What's your monthly living expenses? And how to trim the expenses?

What's your monthly living expenses?

Off my head:

House Installment ~1000
Car installment + maintenance ~1200
Parent ~500
Utility ~200
Town council and property taxes ~100
Personal Taxes ~300
Telecommunication + SCV ~200
Food ~1000
Insurances ~800
Investments ~1000
Entertainment ~200

~Total $6500

Never realized it's this high....really need to cut down on the big ticket :sweat: Damn...I need to get a job quick :p

mm... personal taxes $300 per month can support $6500/month expenditure??

1) now must think before buying, esp when the bill would come up to more than a few hundreds.

2) Restrict to 5 dollars a day for meals. No more fancy lunches and dinners.

sian.... some of us save... some of us waste.

5 dollars? brunch 3 dollars + dinner 3 dollars already 6 dollars, some more almost everyday have to buy coffee for a >SGD6000 incomes old bald-headed manager- the uncle don't know paiseh, always waiting his subordinate to pay for him....but no choice, i'm still new; still got many things learn from him :(

ppl working in town tend to spend more.

I work at outskirt... plus i only eat lunch, no breakfast for me.
dinner are usually done at home. And we buy alot of our stuffs from wholesale markets... or Seng siong.

Wah. Your utility quite low leh. My mum can pay as high as $400 per month though we seldom on aircon.

I tot mine is already on high side for 2 member household...I did a informal poll in my office and that was about the avg of most family :think:

stop buying lens... only way to trim my expenses..

Other than the usual jokes, this is a good topic.
Some suggestions are good.
I think living in moderation is good.
No need to show off and buy bungalow or condo or BMW and try to keep up with others.....
No need to boast about your 30 day holiday to Europe......
Control your urge to splurge.
But once in a while do enjoy yourself.
Cannot overcontrol.
Or else worse if suddenly let go.

Wat do you mean? Don't understand :dunno:

I mean personal income tax of $300 per month is $3600 per year. That is around $70k per annum. your expenses is >$70k... so u are running a budget deficit for the year. :)

What make you so sure that people who earn $70k cannot afford $6.5k mthly expenses? If you see my budget.....it consists of divestment so it's not all written off expenses....the housing can be paid by CPF.....the car can be subsidized by company....Actually nowadays any couple who work moderately can easily have combine 5 figures monthly income....Besides the taxes was base on last year's income....there are rebates etc.....anyhow I don't think I bother....I will not going into detail further :think:

Sorry to TS for OOP :p

Total income for a year should be more than $70K, I guess if the income tax is $3600.

Off my head:

House Installment ~1000
Car installment + maintenance ~1200
Parent ~500
Utility ~200
Town council and property taxes ~100
Personal Taxes ~300
Telecommunication + SCV ~200
Food ~1000
Insurances ~800
Investments ~1000
Entertainment ~200

~Total $6500

Never realized it's this high....really need to cut down on the big ticket :sweat: Damn...I need to get a job quick :p

Back to TS question, for my case...this will be my contigency plan :sweat:

House Installment ~1000 > Refinance or extent the repayment period, target $500/mth
Car installment + maintenance ~1200 > Downgrade or scrap the car at $20k lost, change to public transport will probably cost me $200/mth
Parent ~500 > Pay cut....they will understand, target $200
Utility ~200 > Jan price reduction and reduce aircon consumption should ease the bill, target $150
Town council and property taxes ~100 > Cannot siam
Personal Taxes ~300 > Damn, never heard of this but did anybody ever nego with IRAS?
Telecommunication + SCV ~200 > Cut SCV, downgrade broadband and hand phone, target $100
Food ~1000 > To me, eat out actually cheaper than self cook so this one really donno how to achieve but still target $750
Insurances ~800 > Hm....this one LLBP, worse case scenario redeem all policies at lost
Investments ~1000 > What investment?
Entertainment ~ 200 > Go home and watch free TV channel

Life? :sweat:

Back to TS question, for my case...this will be my contigency plan :sweat:

House Installment ~1000 > Refinance or extent the repayment period, target $500/mth
Car installment + maintenance ~1200 > Downgrade or scrap the car at $20k lost, change to public transport will probably cost me $200/mth
Parent ~500 > Pay cut....they will understand, target $200
Utility ~200 > Jan price reduction and reduce aircon consumption should ease the bill, target $150
Town council and property taxes ~100 > Cannot siam
Personal Taxes ~300 > Damn, never heard of this but did anybody ever nego with IRAS?
Telecommunication + SCV ~200 > Cut SCV, downgrade broadband and hand phone, target $100
Food ~1000 > To me, eat out actually cheaper than self cook so this one really donno how to achieve but still target $750
Insurances ~800 > Hm....this one LLBP, worse case scenario redeem all policies at lost
Investments ~1000 > What investment?
Entertainment ~ 200 > Go home and watch free TV channel

Life? :sweat:
Luckily I am not your father! :sweatsm:

Bear minimum- PUB, Internet, Public transport. No eating out at restaurants.

Recession or not, I had always lived simple:

my PUB bill is about SGD 43-47/month. Hardly use AC, mainly use fan. Seldom watch TV, I have no radio, only PC use alot. Lights I only use in the room I am in, or else I switch it off. But, I live alone, and come home evening only................

Broadband Starhub with basic channels at home........SGD 89/month (think can save more if I start new contract)
HP plan is the most basic from Singtel, I SMS alot (SGD 45-48/month)
Food wise, I mainly eat outside for dinner mainly at hawker or food courts and simple food only, and breakfast at home (bread only), aprox SGD 5-6/day
No car, not necessary in Sin city unless you have small kids
Public transport: about SGD 80-90 (??)
I wash cloth once a week, and use the same shirts and pants the whole week (keep rotating), save environment, save water, save Singapore :D

cut down cost by:
sms people to call you for free incoming calls