Which shop offers a better price and good customer service?

I still remember Samuel offered to sell me a new lenspen claiming, "if it makes me more comfortable".

Actually, you can't be sure the new Lenspen is also not a "demo-ed" before one.
This is very true for cameras/lenses.
Some customers will want to try out a few copies first before buying.
Some just go to "test-test" with no intention to buy in the first place. :dunno:

All in all, it all comes down to business etiquette.
Basic trust is really important in transaction between the parties.

Actually, you can't be sure the new Lenspen is also not a "demo-ed" before one...

I know I know...just that I'm more concerned for the customer's lens next to me. Anyway I recently bought a supposedly-new filter from Alan Photo Funan and when I reached home I found out that the 2 silver rectangular stickers securing the plastic case has been slit with a penknife, which means the casing has been opened b4...so they could have took it out to demo or use, clean it then placed it back into the casing to sell as new :dunno:

Pretty much nothing I can do in such a situation...

I began my photography life when I bought my Fuji S5600 from Sam at John3:16...was very impressed with the service up till today..i always intro my frenz who have no idea what they want in a camera to go there first...like the way they operate...like meeting frenz..:)

When I decided to upgrade to DSLR, I bought my D40X kit from the uncle...(forgot name)..from Lords...a very good experience as well..but I feel it is a better place to buy when u already decided what u wanted...build a relationship with them since...they even agreed to reserve a battery grip for my S5Pro recently without taking my name..."Nah...I trust U..But can only hold for few days"...when I appeared at the shop..."Ahh...here to collect ur grip?"

I started to patronise MS Colour when I moved on to S5Pro...dealt with Jackson since...very friendly and showed me the camera...I bought my DigiCab and Benro from them along the way too...it is the nearest decent shop without having to go all the way to town...more convenient...

I feel they all have something in common...the way they operate...dun feel so business like..it was after I began photography that I learnt that relationships are even more impt..and also learnt to give and take...dun insist on brand new set when I am one of the culprits whom they open their new sets for me to test...of cos...must be in acceptable condition la..:)

Where else can I say but MS COlour... every single piece of my equipment was bought from them. From DSLR to Dri Cabi to Camera Bags.

Apart from those old lens, of coz. =)

btw, both shops gives good service, whether is 711 or AMK hub. I got all my stuffs from AMK Branch.

Usually have to wait at J316 but you have to Q for that special hawker food...?
Popularity speaks for itself.
Thought I was getting a bad deal once, then realised they were throwing in a 20 dollar freebie on a 200 dollar item.
They need to advertise more aggressively.

Where else can I say but MS COlour... every single piece of my equipment was bought from them. From DSLR to Dri Cabi to Camera Bags.

Apart from those old lens, of coz. =)

btw, both shops gives good service, whether is 711 or AMK hub. I got all my stuffs from AMK Branch.

U r lucky soul. Wait till u r served by him.

I began my photography life when I bought my Fuji S5600 from Sam at John3:16...was very impressed with the service up till today..i always intro my frenz who have no idea what they want in a camera to go there first...like the way they operate...like meeting frenz..:)

When I decided to upgrade to DSLR, I bought my D40X kit from the uncle...(forgot name)..from Lords...a very good experience as well..but I feel it is a better place to buy when u already decided what u wanted...build a relationship with them since...they even agreed to reserve a battery grip for my S5Pro recently without taking my name..."Nah...I trust U..But can only hold for few days"...when I appeared at the shop..."Ahh...here to collect ur grip?"

I started to patronise MS Colour when I moved on to S5Pro...dealt with Jackson since...very friendly and showed me the camera...I bought my DigiCab and Benro from them along the way too...it is the nearest decent shop without having to go all the way to town...more convenient...

I feel they all have something in common...the way they operate...dun feel so business like..it was after I began photography that I learnt that relationships are even more impt..and also learnt to give and take...dun insist on brand new set when I am one of the culprits whom they open their new sets for me to test...of cos...must be in acceptable condition la..:)

yeap, nothing but praises for sam of Jo3:16... fantastic!

instead of shop jumping, you should right at the start establish a long term relationship with one of the saleman. one such honest man is kevin from cathay photo at peninisula.

yup, i definitely agree with you! i got all my stuffs from him thou! i think if you build on a relationship with the salesman, he will give you the best price he can give without the need for much bargain.

I bought my Nikon D300 from MS amk hub recently, felt got cheated. Actually before i buy i did went down to check the price and what are pakage like, but on the actual date i went down to confirm the purchase one of the item was not same as what it has mention before. CF card was mention Lexar 300X 4gb but given Kingston 4gb 133X but money already paid so LL do not want to challenge them. But when i ask the young chap he like hesistate to answer me, then the incharge said this is the card. Infact this was the second encounter when i bought a len filter from them they give me a faulty filter with unremovable stain, but when i approached they let me change but said no more stock then again LL get another brand filter with top up.

i bought my 450D + 18 - 55mm Lens from Dulex camera shop in pennisular.. price was ok..

today went bought a tripod from them Nikon SL 168 at $48.. i came back online and search surprise me price was actually $35 ? for mint condition..

But well i shld say the uncle Service was okay friendly

I usually buy from CP. I like to go to CP at Peninsula. There have nice displays of Nikon, Canon etc to look at and admire. Don't buy anything look also shiok. There are other shops next to CP at Peninsula which nice displays to look at also.

Comment on K-13 at peninsula: I'm shopped there 2x, once I bought a filter and another time bought a lowepro bag. Both times got good service and competitive prices. For the bags I asked to compare colors and different sizes, and asked for new stock still wrapped in plastic. Store also carries giottos ballheads which I will go back to check out soon.

I would say k-13 service so so. when i first when into photography also kena chop by them before but once you know your stuff they won't be that daring to chop.

my vote to john 3:16.

so far..i have bought 2 cameras from him...canon g9 and nikon d90..by far the most knowledgeable and friendly shop around..always lets me try out the cameras 1st before making my decision in purchasing them..and sam always seem to get me a new set which is different from the set that i tried on..

although the when i purchased the canon g9, it seemed to be a tad more exp(10 to 20 bucks)..but i guess its still worth it for the 100% service...

whenever my friends who asked me where can they get good deals for cameras..i always recommend john 3:16..and by far none of them are disappointed with the service and pricing..

cheers

I went to Alan Photo at Funan yesterday. At first my colleague and I were ignored cos the sales people were busy with customers. But once we got the attention of one, wow. Never met such a salesman before.

He was informative, never pushed products, even advised against us buying some products because we didn't need them (like the more expensive circular polarizer).

Honest and upfront, never try to earn commission. Even taught us a thing or two about photography (we noobs).

The more sensitive person might take offence, because he was direct, and can even say things like "aiya you don't need that! You want 28mm lens to take landscape for what? Must use wide angle.", but we appreciated the honesty.

Got my polarizer at $49, as did my coll, walked away happy. If ever I need to buy anything, I'd go back to David for sure. :)

Jo 3:16 for the win! Seems like MS Color is good too (:

To me it will have to be John 3:16

If you're looking for a shop with top costumer-oriented staff then I would vote for John 3:16. However, if you are really really on a tight budget and is really concerned about the price difference of say 10-20 bucks, then I would say that there are other shops out there selling a little bit lesser than John 3:16. This is based on my experience. But again, the staff @ John 3:16 are superb!