who are divers on CS?

Ask my Wallet and it say WOAH LAU you must be JOKING!!!

haha i can buy 2 sea&sea housing,... spoil throw away lor.. :)

ScoobaKev said:
If you ask Michael Aw, he will tell you it is very worth it because it is made out of the finest material that is resistant to Sea Water and it has excellent ergonomics etc etc etc....

If you ask AB & me, we'll tell you not worth it cos this is only a hobby for us and we're happy with what we have.

Try asking ah Aw if he have a share in the company or get sponsorship for his events and trips by that particular company.... :D

I have not heard of any Ikelite housing corrode or crumble due to sea water's "toxicity" despite being cheapest within the range.

Goondoo said:
Try asking ah Aw if he have a share in the company or get sponsorship for his events and trips by that particular company.... :D.

:think: :bsmilie: :bsmilie: :thumbsup:

Goondoo said:
Try asking ah Aw if he have a share in the company or get sponsorship for his events and trips by that particular company.... :D

I have not heard of any Ikelite housing corrode or crumble due to sea water's "toxicity" despite being cheapest within the range.

Spot on Goondo.. spot on... well said. :thumbsup:
Though i've used a SeaCam for a while and am quite impressed with it's construction and smooth operation, It is true that Ikelite, UN or any other respectable housing does not corrode. Furthermore, most if not all of the housing makers nowadays try to build their housings to accomodate all functions and buttons underwater.

LOL, how could polymer based produtcs 'corrode'? ;p
more like the O-rings will deteoriate.

Anyway, all housings are good, excpet for whether got bulkhead,
TTL, ROC, depth limit..... extra gimmicks.

But if I were to go for better housing other then the PT015, it would be
because of the bulkhead. Nothing else.
40M depth limit? not tekking, so doesn't matter.

Wah, confirm Michael Aw not gonna get any business from you guys...heh heh!!!

ScoobaKev said:
Wah, confirm Michael Aw not gonna get any business from you guys...heh heh!!!

Nothing personal against him, infact I liked his pictures :D

Just never trusted such advertisements even diving gears.... you will see a big local dive school swore by Apek, then another dive shop swore by Scuba Pro.... all this while they will say this not good and that not good... very obvious sales talk.... and people still fell into it....

Actually, this is why the internet forum becoming popular..... you get actual info from people who actually used the equipments and its a real shame many sales and marketing persons abuse such systems for their own benefits.

Goondoo, you hit the nail on the head! Forum talk is the best advertisement/marketing for a product because it's the divers/photographers that have fully utilised the gear and are willing to recommend it.

Actually i have been lucky. Maybe i have a stingy face, but shop owners never seem to try to sell me their most expensive. In fact, they always offer me the cheapest in their shop (who knows, maybe that has the highest margin).

When I first bought my BC, the owner told me "u just need it to float on the surface, no need to spend so much". So he sold me a Subgear BC for $300. Upgraded later becos I need more D-Rings, deeper pockets and more lift for underwater photography. Would have stayed with it if I were to remain a pure recreation diver.

And the reg, he said that the air flow can be tuned. If u don't like the pri regulator, use that as an octopus. The higher range pri regulators always have a similar octopus and it is much cheaper than the pri. So I bought an OK first stage and reg, buy a "nicer" octopus and use that as a pri. Use it for almost 7 years and still using.

For underwater photography equipment, someone mentioned buying second hand. Afterall u are buying something that has proven to work , and at 30% off original price. Let someone else test the water seal for you with their own equipment. i was sold immediately.

Eric

Disclaimer : I know nuts about BC and Reg. To this day, it's still comfort and ease of breathing for me. Although with more and more equipment to carry, I may opt to upgrade to a lighter reg....

Goondoo said:
Nothing personal against him, infact I liked his pictures :D

Just never trusted such advertisements even diving gears.... you will see a big local dive school swore by Apek, then another dive shop swore by Scuba Pro.... all this while they will say this not good and that not good... very obvious sales talk.... and people still fell into it....

Actually, this is why the internet forum becoming popular..... you get actual info from people who actually used the equipments and its a real shame many sales and marketing persons abuse such systems for their own benefits.

Everyone is entitled to their own opinion and sales pple being who they are have to push the products. So a bit unfair to say they abuse such forums as after all its a forum where everyone can speak their mind.

Its up to you (the user) to make an inform decision as the salesperson can talk all they want till the cows come home but its you with the cash/credit card that will decide.

Even if you talk to actual users of an equipment, more often than not they will rave abt it cos rarely you will find divers with 2 or more brands of diving equipment but maybe with u/w photography equipment it cld be diff. Some ppl will have a few brands for the matter.

At the end of it all, it depends on your needs. Personally I feel that if you intend to expand in the future then it makes sense to spend a bit more in the beginning and getting equipment that will allow it and not end up buying more later.

Just my 2 cents... ;p

benmah said:
At the end of it all, it depends on your needs. Personally I feel that if you intend to expand in the future then it makes sense to spend a bit more in the beginning and getting equipment that will allow it and not end up buying more later.

I agree. Always buy the better stuff, if not one of the best. If you cannot afford, wait a while. Learned it the hard way quite a few times, buy something cheap, can use but... not staisfied later on or wanna to upgrade, sell it off at a cheaper price and buy the product which I could have bought intially and the price of it went up somemore. :cry:

Like my diving gear, bought the lastest, proven and one of the most expensive on the market then. (Apeks Reg, S-tek BC, foil force fins)
Until now, I am so happy with it and have no regrets.

For my Apeks reg, last time when I buy, ppl dun even know the brand existed at all. They will say 'Huh? simi brand la ai? pharmacy huh?' No reviews on the net and not well known in this part of the world. But it's proven by just ONE experienced friend and so I bought it immediately even it cost just a little more and not so 'glam' looking. Will not switch reg, too attached and comfortable with it.

So reviews from other users on the forum actually DOES help alot in deciding on what is suited for you. It works for me.

Just my thoughts

im using a reg that is around 15-20yrs old :) still works better then the other newer regs i've tried

2nd hand stuff rocks if you know who you're buying from. most of them do take good care of their equipment, those who don't usually don't sell, they throw :)

lovells19 said:
im using a reg that is around 15-20yrs old :)

I don't believe you and either way, don;t ever share air with me ;)

kthan said:
I don't believe you and either way, don;t ever share air with me ;)

:what: eh old reg air not clean ah? :P yearly serviced one ok hehehehe :D

I agree with the buy the best logic too. Upgrading often expensive. 2nd hand even better if sell off at a later date, don't lose too much.

Hmm. By that logic, it is time to get the 2 DS-125. :D

Yup, except for my life-support equipment...I don't mind getting stuff 2nd hand...Actually, all my photography equipment is 2nd hand...except for my Nik V 15mm lens!!!!

fongwee said:
I agree with the buy the best logic too. Upgrading often expensive. 2nd hand even better if sell off at a later date, don't lose too much.

Hmm. By that logic, it is time to get the 2 DS-125. :D

2x DS125 too heavy. :D
Sure overshot the baggage weight on flights. So end end paying more for the weight both ways which will surmount to quite a hefty figure.
Still have to bring the strobe charger...

I prefer 2x Z220 ;)
Light and good, not to mention, a whole lot cheaper

lanxx said:
Sure overshot the baggage weight on flights. So end end paying more for the weight both ways which will surmount to quite a hefty figure.

I prefer 2x Z220 ;)

i have yet to surpass the limit and neither have Waisj.....hand luggage , my friend, but remember to get wheels for your bags ;)

and group check in helps too

lanxx said:

I prefer 2x Z220 ;)

don't bring so many underwear lah :P

lovells19 said:
don't bring so many underwear lah :P

Firstly, though I know you got big butt :p, I don't really know how heavy your undies weigh, mine had never made any much difference even if I would bring 2 dozen for any dive trips.

Secondly, I don't really agree on the buy the best part. As most if not all instructors will preach, get you own items (even in Padi video). However, most divers friends around only went for a few dive trip after which turn to something else.
Call me a cheap skate, but I will only invest on long term items only when I am sure I will be in it for long. Meanwhile, I don't mind renting, or getting a cheapo 2nd hand gear as long as it works. For stuff like regs, it can't break down like electronic items. Sent it for a thorough check after the purchase and have the weared and tored pieces replace.... its as good as new. Take a look at the market today, there is so many "expensive" BCs, Regs, Dive comps etc recalled because of supposely new technology which failed. Ironically, many users don't even realised that there was a problem until being told it's under recall, so they could be dead without knowing why either. IF you guys were really going for the BEST like mentioned, I think it will be definitely more than C5050, D70, S2 Pro as they are not yet the best.

Lastly, for the sales man in forum topic, I am still against the idea. It conflicts what is suppose to be a knowledge sharing forum into a profit hunting ground. EVEN if they must, they should post in the Consumer Forum, and not here.