What has SG become? Keep increasing FARES?

I might be pessimistic and I've just like some of you who are not happy about all these things happening in our lovely sweaty tropical country when Tanya Chua's song say our country is very warm. I especially remember that because everytime when I came back from aboard, the first thing I realised is that Singapore always makes me sweat, never warm. I think I only feel warm in the 70s and ever since Singapore decided to be a "fine" country it never turn back.

Like I told my parents, people of your time cannot complain, because at that time, you don't have anything, the Merdeka guy in white gave you all these. You feel blessed. Later generations have enjoyed the leadership of this white man which I think he had since decide to be a CEO since SG had more or less became too profit driven and my angmoh business peers had joke around with the term Singapore INC with the Temask Holdings controlling the economy.

I have brave friends. So brave after they came back from studying abroad, they told us a lot of the "uncovered truth" in Singapore Inc. And yes, they came back either as scholarship takers or have no means to work in private sector and they serve as civil servants.

One even told me not to read straits times anymore, because the speculated truth (you know what I meant by that) is in fact, truth. Writers and journalists are in their 20s writing on forums, politics, economic speculation and editorial stuffs, what depth can you they go?

There are a few things about Singapore that maybe some might get to be reminded or just for knowledge sake:

- Our Prime minster has the highest pay as a political leader in the world. I heard at that time when this news was out, Deng Xiao Ping gets about SGD200/ month, Mahathir about SGD$2-3k and our LKY (PM at that time, tops the world even Clinton also poorer than him).

- SBS is the first and only public transport company in the world that makes profit. No public transport companies ever earn a profit, imagine how good our public transport company are. You don't have to verify this, the word "public" will tell you the reason why the world's public transport never earns any profit. Nevertheless, Singapore's public transport had a different meaning from that.

- Singapore is the first country in the world to establish the law to state children must take care of their parents financially. Even HongKong, which people often want to compare to, as a 100% Chinese nation, do not have such laws at all.

- Singapore has the most expensive private transport for ownership.

- Singapore has the greatest governmental control over a nation's economy in the world as a "laizze faire" nation. i.e free market.

- Singapore is the only country in the world to try to save money on underground train service and decide to build up into the sky because of incompetence underground tunneling skills and budget concern. Blaming on geographical and giving the glorious reason to save and transfer to communters. Yet they still earn big bucks and when not profitable, shut down station by saying they cannot earn profit for a "public" reason.

I think you don't need me to give you harvard referencing source titles at the end of this thread as you can more or less guess why are all those statement true already.

I also heard alot of mentioning about inflation? How many years of economics lessons tells you that inflation is caused by government price increase? Of course with the increase in prices across the board, next year you will see a bigger increase in the economic growth. For those who took economic lessons, remember the C+G+I+(Export - Import) formula?

C = consumption, i.e how much the nation spends, the more we spend, the higher it goes.

G = government spending, i.e our military defence spending, civil servant salaries, public services like subsidizing public transport (sounds alien?), subsidizing healthcare (sounds alien too), subsidizing housing (sounds very alien right?), subsidizing public utilities (got meh?) etc.

I = investment, angmoh bring money from aboard and invest here...hmm...long time never bring red hair to drink beer already.

Export, Singapore does entreport trade so we still re-export quite abit but definitely you almost seldom see "make in Singapore stuff" aboard.

And lastly, of course we have all the latest gadgets in the world, yap, we import them.

So now try to play around the formula and you will definite see that Singapore is progressing again next year. Hurray!!! Economic growth again which means the government will be telling us next year is even better under the leadership of Singapore Inc new chairman.

But think again, do you feel richer this year as compared to last year? We are merely forced to spend more because our government know that restaurant can stop going, plasma TV can stop updating but public services like transport, water and electricity how to stop?

Our govenment has the best businessman in the world, Bill Gates, learn from us, talk about enforcing a monopoly....

shinken said:
That's one-way trip. Per trip, $3.57 increase. 2-way, $7.14 increase. 20 working days $142.80 increase. (melnjes: how many average SGreans can get a $142.80 pay increase each time there's a hike?) Not 10 cents. YMMV. And my math suck. Any corrections to my calculation is always welcomed.

Hehehe.... and I suppose your prog package can only help you for a few months.... ur... unless you buy a new lens with it liao....;)

after so many fare increase for the past few years for both public transport and taxi, i dont see the improvement in service.

still, every morning, i have to sqeeze into a jampack bus and mrt.

still, i have to wait atleast 1/2 hr before i get get a taxi in the morning (if i am late for work).

still, i cant get a taxi near 2330hr?

still, taxi uncle dont come down to help the handicap to board / alight.

still, taxi uncle dont come down to help load / unload heavy stuff into the car boot.

they had announced, the taxi rental rate will be increased following this fare hike. so dont blame the taxi uncle, i think they knew what is coming, thats why they dont support the fare hike too.

Zplus said:
Hehehe.... and I suppose your prog package can only help you for a few months.... ur... unless you buy a new lens with it liao....;)

No lah, was just playing a fool, and succeeding it. Your advice is till the best - cycle lor. Walk lor. Late, boss scold, say MRT hike, Bus hike, taxi hike. Eventually, we will have a environmentally friendly and economically frugal nation. ;)

Maltese said:
So now try to play around the formula and you will definite see that Singapore is progressing again next year. Hurray!!! Economic growth again which means the government will be telling us next year is even better under the leadership of Singapore Inc new chairman.

But think again, do you feel richer this year as compared to last year? ...
Our govenment has the best businessman in the world, Bill Gates, learn from us, talk about enforcing a monopoly....

Good read. :thumbsup:

Maltese said:
I might be pessimistic and I've just like some of you who are not happy about all these things happening in our lovely sweaty tropical country when Tanya Chua's song say our country is very warm. I especially remember that because everytime when I came back from aboard, the first thing I realised is that Singapore always makes me sweat, never warm. I think I only feel warm in the 70s and ever since Singapore decided to be a "fine" country it never turn back.

Like I told my parents, people of your time cannot complain, because at that time, you don't have anything, the Merdeka guy in white gave you all these. You feel blessed. Later generations have enjoyed the leadership of this white man which I think he had since decide to be a CEO since SG had more or less became too profit driven and my angmoh business peers had joke around with the term Singapore INC with the Temask Holdings controlling the economy.

I have brave friends. So brave after they came back from studying abroad, they told us a lot of the "uncovered truth" in Singapore Inc. And yes, they came back either as scholarship takers or have no means to work in private sector and they serve as civil servants.

One even told me not to read straits times anymore, because the speculated truth (you know what I meant by that) is in fact, truth. Writers and journalists are in their 20s writing on forums, politics, economic speculation and editorial stuffs, what depth can you they go?

But think again, do you feel richer this year as compared to last year? We are merely forced to spend more because our government know that restaurant can stop going, plasma TV can stop updating but public services like transport, water and electricity how to stop?

:thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

vince123123 said:
Don't think there's much of a competition here.
indian cheif raised price, the rest sure follow.

fierysnake said:
Hey...... I really hate to say this...
Why always increase transport fares one?
Taxis fares is getting way out of control liao..
Anyone any comments? :angry: :angry: :angry:

If the cost of living keeps increasing, then we have to find ways to increase our income :)
If all else fails, maybe can just pack bags & go live in a third world country & see the same things happening all over again. We live in a world where change is the only constant. Have we ever hear for example "from now on all bus fare will revert to 15 cents"
that will never happen...

Absolutely unimaginative, and quite a disgrace actually. All the talk on taxi drivers needing to feed their families ya?

denniskee said:
after so many fare increase for the past few years for both public transport and taxi, i dont see the improvement in service.

still, every morning, i have to sqeeze into a jampack bus and mrt.

still, i have to wait atleast 1/2 hr before i get get a taxi in the morning (if i am late for work).

still, i cant get a taxi near 2330hr?

still, taxi uncle dont come down to help the handicap to board / alight.

still, taxi uncle dont come down to help load / unload heavy stuff into the car boot.

they had announced, the taxi rental rate will be increased following this fare hike. so dont blame the taxi uncle, i think they knew what is coming, thats why they dont support the fare hike too.

Increase in fares does not neccessarily mean improvement in service rendered..

still, every morning, i have to sqeeze into a jampack bus and mrt. (Can try waking up & leaving house early in the morning to beat the crowd)

still, i have to wait atleast 1/2 hr before i get get a taxi in the morning (call for a taxi instead of waiting for durian to drop, if can't get...then just got to get ready to be butter loh).

still, i cant get a taxi near 2330hr? (those poor taxi guys are probably just trying really hard to make abit more...cannot really blame themfor that.)

still, taxi uncle dont come down to help the handicap to board / alight. (if you come accross this, should just go up & help, then take down the taxi details & lodge a complain)

still, taxi uncle dont come down to help load / unload heavy stuff into the car boot. (hahaha this one i dunno what to say.... maybe he got back problem??)

Ha, try living in Malaysia. I'm from there so I know what I'm talking about, especially in KL.

You want a cab you must be prepared to bargain, don't simply get in bcoz there's a very high chance you'll be kicked out bcoz the driver said the route is too jam and don't feel like going. Imagine after getting in with all your family members, one by one you have to come down again ;( Or you pay like 3X more than the expected metered fare la. Not happy? Go complaint la, see anyone take action or not. You don't even have anyone to monitor the regulations. In a nutshell, taking taxi there is a vomit blood situation :thumbsd:

When I first came here, wah taking taxi and any other public transport here is a breeze :thumbsup: No more fighting, bargaining and most of all no more vomit blood, ahem...ahem... even the call cab operators address me as "Mr. Lee you need a cab now..." wah damn syok la. Over there they make you wait for 15mins then rudely tell you NO TAXI then hang up. Hey what about my phone bill???

So I guess we as humans will never be pleased or appreciate with what we have, we just need to complaint about our shoes while there are many out there who has no feet!

singaporeans all happily take da progress package! now iz payback time lah!! :sticktong

Talking about supply and demand... And this goes in cicles...

Many many of you notice between 0645 to 0730, there are many taxi parked in carpark, driving their children to school or driving dunno who around, who the sign not set to hired.

So..

Commuters complain that they can't get a cab. Follow by taxi company increase number of taxi or increase fare to "excourage" taxi driver to pick up passengers.

Then later Taxi driver complain too much cab on the road driving around empty, can't find one pessenger after peak hours. And commuter still complain no cab during this period of time and also increase in fare.

Same go for the period just before midnight change kick in.

So who is in fault?? :dunno:

JLee said:
Ha, try living in Malaysia. I'm from there so I know what I'm talking about, especially in KL.

You want a cab you must be prepared to bargain, don't simply get in bcoz there's a very high chance you'll be kicked out bcoz the driver said the route is too jam and don't feel like going. Imagine after getting in with all your family members, one by one you have to come down again ;( Or you pay like 3X more than the expected metered fare la. Not happy? Go complaint la, see anyone take action or not. You don't even have anyone to monitor the regulations. In a nutshell, taking taxi there is a vomit blood situation :thumbsd:

When I first came here, wah taking taxi and any other public transport here is a breeze :thumbsup: No more fighting, bargaining and most of all no more vomit blood, ahem...ahem... even the call cab operators address me as "Mr. Lee you need a cab now..." wah damn syok la. Over there they make you wait for 15mins then rudely tell you NO TAXI then hang up. Hey what about my phone bill???

So I guess we as humans will never be pleased or appreciate with what we have, we just need to complaint about our shoes while there are many out there who has no feet!

Well, no offence, but this is the difference between developed and developing country.....
where system is well in place.
With those politicians fighting amount themselves (especially the recent PM vs. Ex PM saga), do you think they can manage their nation well?
God know....

Actually why waste your time grousing and complaining?? When you are financially stable, you have respect and when you have respect, you have a say and influence. And when you have influence, you are likely to invoke a good impression and hence get your way with alot of things. And many people will give you much leeway.

But those who can't make it in life and are still in lower income, grousing about this and that.... well all I can say is should spend that time and energy on how to make it in life.

Singapore is a great country, despite all the grouses, we are technologically advance, clean and safe. No need to look far to compare, just look across the bridge... Successful tycoons didnt spend their time grousing and whining, they thought of ways to make it in life. Ways to beat or go around the system.

Taxi fares increase? Then think of ways to save more. Earn more.... and seriously our taxi fares are dirt cheap compared to developed countries like Japan, Australia. In Japan, people walk to save money. In Australia, people practise car pools. Cost of living expensive in Singapore?? In Hong Kong, it is normal for everyone to have at least 2 jobs and most hong kongers won't invite you to their homes nor offer to bunk you in cos its so small.

Actually everywhere the same not only in singapore. In Malaysia taxi fare also increase.
In life, we have to learn to accept it and move on or you want to live in a miserable life! :sweatsm:

Cheer!

JL1500k said:
Actually everywhere the same not only in singapore. In Malaysia taxi fare also increase.
In life, we have to learn to accept it and move on or you want to live in a miserable life! :sweatsm:

I agree but same thing, in every country that increased this and that, there will be bound to have people complaining. Admittedly, it will not change anything but since I'm in the office and not allowed to watch DVD or play maple... I'm now sharing my views.

denniskee said:

still, every morning, i have to sqeeze into a jampack bus and mrt..
See, the increase is still too little. u have to pay more for less jam-packed buses. otherwise still have to bare with it.

denniskee said:
still, i have to wait atleast 1/2 hr before i get get a taxi in the morning (if i am late for work)..
Again, the increase is not enough. if we need it within 5 minutes of waiting, we need another 200k to 300k taxis, each of the taxi driver needing about $2000-$3000 in monthly income.

denniskee said:
still, i cant get a taxi near 2330hr?.
Drivers only need to rest and eat right? They will definitely choose the time where they can eat and wait for premium-paying customers near to high call/ high customer traffic areas going short distance providing higher turn-around times. I would do the same what, won't you?

denniskee said:
still, taxi uncle dont come down to help the handicap to board / alight..
If they come down to help, it means they might be injured doing extra things not related directly to driving per se, insurance will definitely go up. how to charge customers for it? cannot what.

denniskee said:
still, taxi uncle dont come down to help load / unload heavy stuff into the car boot..
Heavy stuff you say? Same reasons as above. If they come down to help, it means more likely they will be injured doing all these heavy stuff not related directly to their driving per se, insurance will definitely go up. Besides, injury means no pay. How to help? By sitting there and watch they are actually helping us to save money.

denniskee said:
They all know its a scam to collect back the progress packages. They have refused to go along. But what to do? Now, they will be accused of benefitting from the increase and very soon the taxi rental will go up again thru no fault/plan of their own.