Where to get good bak kut teh?

Enjoy!! I haven't eaten there for a year, ever since I switched jobs.

It's always crowded at lunch-time. More than 3/4 of the kopi-tiam's clients patronize that stall.

i noe..got once i eat snake then dun noe how end up there for lunch..i see alot ppl eat the bak kut teh..so i try, to my surprise..it taste like the jb style..

Eat snake then eat bakuteh? Will get nose bleed woh! :bsmilie:

tried this today ... not that good leh. a bit over rated.
prefer my regular BKT shop at joo chiat.

and the one i used to eat in KL ...

u mean the one that opens 24hours in joo chiat, which closes on monday?

mmm... dun think its 24 hours ...

its at the joo chiat road / marshall road T-Junction. Sharing the coffeeshop with the ho kee pau

my dad used to teach in that area, so he know all the good food stalls there ... and some of the owners know him too ... hee hee

I highly recommend the Bah Kut Teh shop along Sultan Gate..

It's the best! Comparable to those I've eaten in KL..

Try it.. No regrets.. :cool:

Think he means Sin Heng BKT, the one with the big shop space all to themselves. Not the Ho Kee Pau one, which is clear based soup. This one's along Joo Chiat Road near the Joo Chiat CC, herbal based. Their pork ribs are so friggin tender... eat there once every week.

Sin Min Rd Blk 22 corner ground floor.

Coffeeshop opposite Boat Quay/Riverwalk building.

Corner of Mohd Sultan Rd.

Marsiling Lane, Blk 19 coffee shop. Opposite the Seiko factory.

DSCF1522_resize.jpg

DSCF1523_resize.jpg

Went to try, not bad, at least its not the pepper-soup type :bsmilie:

I like the maxwell market one. It's definitely the non-pepper type and i consider it the next best to the one beside pelenggi mall in JB.

Remember to jio if arranging an outing!!!!

DSCF1522_resize.jpg

DSCF1523_resize.jpg

Went to try, not bad, at least its not the pepper-soup type :bsmilie:

Wah, you took pictures of it too!! :)

Yes, it is indeed the stall I was talking about.

Wonder what the Kopi Tiam TowKay thought when you whipped out your camera to take those pictures? He's a nice guy though....Mr. Teo, if I remember correctly.

Bernard

Hi Plsoong

Dark sauced , white soup and Herbal are THREE different kind of Bak Gu Teh.

And Dark sauced style is not Herbal style where as Herbal style is not Dark sauced type.

But I agree with you ,we are yet to find good herbal bak gu teh in SG. maybe the closest is Alexandra Village liver/kidney soup.

Where as ALL bak gu teh LOVERS MUST KNOW this.....the Dark Sauced Bak Gu Teh BEST in ASIA is at the RANGOON ROAD

shop name is ONG AH SIO bak gu teh. Rating 9/10....no other place can touch this.

its not called the "dark sauced" kind lar...

its the "herbal" kind...

there are some chinese herbs inside...esp "dang gui"... the best found in M'sia is not from Johor or whatnot, but from a specific area called Pasang......
thats y older folks always say..."....Pasang bak kut teh...."

it takes a an overnight slow boil to bring out the best in bkt, and its the herbs that gives
the dark colour....NOT DARK SOYA SAUCE (WHICH IS SOLD IN SGD!!!!)

I haven't found a single one in SGD that taste anything like those back in M'sia. most of them either just dump in dark soya sauce and make it look herbal.... :S

others....just loads of MSG......

usually, i get my load of bkt at home... but once awhile i'll go to Good Morning bkt at Hong Lim. (no big fish, shrimps oso can lar)

Hey guys,

im looking for good bak kut teh, the dark-soup kind.. wondering if any of you know or have encountered them before... pls let me know.... in singapore. JB is too flooded, too dangerous to go for just a bowl of soup. Hehe.
Try the hawker centre at Alexandra Village, there is a stall facing the car park selling claypot bak kut teh that's between 2 drink stalls. I like that one, the herbal taste is good.

As good as the JB ones. I really want to go there and check it out.

BUT just the look at the Photos, They are using the wrong vegetables for good Bak Gu Teh

In A good Bak Gu teh ,their vege should be Tanng OO cai ,instead of Xiang Cai.

The Photos can see that is Xiang Cai and is not the CORRECT one which is you can find it in those typical Food Court style bak gu teh.

in case you all dun know what is Tanng OO Cai. Go to Rangoon Rd Bak gu teh ,order the kidney(comes with the Tanng OO Cai) or Alexandra Village ,order the Liver kidney soup.

Any way I'm going now to try the marsiling one.

Wonder what the Kopi Tiam TowKay thought when you whipped out your camera to take those pictures? He's a nice guy though....Mr. Teo, if I remember correctly.

Bernard

Try the hawker centre at Alexandra Village, there is a stall facing the car park selling claypot bak kut teh that's between 2 drink stalls. I like that one, the herbal taste is good.

Yes Very good herbal Soup Alexandra Village

i Always order the big bowl $8 ones

As good as the JB ones. I really want to go there and check it out.

BUT just the look at the Photos, They are using the wrong vegetables for good Bak Gu Teh

In A good Bak Gu teh ,their vege should be Tanng OO cai ,instead of Xiang Cai.

The Photos can see that is Xiang Cai and is not the CORRECT one which is you can find it in those typical Food Court style bak gu teh.

in case you all dun know what is Tanng OO Cai. Go to Rangoon Rd Bak gu teh ,order the kidney(comes with the Tanng OO Cai) or Alexandra Village ,order the Liver kidney soup.

Any way I'm going now to try the marsiling one.

Watch out for the queue at lunch-time......

Let us know what you think of it ;)

Bernard

Bernard

only use a pns, nobody said anything :p

DSCF1515_resize.jpg