who are divers on CS?

yo lanxx, not interested to form the UWCS ah?

can, but how? start a new thread? or ask the forum mods to be able top open a new perm thread?

Originally posted by lanxx
can, but how? start a new thread? or ask the forum mods to be able top open a new perm thread?

not necessarily so. i think what we meant (or what i had been thinking of) is that we dig out those gobies, i mean, divers interested to exchange photos, ideas, pointers AND very importantly, wanna go out for underwater photo shoots, or tests in the pool like what ah siang said. very good idea, especially if any of us know how and where to organise things like these.

we do not need our own thread, but i guess we would need to know who are interested in this, get contact numbers or emails and dunk into the waters and click away!! :D

remember our mention of divers SEED? too bad no one seem to remember it :(

forgot to mention!~ and with the diving season in malaysia closing, some of us may be stuck on land for some time e.g. people like me who was time constrained, but now simply financial constrained to even go diving regularly, let alone to further places. but if we do form a UWCS, we might be able to do a few things when on super long surface interval.

I MIGHT be going. Be see 1st, already going for the Olympus competition liao 2 weeks before the Tioman one.
Very shiong on the $$$

OH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! the REDANG ONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! is it is it is it is it????

Originally posted by beivied
OH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! the REDANG ONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! is it is it is it is it????

yeah the Redang one. I already paid up very very early, on the 1st week of April to participate. Have been waiting for 4 mths+ liao

Then macro, although you are slightly on the losing end on not having a strobe, but macro mah! still can use the internal flash.
U are using C5050 and desmond found a good way to use the internal flash for macro it works well!
see his work:public.fotki.com/nightshades

yep! i intend to try with internal flash for macro. anyway the perhentian trip is AOW, with hope of some leisure since there are only a few divers on course, according to my friend... he better dont lie to me! :confused:

anyway, me new bird in diving, can take it slowly for uw photography ... ;p

yeah the Redang one. I already paid up very very early, on the 1st week of April to participate. Have been waiting for 4 mths+ liao

oh my god, you so the fast ah .... good luck! and show me your pics ok. eh, i advise you dont bring your own cam and housing. heard that they will provide. unless you die die wanna use your c5050 la. the first prize is a c5050 right?

Interested to form Underwater Photography Group:
1. ah siang
2. waisj
3. scotsman
4. beivied
5. lanxx

yep! i intend to try with internal flash for macro. anyway the perhentian trip is AOW, with hope of some leisure since there are only a few divers on course, according to my friend... he better dont lie to me! :confused:

anyway, me new bird in diving, can take it slowly for uw photography ... ;p

use macro, super macro, cannot make it, coz the flash is being blocked, so 1/2 of your short will be greenish

oh my god, you so the fast ah .... good luck! and show me your pics ok. eh, i advise you dont bring your own cam and housing. heard that they will provide. unless you die die wanna use your c5050 la. the first prize is a c5050 right?

Should be using my own, coz my cam set properly liao, also housing modified properly to cut off backscatter, so die die have to use my own.

pics, well, I try to post it up after i come back.
1st prize is c5050....
the tioman competition I more gian. Manado as 1st prize leh!
my next destination!

lanxx said:
Should be using my own, coz my cam set properly liao, also housing modified properly to cut off backscatter, so die die have to use my own.

pics, well, I try to post it up after i come back.
1st prize is c5050....
the tioman competition I more gian. Manado as 1st prize leh!
my next destination!

So .... can anyone find a good housing for a canon D10?

blurblock said:
So .... can anyone find a good housing for a canon D10?

D10 housing damn ex leh. can almost buy another d10 body.

lanxx said:
D10 housing damn ex leh. can almost buy another d10 body.

Wow ..... then can tell me where got sell a relatively good underwater camera .... digital one please :) ...

blurblock said:
Wow ..... then can tell me where got sell a relatively good underwater camera .... digital one please :) ...

Canon or Olympus has thier own housing which are much cheaper.
Around $280 to $300+ compared to a D10 housing $2000 - $3000+

You can look at Oly C5050, C750
Canon S50 A70 .....
The list goes on

IMHO, C5050 is good enough.

lanxx said:
Canon or Olympus has thier own housing which are much cheaper.
Around $280 to $300+ compared to a D10 housing $2000 - $3000+

You can look at Oly C5050, C750
Canon S50 A70 .....
The list goes on

IMHO, C5050 is good enough.

Actually, I mean for a Canon 10D housing .....

too bad Olympus uses xD technolgy (which I don't like).

Canon ...... hmmmm ... S50 + housing almost $2000 right?

the 5050 supports the usage of compactflash, if you didn't know that. up to 2gb though, because it doesn't seem to support FAT32...

blurblock said:
too bad Olympus uses xD technolgy (which I don't like).

Canon ...... hmmmm ... S50 + housing almost $2000 right?

S50 + Housing will cost you about $1150
Note that you'll need to power up the S50 when you put it into
the casing as you can't open/close it underwater.
That is a drawback in my opinion.
Also you are limited to 30m depth.

C-5050 uses CF. Price is $1170 + 290.

about the 30m being a disappointment. :bigeyes:

My limited experience (and still using) with this casing & u/w pix are that the best shots are done at much shallower depths. Between 5 - 20m

Perhaps there are sufficent natural light to support my shots, with and without flash, that my air dun run out so fast or that I will hit deco-mode.

Any other comments to this ? :sweat: