at least a 3 to 4 month wait!!! Arghh!!!

I finished all my subjects within 2 mths, but now my practical test is in November.... Wah....

see if you can book outside.

Hi guys,
I am a student at SSDC.

Dun think you can have it any earlier, unless you're with a private instructor and he can 'swop' test dates with his other students.

----------
argent2
xNW2.jpg
.png

Hi mich,

I'm also from SSDC, shld be able to book my 1st TP test after my next 2 lessons when
i've completed stage 2 subject 25.

To get an earlier test date, u will need to monitor the test date at SSDC website..they
will release 6-7 earlier dates everyday during office hours..probably due to students'
cancellation or auto cancellation for students who can't complete whole course within
20 days b4 their test date. Just need to hit refresh button constantly and act fast when
u see an earlier date appeared.