What has SG become? Keep increasing FARES?

Well, be happy with it. At least your camera prices remains much more competitive comparing to many other countries.

A Norwegian friend of mine told me that a Nikon D200 actually costs more in Norway than here but the Canon 5D there is so much cheaper. Almost same price as the D200.

Andy Ho said:
Something to ponder about.

Why is everyone talking about increase in fuel oil? What happens in Malaysia and our neighbouring countries who are charging at somewhere near half-price to Singapore? Either something is wrong in Singapore or something is wrong with the fuel quality in our neighbouring countries.

Think about it.

they are oil producung countries... theit petrols are subsidised... ours are taxed. :o

Andy Ho said:
Well, be happy with it. At least your camera prices remains much more competitive comparing to many other countries.

A Norwegian friend of mine told me that a Nikon D200 actually costs more in Norway than here but the Canon 5D there is so much cheaper. Almost same price as the D200.

not if you are canon user in Sg. :angry: :angry: :angry:

melnjes said:
Yo Oracle, how are ya doing? :)

It's true that buying a car is the most expensive here, but there are other obstacles to driving a car elsewhere that it is not possible to drive regularly. Australia is probably not a good comparison because they are blessed with lots of land, low population density, etc.

(i) the cost of maintaining a car park lot at work in cities like NY, HK, Tokyo and London is exhorbitant. In the end, most people resort to public transport and only use the car on weekends.

(ii) even if the driver can afford (i), he may not get a car park lot e.g. your entire company is only allocated one car park lot. It is not uncommon to say that even the boss does not drive to work.

(iii) in addition, some cities levy congestion charges, similar to our ERP, and they are not cheap, although we are certainly heading in the same direction.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/London_Congestion_Charge

Yo bro! Bcos of these reason, then they definately should not rises the price of public transport rite? Well we cant control what the government want so let it be, simple as that. "Take less taxi lor!" :bsmilie:

Seriously, talking about cab services, they're still not up to standard.

I take at least 2 trips a day on average, and on the average, the cabbies lack a lot of service.
And they talk about increase the $ if the service is good. Since when (on the average) they're good?

Andy Ho said:
Something to ponder about.

Why is everyone talking about increase in fuel oil? What happens in Malaysia and our neighbouring countries who are charging at somewhere near half-price to Singapore? Either something is wrong in Singapore or something is wrong with the fuel quality in our neighbouring countries.

Think about it.

These countries has oil under their feet so they r able to subsizde alot more lor....spore onli has soil... :bsmilie: ......but even our neighbouring countries are starting to increase their prices liao......

AReality said:
Seriously, talking about cab services, they're still not up to standard.

I take at least 2 trips a day on average, and on the average, the cabbies lack a lot of service.
And they talk about increase the $ if the service is good. Since when (on the average) they're good?

aiya nt all cab drivers r tat bad lar...I dun always take cab but I have seen some reali friendly drivers....

but imagine u being a cab driver, drive whole day in tat cramp space in the car, having to tolerate the inconsiderate driving by other drivers on the road, do one thing wrong and kana complain by the public.....yet in the end their earnings is nt much....like tat how to provide good service? maybe u can consider try driving a cab to haf a feel of their working condition....their tendency to wait for taxi bookings may seem wrong to most ppl, but they just wan to earn more $ mah....won't you if u r in their shoes?

The increase in peak hour charge may be gd as it may encourage drivers to pick up passengers instead of hiding and waiting for bookings.....but on the other hand, it may continue as what is happening nw, drivers wait for bookings and earn more in the process....

As for drivers earning not much and so cannot provide good service? Umm... I really find this thought distressing. If this is the basis of your argument, whatever they earn should be between them and operator so why is the customers getting the brunt? They should either complain to their operator or change career. Note: I'm refering to the sentence above and not towards any driver or about the fare increase.

scramblur11 said:
These countries has oil under their feet so they r able to subsizde alot more lor....spore onli has soil... :bsmilie: ......but even our neighbouring countries are starting to increase their prices liao......

aiya nt all cab drivers r tat bad lar...I dun always take cab but I have seen some reali friendly drivers....

but imagine u being a cab driver, drive whole day in tat cramp space in the car, having to tolerate the inconsiderate driving by other drivers on the road, do one thing wrong and kana complain by the public.....yet in the end their earnings is nt much....like tat how to provide good service? maybe u can consider try driving a cab to haf a feel of their working condition....their tendency to wait for taxi bookings may seem wrong to most ppl, but they just wan to earn more $ mah....won't you if u r in their shoes?

The increase in peak hour charge may be gd as it may encourage drivers to pick up passengers instead of hiding and waiting for bookings.....but on the other hand, it may continue as what is happening nw, drivers wait for bookings and earn more in the process....

dawgbyte77 said:
As for drivers earning not much and so cannot provide good service? Umm... I really find this thought distressing. If this is the basis of your argument, whatever they earn should be between them and operator so why is the customers getting the brunt? They should either complain to their operator or change career. Note: I'm refering to the sentence above and not towards any driver or about the fare increase.

it is already nt easy working in service line, watmore they do nt realli earn anot....they can earn a decent living out of cab driving but I reali doubt they can get rich (buy L lens everytime) jus by driving.... actually do u tink most cab drivers wanted to drive cab because they love this job? I think in service line, unless u realli love serving ppl or love ur job or got a good pay, it would be very difficult to continue a high level of service in the long term....

Rental decrease, coy suffer.....rental increase, cab drivers suffer........so any more ideas if u r in their shoes? they r nt a charity organisation leh......if u find taxi too expensive, den take public transport lor....of coz there r ppl who haf no choice but to take cab...

My point is that as I can agree that we are just human to be affected by these issues but to justify hiding and waiting for booking fee because they are not earning enough and other excuses is just so wrong. In fact, this should not even be part of the quality service debate. This is beyond being nice or rude.

I did mention before, this is not about being cheap or expensive but about quality of service. As you have said, there are other people who have no choice but to take the cab and I'm just pointing my view on their behalf. And I can't find the logic on equating charity against hiding and waiting for booking.

rental and cab fare increase, commuter suffer... since I'm a commuter, guess what my idea is now? But that is beside the point and this is not about the fare hike as I mention over and over again but the justification of bad (or missing) service. Lastly, as far as I know, taxi is still public transport.

scramblur11 said:
it is already nt easy working in service line, watmore they do nt realli earn anot....they can earn a decent living out of cab driving but I reali doubt they can get rich (buy L lens everytime) jus by driving.... actually do u tink most cab drivers wanted to drive cab because they love this job? I think in service line, unless u realli love serving ppl or love ur job or got a good pay, it would be very difficult to continue a high level of service in the long term....

Rental decrease, coy suffer.....rental increase, cab drivers suffer........so any more ideas if u r in their shoes? they r nt a charity organisation leh......if u find taxi too expensive, den take public transport lor....of coz there r ppl who haf no choice but to take cab...

dawgbyte77 said:
My point is that as I can agree that we are just human to be affected by these issues but to justify hiding and waiting for booking fee because they are not earning enough and other excuses is just so wrong. In fact, this should not even be part of the quality service debate. This is beyond being nice or rude.

I did mention before, this is not about being cheap or expensive but about quality of service. As you have said, there are other people who have no choice but to take the cab and I'm just pointing my view on their behalf. And I can't find the logic on equating charity against hiding and waiting for booking.

rental and cab fare increase, commuter suffer... since I'm a commuter, guess what my idea is now? But that is beside the point and this is not about the fare hike as I mention over and over again but the justification of bad (or missing) service. Lastly, as far as I know, taxi is still public transport.

actually I nt trying to say that cab drivers tendency to hide and wait for booking is correct or wrong....To me as a communter, I would definitely nt like it also....but to them, as cab drivers, they may be jus trying to earn more....it may nt be ethical, but I can't say they r totally wrong also....they r trying to earn a living also...my point is that I just trying to give a alternative view on this issue...

As for quality of service provided, it is up to the coy and drivers liao...whether they want to make a difference.....To me, I feel tat as long as I can get from point A to B safely and smoothly can liao.....but others may have higher expectations of service.......maybe once a communter's expectation of service is reached, they might demand more....

Errr...I think Taxi coys are nt regulated liao rite?....so it is up to the coys to decide whether to increase or nt liao.....coys can choose to increase and risk losing customers but might earn more?...or they can choose nt to increase and maybe gain more customers?.....

I just read the New Paper and it compared (yet again) Singapore and other countries but highlighted the peculiar fact that only in Singapore taxi becomes scarse at certain timing without reason. I still do not agree with peak hours and midnight charge. Most countries do not have this, either they give shift adjustment on top of the drivers salary or consider it as a shift rotation like security guards and let those who want to work at night take over. Not to mention that cars are considered an alternative in most of them, wherein its a luxury here. Anyway, it seems even most taxi drivers are not entirely happy with the increase either.

Just to point out that 9 out of 10 taxi drivers I meet are either okay to very pleasant to be with. What I consider bad service is when they refuse to take you in bec they want to go in a different direction afterwards, or when they scold you if you are not entirely sure how to reach your destination (unless you're an ang moh tourist), etc. Once I was looking for a friends house and since the street sign is small, we drove around the vicinity slowly and by the 2nd time I was asked to step out of the taxi and he returned my full fare. I understand that it can be annoying for the driver but I am paying for the assistance and that is what normal people do if they want to go somewhere they are not familiar with.

scramblur11 said:
actually I nt trying to say that cab drivers tendency to hide and wait for booking is correct or wrong....To me as a communter, I would definitely nt like it also....but to them, as cab drivers, they may be jus trying to earn more....it may nt be ethical, but I can't say they r totally wrong also....they r trying to earn a living also...my point is that I just trying to give a alternative view on this issue...

As for quality of service provided, it is up to the coy and drivers liao...whether they want to make a difference.....To me, I feel tat as long as I can get from point A to B safely and smoothly can liao.....but others may have higher expectations of service.......maybe once a communter's expectation of service is reached, they might demand more....

Errr...I think Taxi coys are nt regulated liao rite?....so it is up to the coys to decide whether to increase or nt liao.....coys can choose to increase and risk losing customers but might earn more?...or they can choose nt to increase and maybe gain more customers?.....

In italy, To get a cab and get on it... just for a short km It cost about $10-$20Sing.

If you think that SG is too ex for you people, why not go oversea and stay?

I think that singapore is pretty good. there is no Gang people coming to your shop and asking money from you.. In aust, in Chinatown, there is gangest asking for money everytime. No races prombles..

Before comparing the rates between here and other countries, maybe we should compare the wages that we are paid. I mean, so what if you are paid twice as much as people from other countries, but your house and car cost 10 times as much right?

micky said:
Before comparing the rates between here and other countries, maybe we should compare the wages that we are paid. I mean, so what if you are paid twice as much as people from other countries, but your house and car cost 10 times as much right?

Yalor, In Australia their wage are higher than us but their income tax is higher than us. Car in their country is cheaper but the parking fee is much higher than us.

So eveywhere same one lah.

JL1500k said:
Yalor, In Australia their wage are higher than us but their income tax is higher than us. Car in their country is cheaper but the parking fee is much higher than us.

So eveywhere same one lah.

Japan you have to buy a Car park place before buying a car.

have you heard of people going there Australia to stay and work, end up coming back to singapore in the end? I have friends that went there and coming back to singapore to stay again

Lord_Angelus said:
Japan you have to buy a Car park place before buying a car.

have you heard of people going there Australia to stay and work, end up coming back to singapore in the end? I have friends that went there and coming back to singapore to stay again

Agree, ever want to go australia for retirement make sure you have half of Million first. :sweat:

JL1500k said:
Agree, ever want to go australia for retirement make sure you have half of Million first. :sweat:

yeah..

if you go there for retirment it is ok just have to have alot of bucks and do not feel bored at there :P becuase their shopping place is not like orchard rd or 24hr coffee shop...

BUT if go there to work? na....

somehow, this is the best i read here. :thumbsup:

Belle&Sebastain said:
funny, everyone bitches about how things increase, how come no one think how to increase income to match his/her expectations.

If i want a X standard of living, want to ride in a cab, think how you can increase your income to afford it, rather than be so negative than think everything is getting expensive.

if your current employment/unemployment/selfempolyment cannot afford your lifestyle,maybe its high time you guys do something for yourself, find better paying jobs or opportunities. I really feel that most of us are just too comfortable, just being negative will not solve the issue, think positively, do something for yourself.

Better still lower your expectations and be happy without cabrides or cars. Ride a bicycle like someone say. Live simpler and be content.

life too short to get so fustrated, rethink

Lord_Angelus said:
In italy, To get a cab and get on it... just for a short km It cost about $10-$20Sing.

If you think that SG is too ex for you people, why not go oversea and stay?

I think that singapore is pretty good. there is no Gang people coming to your shop and asking money from you.. In aust, in Chinatown, there is gangest asking for money everytime. No races prombles..

Can ppl stop comparing other countries cab expensive? It has already been said, that's b'cos taking cab is a premium in those countries (Because everyone is driving their own car, why? You should know why).