who are divers on CS?

Originally posted by kng
I made my own colour filter using a cokin filter taped to the housing :bsmilie:

The colour filter definitely helps somewhat in reducing the green/blue but the trade-off is that you lose a few f-stops and prob hv to use higher ISO resulting in more noise. A must-have IMHO given the low cost and visible benefit. However, a filter can never replace a strobe if you are taking non-macro shots. :(

Thanks guys for all those photos! :)

Which filter did u use? and how did u mount it? I want to get it on my IXUS 330 Housing...

Thanks!!

yeah! our own UWCS (underwater clubsnap)!!!!!! :cheergal:

mai tu liao! we should start the name list of interested people! So that we dont just get empty talk....

Interested to form Underwater Photography Group:
1. ah siang
2. waisj
3. scotsman
4. beivied
and the list goes on ....

UWCS (underwater clubsnap)!!!!!! :cheergal:

1. ah siang
2. waisj
3. scotsman
4. beivied
5. kng (AOW)

scotsman, i've have pm-ed you regarding the DIY filter!

I also make my own DIY red lens. tested and proven it works quite well. The make and way it is used is a bit cheapo, but comon, $10 for each, what we expect.

Made out of the same plastic lens as used in specs, but without the degree loh.

The example: Sony red u/w lens is too red, so is hoya too.
So the one I make, the red is tinted to my own liking
and cut to my own prefered diameter.

Don't know if anyone out there is using the same thing?

just read the thing about the tioman photoshoot competition... i dont have confidence ah, haha, esp without strobe, think i can only have macro shots if it is anything decent. anyone interested though? if take it as a leisure dive trip, it is 7 day dives one night dive with one digital photography workshop.

anybody tried using a closeup filter outside the uw housings instead of using macro lens below?

if it can be applied on land, why not underwater?

max

Originally posted by beivied
just read the thing about the tioman photoshoot competition... i dont have confidence ah, haha, esp without strobe, think i can only have macro shots if it is anything decent. anyone interested though? if take it as a leisure dive trip, it is 7 day dives one night dive with one digital photography workshop.

I MIGHT be going. Be see 1st, already going for the Olympus competition liao 2 weeks before the Tioman one.
Very shiong on the $$$

TIOMAN DIGITAL PHOTOSHOOT ITINERARY

September 18 (Thursday)
Departure from Singapore
Meeting point: Novena MRT, 8pm
Overnight hotel stay in Mersing

September 19 (Friday)
Opening ceremony, competition briefing
Check-in at Monte Chalets (Tekek)
2 compeition day dives, 1 leisure night dive

September 20 (Saturday)
3 competition day dives
Digital Photography Workshop
BBQ dinner

September 21 (Sunday)
2 optional leisure dives
Prize presentation
Return to Singapore by 8pm

WIDE ANGLE
1st Prize: 5D/4N TRIP TO MUREX DIVE RESORT (worth S$1500)
2nd Prize: CANON DIGITAL CAMERA (worth S$800)
3rd Prize: IKELITE VOUCHER (worth S$400)

MACRO
1st Prize: 5D/4N TRIP TO GANGGA ISLAND RESORT (worth S$1500)
2nd Prize: SEA & SEA VOUCHER (worth S$500)
3rd Prize: IKELITE VOUCHER (worth S$400)

Originally posted by maxteo98
anybody tried using a closeup filter outside the uw housings instead of using macro lens below?

if it can be applied on land, why not underwater?

max

My cousinn tried it.

His verdict:
"cannot make it"

:(

Originally posted by beivied

You are wrong. The water at Tioman is cleaing up, so can take good wide angle shots. Strobes also cannot be used for those shots, so you have a chance there!

Then macro, although you are slightly on the losing end on not having a strobe, but macro mah! still can use the internal flash.
U are using C5050 and desmond found a good way to use the internal flash for macro it works well!
see his work:public.fotki.com/nightshades

Can make it, it's open to non-pro u/w photographes only, u thinkeveryone with the strobe or good equipment takes good shots meh? you will be surprised!!

For those not buying a strobe, I have a cheaper alternative, less then $100, but works only as a focus light or macro light.

But less then $100, cannot expect much.
You can see the solution I am talking about at:

http://public.fotki.com/lanxx/products/

Hi there lanxx

Do you know how much a Inon Z220 will be roughly?

thinking of getting one, since the ikelite housing has a bulkhead..

Any better alternatives?

Originally posted by waisj
Hi there lanxx

Do you know how much a Inon Z220 will be roughly?

thinking of getting one, since the ikelite housing has a bulkhead..

Any better alternatives?

cannot rem , think around $1000+ (not including sync cord)
how about the sea & sea ys90dx?
ikelite ds 50 or ds 125?

Originally posted by lanxx
cannot rem , think around $1000+ (not including sync cord)
how about the sea & sea ys90dx?
ikelite ds 50 or ds 125?

ohh i see.. hmm thanks.. been thinking of these few models, actually wanted to take advantage of the 10 power steps of the Z220.

too bad ike does not have a sync cord for S&S Strobes, or should i say not any more...

thanks for the price info...:D

How is your D-180?

my D180? :thumbsup: :D

Originally posted by lanxx
You are wrong. The water at Tioman is cleaing up, so can take good wide angle shots. Strobes also cannot be used for those shots, so you have a chance there!

Then macro, although you are slightly on the losing end on not having a strobe, but macro mah! still can use the internal flash.
U are using C5050 and desmond found a good way to use the internal flash for macro it works well!
see his work:public.fotki.com/nightshades

Can make it, it's open to non-pro u/w photographes only, u thinkeveryone with the strobe or good equipment takes good shots meh? you will be surprised!!
wa lao, i seh seh log on, suddenly kena bombed... i am humble, ok , hahaha... see how la, see if my pocket allows for it. anyone interested!!!??!?!?!?!