Where still can get new 7D with reasonable price?

yewsc

Hi All,
May i know where can we still get the new KM 7D with a reasonable price? Nowaday, very hard to find any 7D in shop already? Can some bros here enlighten me? And what is their price then?

Thanks

TCW has I think 2 or 3 left. I also saw 1 unit at Harvey Norman Jurong Point.

MS colour have 1 left. but no point getting when they have no more lenses. me finding one too. most selling at aroung 1700(after GST).

www.adorama.com is selling 7D+28-75 f2.8 D lens for US$899.99 + shipping. That is damn cheap.. get it while you can...

Hart

sadly, the warranty not honoured in sony singapore. but what's that MACK worldwide warranty thingy? sounds good but fishy

satay16 said:
MS colour have 1 left. but no point getting when they have no more lenses. me finding one too. most selling at aroung 1700(after GST).
No more lenses? Erm... how abt those rebadged Sony lenses? Not lens meh? :dunno:

jsbn said:
No more lenses? Erm... how abt those rebadged Sony lenses? Not lens meh? :dunno:
Not out yet mah :sweat:

so basically, you have to buy body only if there isn't any lenses left, which is pretty risky if you got a bad 7D.

satay16 said:
so basically, you have to buy body only if there isn't any lenses left, which is pretty risky if you got a bad 7D.
As far as I remember, I still see quite some minolta lenses on the martket, it's only depend on which specific lens you want, Cathay photo even got a few G lens and STF 135mm.

It's not impossible to get lenses lar... just step into TCW u will get plenty of 2nd hand lenses... I'm sure the shops still have the odd piece of stock for certain lenses, especially the more popular ones... look around in the Buy & Sell forum, also got people selling what...

satay16 said:
sadly, the warranty not honoured in sony singapore. but what's that MACK worldwide warranty thingy? sounds good but fishy

I got one set from Adorama for a backup.. no problem at all... normally its fine.. unless you damn unlucky lor...

I guess with that price, if you need to spend another $300 for an adjustment, still much cheaper than buying locally right?

Hart

satay16 said:

Aiyo there are plenty of minolta lens out there. I switched to minolta only 2-3 months back. Since then I have bought 11 lenses & 1 flash. sold 4 lenses so far.
2nd hand lens can get from TCW, K13, and some other shops at adelphi. There r always CSer selling KM lens also, got to be deligent to check this forum and other websites.
Good thing abt minolta is that many old lenses r competible. They r actually very good but many users keep looking for new generation lenses like those available for N & C, of course disappointed lah!

but pretty hard to find high quality lens for the 16-XX range. the 17-35 kit is like a rebaged tamron, and the 17-35 G is hard to find, and even if can find, the cost is soooooo high. was looking at third party alternatives, but none really have high quality lenses of 17-XX range. this was one of the problems i encounter when trying to fit up a nice KM system. but knowing that the Carl Zeiss 16-80 is coming out, i decided that it should be ok.

satay16 said:
but pretty hard to find high quality lens for the 16-XX range. the 17-35 kit is like a rebaged tamron, and the 17-35 G is hard to find, and even if can find, the cost is soooooo high. was looking at third party alternatives, but none really have high quality lenses of 17-XX range. this was one of the problems i encounter when trying to fit up a nice KM system. but knowing that the Carl Zeiss 16-80 is coming out, i decided that it should be ok.

The 17-35mm Minolta is a pretty good lens... focusses pretty fast, sharp and surprisingly does not flare easily for such a wide-angle... distortion is pretty well-controlled as well... all in all a very good lens for the price... the G lens has better optical quality of course, especially at the edges and even better distortion control plus much better build quality... but hey, u pay like 4 times the price lar...

satay16 said:

Maybe I haven't reach the level to go for all those high end lenses. As a newbee, I am very comfortable w minolta becos there r many old and not so expensive lenses ard for be to start with. I am attracted to th sony 16-80 too, but it won't be cheap. I can use the money to buy a 17mm plus a 24-70 f2.8, maybe still got balance.

Go for it bro, 7D is a very gd cam, don't be put off by the shortage of lens. When more pp use the minolta mount, many 3rd party co will start to produce more lenses for us.
I know of someone using 7D with all the old SLR lenes( many u can buy fr ebay very low price) and he has been producing stunning pictures all the time.

yeah....have been thinking for 2 weeks and weighing the cost and advantages for choosing 7D. in the end, decided to go with it, still waiting for one of the CSer to come out with a quote. me in extremely tight budget right now, have to buy second hand.

btw, this seller has two lenses which i still abit blur, wonder if anyone has links to this two lenses. thanks:)

KM 28-75 f2.8
KM 70-210 f4

satay16 said:
yeah....have been thinking for 2 weeks and weighing the cost and advantages for choosing 7D. in the end, decided to go with it, still waiting for one of the CSer to come out with a quote. me in extremely tight budget right now, have to buy second hand.

btw, this seller has two lenses which i still abit blur, wonder if anyone has links to this two lenses. thanks:)

KM 28-75 f2.8
KM 70-210 f4
Those are very 'bad' lenses......
gave me the seller contact quick...i going teach the guy a lesson:devil:

zcf said:
As far as I remember, I still see quite some minolta lenses on the martket, it's only depend on which specific lens you want, Cathay photo even got a few G lens and STF 135mm.
heehee, which G lenses? i lazy to go down and check :sticktong

satay16 said:
KM 28-75 f2.8
KM 70-210 f4

These are excellent lenses... cheap for their quality and pretty fast as well... go for them... gives u excellent coverage from 28-210mm... all you need is a 17-35 or 16-80mm to complete wide-angle to telephoto... u need ultra telephoto can try Minolta 100-300 or 100-400 APO or other 3rd party brands...

eow said:
Those are very 'bad' lenses......
gave me the seller contact quick...i going teach the guy a lesson:devil:

I presume u are joking? No such thing as very bad lens. These two lenses in the hands of those newbees or amatuers are considered quite good. of course for pro like u or someone who need lens for specific need, they may not fit.